Customer Reviews for

Blue Bloods (Blue Bloods Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1623 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(879)

4 Star

(410)

3 Star

(209)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(63)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the read!!!

This is a great vampire tale. They are called blue bloods and come into their heritage around the age of 15. These blue bloods are descendants, or in some cases, the same people who came on the Plymouth. The blue bloods are very wealthy and all go to the same school. Se...
This is a great vampire tale. They are called blue bloods and come into their heritage around the age of 15. These blue bloods are descendants, or in some cases, the same people who came on the Plymouth. The blue bloods are very wealthy and all go to the same school. Several know what they are before receiving their invitation to the Committee but like Schuyler, others have no clue. Life is great, you find out your immortal, nothing can kill you, you are forever perfect, sun doesn't hurt you, but something is hunting and killing blue bloods.
I enjoyed this book, it was good. Not the best vamp book I've ever read, but a page turner. I enjoy Schuyler and Oliver's relationship and Mimi is the perfect rich brat.
I think the reader is lead to believe there is a relationship brewing between Schuyler and Oliver but in the matter of a paragraph it's nothing. Jack is way too hot and cold to Schuyler and doesn't make sense in his intentions. It also seemed in the space of one chapter being 2 pages long, Schuyler has learned the ancient language and the reader is given the impression that she has discovered very strong hidden powers. The book was moving along very nicely and then it just seemed like it was chopped down and rushed to the end.
Also note, you will not find out who the Silver Blood is, this book does leave you hanging with a need to read the next in the series.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Very Inappropriate

I found this book while just browsing, it sounded like it was good. The beginning was okay (not a real page turner), but I thought it would get better. I found that most parts I had to make myself read, and others were either sexual related or were and just all around u...
I found this book while just browsing, it sounded like it was good. The beginning was okay (not a real page turner), but I thought it would get better. I found that most parts I had to make myself read, and others were either sexual related or were and just all around uncomfortable to read. And the thing about the brother and sister being in love or something made me sick. I must say I was very disappointed. I don't recommend it.

posted by 2732704 on January 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Inappropriate

    I found this book while just browsing, it sounded like it was good. The beginning was okay (not a real page turner), but I thought it would get better. I found that most parts I had to make myself read, and others were either sexual related or were and just all around uncomfortable to read. And the thing about the brother and sister being in love or something made me sick. I must say I was very disappointed. I don't recommend it.

    11 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    worst written book ive ever read!!!

    this book is written HORRIBLY.i dont know much about the characters. it was told from no one's point of view just jumped around whenever it felt like it.one minute the hot guy isnt talking to the nerd and then he is and then isnt and then theyre in love. there is no substance to this story.it all goes too fast and is very broad. i cant read a book that doesnt paint a picture. it sounds like something i would have written in middle school.its almost like the author wrote and outline and then decided to just publish it without doing anything to it. if it was more polished an detailed it could have been a great book, but this is the most disorganized and childishly written book i have ever read.i actually just stopped reading it toward the end because the typos and grammatical errors were ridiculous.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Disappointing

    I was so tempted to buy this, as I love vampire books, and the cover was so beautiful, but I'm very realized I checked it out from the library instead. This book was incredibly boring, I was so disappointed. At first the story went nowhere the plot revolved around a group of completely unlikable characters, and the vampire aspect didnt come in until much later in the book. Seriously, I had no attachments to any of the characters, they were all annoying, bitchy, and snobby. I ended up skimming through the second half of the book because it was so boring. I really, really wanted to like this, especially since there are sequels coming out, but really, it was not worth the time. If you absolutely must read it, please save your money and check it out from the library.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    It's very sad to pick up a book by a multi-published author like

    It's very sad to pick up a book by a multi-published author like this and discover their writing is atrocious. The plotline could have been interesting, but was hard to see through the bad writing and poor character development. She tried to use omniscient view point and ended up confusing the reader. The first few chapters sound like they were written with a thesaurus to make her sound intelligent; this was not the result. The use of adverbs was overwhelming and distracting from the story. I wanted to relate to Schuyler, but found her to be caricature of what the author assumed a true Goth-girl would be. FYI, no self-respecting Goth would love Fifty-Cent. The most annoying thing, however, was the author's name dropping of expensive clothing. We get that they're rich within the first two pages. Please, assume we're smart enough to understand fabric and color descriptions. I'm not going to go look up all of these fad-brands every time. Just because you're some "fashion expert" doesn't mean we care about these designers. We pick up a book to read about the story that is described to us, not to be force-fed what which upper East-Sider was wearing on the red carpet of her private academy. It's not Gossip Girl, after all. Maybe this author should consider paying a ghost writer to do the work for her next time. I will certainly never pick up another thing with her name on the cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Sorry to have wasted my time

