Customer Reviews for

Blue Diary

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Well Worth Your Time!

    Alice Hoffman's prose is so gorgeous it reads like poetry. This book delivers a great story, too. When Ethan's past finally catches up with him, his wife is left to pick up the pieces of her life. I'm a huge Hoffman fan, and this book is one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    Gets You Thinking

    A truly well written story that can't help but make you think "what if?" What would you do if you made a mistake (a terrible mistake) and tried to start over only to have the past catch up. What would you do if you married someone who turned out to be someone you didn't know. Alice Hoffman knows how to weave words in such a way that they envelope you within the pages of the book and keep you there long after the last page is read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    By far one of Alice Hoffman's best

    This is one Alice Hoffman book I recommend without a doubt. It was one of her absolute best However, it does steer slightly from her usual. It does have a scary, morbid side but it was GREAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Great Book

    The book is something that i think about even after i finished reading it. A book that effects me like that doesn't come around everyday. It was great, I would have liked to known what was written in the diary more though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    To Forgive or not to Forgive that is the question

    This book leaves you wanting more, but doesn't leave too many questions unanswered. I think that the reader is left to come to their own conclusions, which is good. I don't want to be force-fed endings or to have a book come to such a conclusive ending that I don't have something to think about after I'm finished. What would be the point? I love the description of the scenery and the flowers. It allows me to visualize. This book creates controversy and makes you wonder what you would do in the character's shoes. There is no right or wrong answers, just emotions. I love the character development, even Jorie's best friend has a struggle and a purpose in the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2003

    Great Story

    I loved this book! The characters, the writing, the descriptions - what a great, captivating story. Most books I give away after reading, but this one is a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    Gripping & Twisted...

    I have read Practical magic and so thought i would give this book a try and i have to say i loved it. The way at first the characters seem so perfect, so in love only to discover a darker side to the husband........ I found the book gripping and captivating and i quite liked the way that Hoffman describes the scenes with such detail throughout the book, i think you need to look to deeper to really find yourself in the heart of the book but once you get there you really can feel the emotion in the characters and the author. All in all highly recommended and if you are looking for a book that will 'pull you in' read this!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    Great Work on Alice Hoffman's Part

    I read Blue Diary in 2 days because I couldn't put it down. It was spellbinding and the more pages I tuned the more I liked it. The author makes great refrences to nature and that plays a big part in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2001

    heartbreaking

    I have read previous novels by this author so I am aware of her style. Her character development is outstanding as well as her narrative presented from a childs viewpoint. The subject of this novel is trust and love and how we can find the right way even though it hurts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Insightful character study

    The residents of Monroe, Massachusetts believe that Ethan Ford is the most dependable and hardest working person in town. The locals consider Ethan so trustworthy, he has his own keys to many of the homes he is remodeling. Besides being an excellent carpenter, Ethan is a volunteer firefighter and a highly regarded unpaid coach. After thirteen years together, he still loves his wife Jorie and their twelve years old child. <P>One knock on their door ends this perfect world. The police detain Ethan for a murder that occurred before he met Jorie. To add insult to injury, friends who worked along side of Ethan on fire calls read him his rights before arresting him. No one believes that the respectful, revered Ethan could commit this heinous crime, but the evidence that he murdered and raped a teen in Maryland seems overwhelming. The statue begins to fall from its pedestal. <P> Anyone expecting a glib tie the ribbon in a bow ending can forget it with Alice Hoffman¿s deep character study, BLUE DIARY. Instead, the story line is an astonishing look at the impact of an ugly crime apparently committed by the big fish on the little fish in that pond. The key to the tale is not whether Ethan raped and killed in a previous life. Instead the plot is so good due to the depth of the secondary and tertiary cast members whose reactions to the growing evidence against the local hero follow the pattern of grieving individuals. Ms. Hoffman goes where few writers have traveled before as she provides an intriguing, well-written portrait of the human condition. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1