Customer Reviews for

Blue Blood

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This book is a great account not only of what police officers do, but also of what motivates police officers, how a department is organized and how politics are inevitably linked to the department. Conlon is a gifted writer and he knows how to write in an informal, even witty, way while choosing his words so carefully that his writing sounds incredibly mature and thoughtful. Even if you are not particularly interested in the police, I would recommend this book for the quality of its writing, which is witty and thought-provoking at the same time. It's a long read, but it's well-written and worth your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    Good Book

    This is a good book for anyone over the age of 18. Some words may be Offensive to some readers. By useing raceial words or words that should only be read if over the age of 18.I like New York City and crime books I got it for only $6.98 in Wilks-Barre,PA. And i love it. I don't mimd the words they use in the book. Blue Blood is a very good book and i would recomend this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Retired Cop !!!!

    Mr. Conlon's work is an authentic account and is a wonderful read. As a retired police officer I enjoyed the book tremendously, and recommend it to anyone who enjoys any sort of police entertainment. His career is a riotous path of action, boredom, pitfalls, and victories. His stortytelling is full of sincerity and candour. I enjoyed it, and hope he writes again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    Excellent

    This is an incredible novel. It is filled with mounds of details on the NYPD and Conlon has had some thrilling experiences throughout his career. As far as Cop books go, this has almost everything you'd want from; patrolling, drug busts, police politics, even an insider's view of 9/11.
    I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone (there is some graphic content). I can't express enough how grateful I was that he compiled all this data and wrote this book.

    Few things to note; the book is long so don't expect a short sit down, there is some disturbing content (not much) and maybe it was the copy I received from B&N or the printing press but there were some inconsistencies with the print (the text being stretched, etc) Also there are quite a few references to family/the neighborhood/history/etc that in the beginning can be a bit much if you're like me and not from NY, but it lightens up as you go along and I think was essential to anyone that is close to the author that is reading the book.

    All and all, A++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    Incredible!

    I finished this book in less than a week, just could not find a way to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    Outstanding, loved it.

    As a professional Social Worker for the last 20 years, I found this book funny, easy to read and real. Love his writing style a true pleasure. I can't put it down. Those who have not enjoyed this book perhaps haven't had the experience of serving individuals that truly live on the margins of society. Our work is often frustrating and challenging, but more than not,it's a calling, and not for everyone. From his first day on the job, I was able to see myself 20 years ago, scared, excited, unsure of myself, but armed with the belief that I could make a difference. This book has heart,it's gutsy, real, poignant, funny..... a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Very Confusing

    I could not follow this book at all. The first few pages seem somewhat promising, then the author just jumps around from one subject to another at random and you get completely lost.I found it extremely difficult to keep from closing the book. It was frustrating to try and keep up with the author and what he was talking about.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    so so book

    I had a very hard time following this book. It seemed that Mr. Conlon flipped back and forth between to many subjects and time periods. I made it half-way and have not picked it back up. I was hoping the second half would be better, but I may never know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    Worth reading

    Writing style is enjoyable but not enough time under his police belt to be writing his memoirs. A book that will pass the time but you won't be staying up late with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    Incredible

    This book is certainly long, but in parts it is the most interesting thing you will ever read. His retelling of encounters with people and the language he uses make this my favorite non-fiction book of all time. I laughed out loud HARD at some of the stories, the kid in the handcuffs, the dog in the knapsack, etc. I wonder what he could come up with if he wrote a novel. The man is incredibly talented and I will read anything he writes based on this stunning book. I am surprised it has not gotten more publicity. I bought it casually when I had some time to kill in an airport book store. His publishing company needs to get the word out about how great this book is because no one I know has ever heard of it. So I will end with giving it the best compliment I can -- I read 4-5 books a month and don't even know why I bought the book. I even put it at the bottom of my stack. When I started reading it late one night I was completely blown away by it because it was such a surprise to expect nothing and receive the gift of this book. Read it and give it to anyone who enjoys police stories OR anyone who appreciates wonderful writing. Ten stars to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    Green Beer

    Really do not like 'Burglary/Badge Blood' feel like the title, picture and idea of authorship offends Families that deserve a high degree of respect and major Metropolitan area seeped in history and praised ethnicity. Personal feeling are not suppose to interfere with decision making ability.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2005