    I have read my fair share of fantasy series and was thoroughly disappointed with this one. This book lacks a sort of deeper meaning that connects with the reader. I felt like I was waiting for that hook that draws you in the entire time. The characters were especially shallow as well; there was a serious lack of decsription in that category and no strong characteristic about any of them that set them apart. This book is just a very dismal read and I don't think anyone would have a particular interest or connection with it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    HORRIBLE!!!!!!

    I thought this was going to be a really good book cause i LOVE vampire books but this book was HORRIBLE!!! I stopped reading it at the second chapter cause it was sooo confusing first she was going two this club or something and then POOF a different person talking and she does stuff then POOF changes to some guy i mean i barely knew what was going on it was written very poorly id give it zero stars if i could

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Didn't read but I want to say something

    Blood is blue. When we see it it is red because it has reacted to oxygen. If bblood is blue, then veins are blue.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Fang

    Goddam mofo gun!! Its jammed....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Nessa to nxon

    Hey do u know where everybody is? I left for like two weeks and idk where n e body is now....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    I think some may like it i just no that it was the worst book ive ever read but that is just the way i think but the auther is a very talented writer and goes into great detail but no thanks for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Couldn't get pass the first chapter

    I kept trying to get into this book, but found the first chapter soooo boring I quit reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    The worst book

    If you enjoy excessive descriptiins of clothing, characters who are shallow, unrealistic and one dimensional then this book is for you. Otherwise dont waste your time or your money. Also this author seems to base every character off a total cliche. Definitely the worst book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    terrible book just as dumb as the twilight saga

    terrible from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Waste of Life

    I kept waiting for the joke....but it never happened. I thought all of the pages and pages of description about modeling and fashion and clothes were a part of a transformation of the character from vanity to reality. The transformation never happened. Oh god, I can't believe I wasted my money on these books. Please do NOT read these. I am a huge reader, and I love series books. I have never not finished a series, I stop mid-book on book number 3. I'd had enough. The characters are all insanely rich, even the author's "poor" main character has two servants. Either she was trying to make the main character more "reachable" for the audience (didn't happen), or she has absolutely no clue how the rest of the world actually works.

    This book is about fashion, modeling and clothes. if you're into that, go for it. If you can't take it, the plot is NOT good enough to wade through it. go read something else. ugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    Bad book

    when i bought this book i thought it was going 2 b awsome but it turns out it was horrible!! i just stopped reading it in the second chapter. i couldnt read any more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unsatisfactory,Second-rate!!

    I picked the book, thinking it was going to be exceptional, in its way it was, but i didn't like the fact that the Author took too much time describing me the Buildings and too many details about the places and the History of Manhattan, but that wasn't the problem at all, i hate it that the story was supposed to be about the life Schuyler's, when it actually focus on someone else's like this "Mimi" character, the story jumped from different characters as well, which sore disturbed me, in the beginning i was confuse, the story was a bit too scramble for my taste, i know is very difficult to write a story, but next time i hope this author focus on the main characters more, instead of mixing things around. So the big question remains, will i buy or read the next book, i think i will pass!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    Gross

    This book in my opinion was just plain weird. It was hard to know what was up with the main character. Okay is she into Jack or Oliver. and Okay I knew something was up with the twins, but that's just gross. Dude there brother and sister, no brother and sister should have that kind of relationship, vampire or not! It was sick!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Horrible

    I am a person who finishes book, but I could not choke this one down. It was a different idea for vampires, but the parts with the brother and sister still being in love upset my stomach. The main charater was weak and I did not care for her much. Most of all I disliked the author's writing style. I hated how she could not describe the clothing with out mentioning that they were expensive brand names.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Worth The Money

    I was pretty excited once I purchased this book but was severely disappointed. I enjoy supernatural books and I felt that this book was simply cashing in on a fad. I would urge you not to waste your time or your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    boring, predictable, etc.

    this same story has been done over and over again; it held no mystery to me, no novelety. every situation was so predictable-down to the funky outcast girl in the old boarding school. the whole gig, so to speak. i couldnt even finish the book as it bored me so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4