Customer Reviews for

Blue Diary

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    some repetitions could be left out

    It was my first book of Ms Hoffman, the description of flowers and fields i must admit got a bit on my nerves and also too many situations left as if forgotten by the author. how about what happened to charlotte? is it that natural that a wife is left with 3 kids with no feelings at all, {barney's wife} and what about the blue diary what did it hold so special to name a book after it ?? Apple trees where much more mentioned than the blue diary :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    not usually disappointed

    I am an avid reader and LOVE to find new authors. After reading Hoffman's book Here on Earth, I thought I found a new favorite, BUT this book was terrible!!! It is very rare that I really dislike a book this much, but I found it to be very boring! How many tree/flower references can one author make?!?? YIKES!!! Not a fan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Love Alice Hoffman

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Well Worth Your Time!

    Alice Hoffman's prose is so gorgeous it reads like poetry. This book delivers a great story, too. When Ethan's past finally catches up with him, his wife is left to pick up the pieces of her life. I'm a huge Hoffman fan, and this book is one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    After

    paying $12.99 for the Nook Book version of this, I wish I could get my money back...there were so many grammar and punctuation errors, word omissions and other typos that it made it very difficult to read this novel. Too bad because it wasn't really a bad book, but with the price that the ebooks are, it wasn't worth the money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    Gets You Thinking

    A truly well written story that can't help but make you think "what if?" What would you do if you made a mistake (a terrible mistake) and tried to start over only to have the past catch up. What would you do if you married someone who turned out to be someone you didn't know. Alice Hoffman knows how to weave words in such a way that they envelope you within the pages of the book and keep you there long after the last page is read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    By far one of Alice Hoffman's best

    This is one Alice Hoffman book I recommend without a doubt. It was one of her absolute best However, it does steer slightly from her usual. It does have a scary, morbid side but it was GREAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2004

    okay

    I was disappointed. I thought the discriptions of the countryside and flowers repetetive. The characters were not that well balanced and I thought the emotional relationship between the son, mother, and father not well developed. It seemed like a sophisticated soap opera.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2004

    Somewhat Intriguing

    I read this book fairly quickly. It was a fast and easy read. Hoffman did a good job of keeping the relation of the title in suspense until a good way through the book. I will admit that at times, the descriptions could become long, and the change between character voices was not easily identified. However, for my first Hoffman read, I thought it was okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Great Book

    The book is something that i think about even after i finished reading it. A book that effects me like that doesn't come around everyday. It was great, I would have liked to known what was written in the diary more though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    To Forgive or not to Forgive that is the question

    This book leaves you wanting more, but doesn't leave too many questions unanswered. I think that the reader is left to come to their own conclusions, which is good. I don't want to be force-fed endings or to have a book come to such a conclusive ending that I don't have something to think about after I'm finished. What would be the point? I love the description of the scenery and the flowers. It allows me to visualize. This book creates controversy and makes you wonder what you would do in the character's shoes. There is no right or wrong answers, just emotions. I love the character development, even Jorie's best friend has a struggle and a purpose in the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2003

    Great Story

    I loved this book! The characters, the writing, the descriptions - what a great, captivating story. Most books I give away after reading, but this one is a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2002

    Where nothing and no one are as they seem

    There are two antagonists in this story. Ethan Ford, the man whose homicidal past forms the main plot of the story, has spent years trying to atone for the brutal rape and murder of a young girl by living a perfect life as a pillar of the community in a small New England town. But the more frightening antagonist was Kat, the disturbed 12-year-old neighbor who turns Ethan Ford in to the police and continues to try to "set the world right" through questionably rationalized actions, all part of her misguided attempt to spare another family from the pain she felt when her own father committed suicide. Where Ethan's violence was outward and physical, Kat's violence is internal, and even more twisted and hidden than Ethan's. I ended the story feeling more afraid of this girl than I was of the murderer; as violent as his past had been, he had not carried out his crimes under the spell of the perceived righteousness of his actions, making the 12-year-old zealot the most frightening character of all. This unexpected duality is Alice Hoffman's strongest achievement in Blue Diary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2002

    LEFT ME WANTING MORE

    ALTHOUGH THE AUTHOR WRITES AS IF SHE IS ACTUALLY TELLING YOU ABOUT HER CHARACTERS, I FINISHED THE BOOK WANTING MORE. I STILL DIDNT UNDERSTAND CERTAIN THINGS AS TO WHY JORIE LEFT ETHAN AS WELL AS I WANTED TO KNOW WHAT WAS WRITTEN IN THE BLUE DIARY. I WANTED TO KNOW MORE ABOUT WHAT HAPPENED TO THE CHARACTERS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    Gripping & Twisted...

    I have read Practical magic and so thought i would give this book a try and i have to say i loved it. The way at first the characters seem so perfect, so in love only to discover a darker side to the husband........ I found the book gripping and captivating and i quite liked the way that Hoffman describes the scenes with such detail throughout the book, i think you need to look to deeper to really find yourself in the heart of the book but once you get there you really can feel the emotion in the characters and the author. All in all highly recommended and if you are looking for a book that will 'pull you in' read this!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2002

    Just average

    I'm not a huge fan of this writer, but I really liked 'Here on Earth', so thought I would give this one a try-- and ugh, I kept reading, but I kept wondering why. The plot is interesting, and when she is writing from the girl Kat's perspective, it has some good moments, but otherwise, the characters are flimsy and superficially developed, the whole 'storybook' marriage (prior to the crisis that the book is about) feels immature and false, and just about every chapter begins with a run on sentence about flowers, birds, etc. Frankly, when a writer puts out so much work (about a novel a year?) I think quality gets lost and everything starts to feel a little formulaic. This isn't the worst thing you could read, but there are many better novels out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    Great Work on Alice Hoffman's Part

    I read Blue Diary in 2 days because I couldn't put it down. It was spellbinding and the more pages I tuned the more I liked it. The author makes great refrences to nature and that plays a big part in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2001

    heartbreaking

    I have read previous novels by this author so I am aware of her style. Her character development is outstanding as well as her narrative presented from a childs viewpoint. The subject of this novel is trust and love and how we can find the right way even though it hurts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2001

    too many adjectives

    I bought this book because I looked down the list of 'Users who bought this book also bought:' when I was purchasing Choke by Chuck Palahniuk. And let me tell you, this book is nothing like Choke. It's absolutely miserable. As far as Alice Hoffman is concerned, the only thing worth writing about in this world are flowers and stars. You'll be hard pressed to find one single page that doesn't make a reference to 'honeysuckle this,' or 'lilies that.' And every character spends a good amount of their time staring up into the night sky looking at the stars. I only need one word to describe this book, and it's BORING. I'll admit the first few chapters were somewhat entertaining, but after that, it's all downhill. And I mean a steep downhill. If you're the type of reader that can't get enough of flowery prose (literally), then you'll love this book. If you're into something a little more down to earth and you don't feel like you need a bunch of adjectives to describe every object in the world, then skip it. It's a waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2001

    REVIEW ON EXCERPT

    I liked how the excerpt gives you a warm feeling that fate can actually be a realism. The introduction of Ethan established just through an excerptallows the reader to welcome Ethan open arms beause of his 'perfect father/husband' image. I enjoyed the excerpt very much and am intrigued to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2