    Awesome

    I could not put this book down. It was very well written, and very easy to read and understand. There are not enough books like this that give a glimpse into the life of a NYPD officer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2005

    BEAT GETAWAY

    As a Deputy Sheriff, I find this book to be very 'informational' for civilians who know nothing about law enforcement. Walking/riding a beat is nothing like most civilians think. Blue Blood does not show only the chases, fights, shootouts of law enforcement, it shows the real, everyday mania the beat cops experience. Blue Blood is a great 'getaway' while on the beat and a very uplifting book. It shows all of us who are cops, that we are not the only ones who think like we do and it shows civilians our day to day lives on the job. I highly recommend this book for everyone and wish all who read it, enjoys it as much as I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    Excellent...

    This is a HUGE book, but worth the read. My only hope is that Edward Conlon finds time to write again. A fascinating, well-written book. Conlon definitely has raised the prestige of the NYPD without sacrificing the reality of the job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    Funny, Poignant Book! A Great Read...

    As an attorney in the law enforcement field, I LOVED reading this book and highly recommend it to others. The author has done a fantastic job of describing the thrills and highs, as well as the lows, of working in law enforcement. I found it to be factually accurate, extremely interesting, hilarious in some parts (I loved reading about the author's 'cat' incident!), sad in other parts, and overall, a very honest, accurate depiction of the challenges, danger, ethical and moral dilemmas, and stress that those who work in law enforcement face every day. This book reads like a novel I had difficulty putting it down, and finished it in three days. To the author, thanks for sharing your experiences with such honesty, humor, and dignity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    A Captivating story

    I do not regret that I bought this book. It is an interesting book. I like the author's style of writing and the police stories which I found exciting. I generally like cop stories and wasn't disappointed by this. If you ever want to know about the inner workings of New York City and the NYPD, then this is a recommended read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2005

    one of NY's best.

    I first picked up this book cause I used to live in NY for 16yrs. I had never heard of this detective personally, but I have known a few so far. When I was reading this book I found myself shocked and amazed at the things Conlon has gone through and seen in the NY. To say the least would be to say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Conlon is an awesome novelist. He has done so much for NY and the police and I personally am grateful for all that he has done. I look forward to anymore books Conlon puts out in the future. amazing book, amazing life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2005

    A book too long and hurt by fate

    I found this book to be both tired and tiring. A mammoth of minutae, much of which has little to do with big-city policing, it relentlessly presses on to a conclusion that only confirms that you have seen one tiny, marginally interesting sliver of being a cop. It is extremely revealing that Conlon openly admits he fudged the timeline towards the end, because it exposes the fact that he does not have a true, compelling narrative for his story, but instead had to find one somehow. Only if he alters it to culminate in his promotion does he have a 'story,' per se, instead of a catalog of events he experienced at the fringes of the NYPD: housing cop, street-level drug enforcer and precinct detective. In this way, perhaps fate was not too kind to Conlon the writer. His short, tightly-focused articles in The New Yorker gained and kept interest becauase the types of police incidents Conlon experienced are best related in a constrained, article format. That cruel fate did not give Conlon an epic story to tell shows in this book: we do not get the story of a great man who has done your 'average' great things, nor do we get the story of a common man who had extroadinary circumstances thrust upon him. From what I can gather, Conlon has acutally spent less time inside of a marked police car than most NYC cops, and less time doing the nitty-gritty of police work. Too bad none of these other cops feels like writing about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    FROM ONE COP TO ANOTHER

    BLUE BLOOD IS AN EXCELLENT BOOK. I AM ALSO A POLICE OFFICER IN NYC AND HAVE WORKED THE SAME STREETS CONLON HAS WORKED. BLUE BLOOD IS A REAL EYE OPENER WITH GREAT DETAILS. THE WORDS THE AUTHOR CHOSE TO DESCRIBE THE NEIGHBORHOOD AND THE FEELINGS HE FELT AS A COP IN THOSE STREETS WERE VERY FAMILIAR. I HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS BOOK TO ANYONE WHO IS CURIOUS TO KNOW WHAT THE JOB IS REALLY LIKE. CONGRATULATIONS TO DETECTIVE CONLON GREAT WORK LOTS OF SUCESS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2