Customer Reviews for

Blue Diablo (Corine Solomon Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great urban fantasy!

Fans of Kim Harrison, Laurel K. Hamilton, and Charlaine Harris should enjoy discovering this author. Lots of action, a little romantic sizzle, and plenty of magic -- all set against a realistic backdrop with well-developed characters. The southern Texas and Mexico setti...
Fans of Kim Harrison, Laurel K. Hamilton, and Charlaine Harris should enjoy discovering this author. Lots of action, a little romantic sizzle, and plenty of magic -- all set against a realistic backdrop with well-developed characters. The southern Texas and Mexico setting is a great and colorful change of pace.

posted by 5933942 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I might be the odd women out here but I didn't particularly fancy this book

I'm not really sure what to say about this book. I read three-quarters of it and then just threw in the towel. The main character and the slow pace of the story really tried my patience. I felt like the author was dragging out the storyline and had way too many page ...
I'm not really sure what to say about this book. I read three-quarters of it and then just threw in the towel. The main character and the slow pace of the story really tried my patience. I felt like the author was dragging out the storyline and had way too many page fillers. Pages upon pages of explanations for Corine's feelings, her surroundings, the carpet, the tile, the curtains, what she's wearing, what her ex is wearing, what she's eating. The main character Corine has a cool gift of the "touch". Instead of actually "touching" things, she spent most of her time reminiscing about her ex-husband. Who, I might add, has come to her for help because his mother, the mother-in-law she loves so much, has been kidnapped. While they go on their road trip back to the scene of the crime, she's not only insensitive to his pain; she's making dates with another man. It took me three days to get through three-quarters of this book; it was that bad for me. Dark Urban Fantasy readers beware; to me this book seemed more like a paranormal romance disguised as UF. The book never seem to get anywhere and the author was way to repetitive. Therefore, I cannot recommend this book to urban fantasy readers but paranormal romance readers may find it intriguing.

posted by kitkat3ny on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Blue Diablo

    Met this new to me author at RT 2009 and wanted her book so bad but I had already blew my budget. What I should have done was scrape pennies to buy it. The story is strong, fast paced, and action packed. The hero is sweet, sexy, and mysterious. The heroine is strong, smart, and sassy. It has everything I want in in a UF. Throw in a wicked sense of humor from the author and I have a great new series to add to my auto buy list. Well done Ann. I can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Urban Fantasy read with loads of unseen twists and action.

    Corine lives above the pawnshop she owns in Mexico city. She doesn't stay places long, having to stay on the move and knowing she should be on the move again. But she likes living here and her ability with the nicknack's helps in this business. She finds it's peaceful here for her and she likes the shop. Then one day Chance, her ex-boyfriend she left to come to Mexico City, walks in her door. Chance has tracked her down using his Luck. Chance needs Corine's help, and asks her to help him find his mother, also close to Corine, who was taken and is hopefully still alive. Chance is hoping Corine's power of touch and sight mixed with his luck will work together to find his mother.

    I found the beginning a little slower for me, but in no time the book picked up and I really enjoyed this book. I think in the beginning I didn't understand what Corine was holding back from, but as the book unfolded I warmed up to Corine and stated to understand her more and more. I did love her calm and humor or quick comebacks. She did make me smile. And the brief torture moments along with comments to Chance on them not being a couple any more. Although, I loved Chance from the beginning. The two characters fight through many rough moments in the investigation and through the history they had together and make it through. I enjoyed the relationships between all the characters.

    The book has a mix of magic and dark magic with witches and warlords, zombies, and some warfare as well. There is lots of excitement in this book with the action and information. Once I got done I immediately thought this book would make a great action movie full with some sexual tension, love and attitude to go with it, with great fight scenes and complete with blown up cars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Entertaining

    I enjoyed this book, and look forward to more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Blue Diablo! Muy Caliente!

    Blue Diablo (Corine Solomon book 1) by Ann Aguirre

    Corine Solomon is a handler. If she touches something that's magically charged, she can see its past; like who held it last, where its been, or events surrounding the item. Sometimes she can even see the future. In the past she used these powers to look for missing persons, and to put the bad guys in jail. Now, she just wants the simple life she's set up for herself in Mexico, but people keep trying to find her and put those powers to use again. People like her ex-boyfriend, Chance, who is desperate to find his missing mother. Corine knows that she must help as soon as she handles his mothers lucky Buddha, and sees that she was taken. As they follow the clues they find themselves facing sorcerers, demons, witches, zombies, and ghost, and in more danger than they bargained for.

    Blue Diablo adds a muy caliente Southwestern flair to the Urban Fantasy genre, and leading lady Corine is down to Earth and as real as they get. She doesn't have super strength, and she doesn't tote around guns. The best she can do is throw a grenade. The only thing she possesses is the power her late mother left her with. I enjoyed the romance and the sexual tension between Corine and her ex, Chance. Corine is confused about her feelings toward Chance, and she's constantly questioning his intentions. Which is good considering their past: working together to rescue people and rake in big money. But when Corine almost lost her life, she decided enough was enough and left him in the middle of the night. Their chemistry is undeniable though, and they find themselves working against each other at times because they are afraid of their feelings.

    Corine's powers were pulled off brilliantly. Better than other books I have read with handlers in them, and her powers paired with Chance's luck make them unstoppable. The powers of a few of the other characters had me a bit confused, like a character being sent by God...was he really or was he just crazy or maybe just a supernatural with healing abilities? But it all works out in the end with a huge battle scene starring tons of zombies!

    Blue Diablo is smart and saucy, with a great cast of characters that are likeable, memorable, and most of all have each other's backs no matter what. Each time a new character came on the scene they were well fleshed out, and I could tell that a lot of thought went into each one.

    I look forward to reading book two in the Corine Solomon series when it's released. In the meantime you should head out and get this book when it comes out on April 7th!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great Aguirre book!

    One of the biggest complaints I have with urban fantasy as a whole is that it tends to lean very far into the paranormal and make realism second place. Not so with Ann Aguirre's latest offering, Blue Diablo, which, put simply, is To Cast a Deadly Spell meets Commando.

    Corine Solomon is a woman on the run. She's settled in Mexico City and managed to keep up a life as a shopkeeper for eighteen months when her ex-boyfriend, one of the many people she's hiding from, walks in her shop door. She still isn't over Chance, not what he put her through or her love for him. But none of it matters because Chance asks for Corine for the one thing he knows she'll give--her help finding his kidnapped mother.

    Corine isn't the only person whose past has caught up with them, but she is the only one who can help because Min, Chance's mother, has left a trail of clues that only Corine's gift of psychometry (psychic reading of events through objects) can decipher.

    Blue Diablo stands out from the genre, not just because it wholly encompasses "bad guys" outside of the serial killer and supernatural varieties, or because of its higher than typical body count. One of the biggest stand out features of this book is the cast of realistic, almost entirely minority characters and non-Celtic/European magic mythos.

    In comparison to Aguirre's other books (Grimspace and Wanderlust) Blue Diablo is a true blend of the genres that make urban fantasy; fantasy, mystery, romance and horror, whereas the former are science fiction with romantic elements. Blue Diablo's heroine and hero are no less emotionally tortured, in either their pasts or their feelings for each other.

    Aguirre likes the devastated hero, and the heroine whose power costs something. Readers who like mixed blessings in their magic and desperate, delicious heroes will find a lot to like in Aguirre's books. Nothing comes easy, if at all. Not defeating the bad guy, or winning the day or even getting the guy/girl. It makes Blue Diablo not an effortless read, but a tension-filled exciting tale nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1