Customer Reviews for

The Blue Bistro

Average Rating 4
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Exciting, interesting read.

The Blue Bistro is a fine dining restaurant located on the beach of Nantucket. This is a complex and emotional story about the owners, Thatcher Smith and Fiona Kemp and a girl, Adrienne, running from a drug addicted ex boyfriend who stole her money. Thatcher, a conflict...
The Blue Bistro is a fine dining restaurant located on the beach of Nantucket. This is a complex and emotional story about the owners, Thatcher Smith and Fiona Kemp and a girl, Adrienne, running from a drug addicted ex boyfriend who stole her money. Thatcher, a conflicted character, loves Fiona deeply, as a friend, but his love runs so deep that this unique friendship has interfered with his past love interests. Fiona suffers, since childhood, from Cystic Fibrosis. She is on the list for a lung transplant.
Adrienne has been working all over the world in the hotel industry. Adrienne is hired by Thatcher to run the front of the restaurant.
Love grows between Adrienne and Thatcher. Every night when the Blue Bistro closes Thatcher and his partner chef Fiona share dinner in the kitchen where she hides from society, which leaves Adrienne confused until she finds out the truth about her "rival" and why the Blue Bistro will close after this summer. Exciting, interesting read!

posted by BLUEEYEBE on June 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great book, but last 20 pages - what happened???

I started reading this book only a few nights ago and was really enjoying it until I got to the very end. So as not to ruin it for others, I'll just say that what happened in the end was not believable and not necessary and quite frankly left me asking 'why??', and the...
I started reading this book only a few nights ago and was really enjoying it until I got to the very end. So as not to ruin it for others, I'll just say that what happened in the end was not believable and not necessary and quite frankly left me asking 'why??', and the last page itself - given who the characters were, I expected more - I expected some emotion, some gusto. There wasn't any! Very disappointing ending.

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting, interesting read.

    The Blue Bistro is a fine dining restaurant located on the beach of Nantucket. This is a complex and emotional story about the owners, Thatcher Smith and Fiona Kemp and a girl, Adrienne, running from a drug addicted ex boyfriend who stole her money. Thatcher, a conflicted character, loves Fiona deeply, as a friend, but his love runs so deep that this unique friendship has interfered with his past love interests. Fiona suffers, since childhood, from Cystic Fibrosis. She is on the list for a lung transplant.
    Adrienne has been working all over the world in the hotel industry. Adrienne is hired by Thatcher to run the front of the restaurant.
    Love grows between Adrienne and Thatcher. Every night when the Blue Bistro closes Thatcher and his partner chef Fiona share dinner in the kitchen where she hides from society, which leaves Adrienne confused until she finds out the truth about her "rival" and why the Blue Bistro will close after this summer. Exciting, interesting read!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    yes, perfect beach book

    bought this book right before 4th of july and read it while i was at the beach that week. couldn't put it down...it was the perfect beach book indeed. the end was a little abrupt...but overall was a great, easy read on vacation. and well written in terms of the language, actual sentences, etc. not overly gushy or dramatic. (with any beach book, the main character's names are always a good indication of how good or ridiculous a book will be...'adrienne' and 'thatcher' are real-enough names, not over-the-top...just like this book...real enough to be believable...not silly.) 'real' characters, not caricatures, and reminded me of my summers in the restaurant industry. great read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    interesting Nantucket contemporary drama

    For the last eight years, late twentyish Adrienne Dealey has worked a series of hotel jobs. Her last gig was in Aspen, but now she arrives in Nantucket. Owner of the upscale Blue Bistro Thatcher Smith hires Adrienne as the restaurant's assistant manager although she has no experience working at a restaurant so it is a work in progress.

    As she learns the business while serving as the hostess, Thatcher and Adrienne begin an affair. However, every night when the Blue Bistro closes Thatcher and his partner talented chef Fiona Kemp share dinner in the kitchen where she hides as her retreat from society; all this leaves Adrienne confused until she finds out the truth about her "rival" and why the Blue Bistro will close after this summer.

    This is an interesting Nantucket contemporary drama starring a likable cast. Although some minor subplots feel like padding and a late twist unnecessary, the story line is entertaining. Fans will relish the locale as Elin Hilderbrand owns the beach in summer while wondering along side of Adrienne what is truly going on between Thatcher whom she believes wants her and Adrienne.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Jt

    Hi

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Pretty good

    I really enjoyed this book and started to look at restaurant staffs with a different eye. Unpredictable things happen at the end but you won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    5 stars

    I got this book as a suggestion from my sister in law. Fabulous book where I was hooked instantly. I loved the fact that the setting was in a restaurant and the discriptions of the food they made "out of Love" was fantastic. Do not read this on an empty stomach! Ha! Great character development and intertwining of lives.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Great book!

    I have read a lot of Elin H's books and this one was different. It centers around one character which was a nice departure from her others. You really got to know the main character and she was a smart girl that had lost a lot in life and was trying to find her way. The restaurant life was interesting and the author described a typical day in a way that you felt you were living it. Great book that I would recommend to all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    highly recommend

    The interplay of food within the novel kept me coming back for more. It is Nantucket, for those who have never been.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Great book, but last 20 pages - what happened???

    I started reading this book only a few nights ago and was really enjoying it until I got to the very end. So as not to ruin it for others, I'll just say that what happened in the end was not believable and not necessary and quite frankly left me asking 'why??', and the last page itself - given who the characters were, I expected more - I expected some emotion, some gusto. There wasn't any! Very disappointing ending.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2006

    Absolute book lover!

    Absolutely loved this book! Couldn't put it down until I finished it! Great characters and loved the restaurant setting as well as the island setting. A definite must read!Thoroughly enjoyed and look forward to reading other books by Elin Hilderbrand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    food, love, life and heart

    i read the love season first and now i am immersing to more of Hilderbrand's work. Thatcher's gestures of marrying a dying friend is full of compassion. it may have a quite sad ending but the essence of the novel speaks so much about ordinary lives lived extraordinarily by these characters. ingenious work

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2005

    perfect beach read

    I loved this book - read it in two days! It is a heartfelt and wonderful story and I was so sad to see it end. The characters are so real that they feel like old friends. I highly recommend The Blue Bistro - makes you want to spend time in Nantucket and make a reservation for two!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    LOVE this book and author

    This is one of my all time favorite books! I constantly read in various genres. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    This book came highly recommended to me by my mother in law, and as usual she picked a great one. I loved this book, I did not want it to end! I cannot wait to read more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    An amazing story...ten stars!

    An amazing story...ten stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Plague

    La?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    Just an OKAY book! I read this book because someone gave it to

    Just an OKAY book! I read this book because someone gave it to me and said that I would really like it. Instead I found it really slow reading but I kept going because I figured something really exciting would happen. There was too much restaurant talking and all that goes on around that and didn't seem to be much build up with any of the characters. I don't think that I would recommend this book to anyone and I'm glad it was a book I didn't pay for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Great beach read

    I loved this book couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Continue to be impressed...

    With all books by Elin Hildebrand! Not only are her books able to take one to another place, but they are also thoughtful, meaningful and have some depth. Thank you, Elin, for the great escape!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Love her books.

    Easy read. Not quite a good as some of her others. But I enjoyed and I will continue to read her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11