Customer Reviews for

Blue-Eyed Devil

Average Rating 4.5
( 263 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

I absolutely loved this book. This is my favorite of Lisa Kleypas hands down. It takes a serious issue(abuse) and takes it to a whole nother level, I didn't really like Haven OR Hardy in Sugar Daddy so I didn't have high expectations for this book, but I fell in love wi...
I absolutely loved this book. This is my favorite of Lisa Kleypas hands down. It takes a serious issue(abuse) and takes it to a whole nother level, I didn't really like Haven OR Hardy in Sugar Daddy so I didn't have high expectations for this book, but I fell in love with Haven, and by the end I was in love with Hardy too. These characters grow so much. Most books about spousal abuse are very depressing and sad to read, but in this book Lisa makes Haven overcome a great deal,without making the readers feel that Haven is weak. Most times when you read about spousal abuse you get very frustrated when the victim doesn't just leave, but Lisa writes this in a way where you understand Haven and why at first stays. I couldn't put this book down and I have reread it a dozen times. You have to read this. The plot was and characters were very well developed. This book keeps you hooked no doubt. I would recommend many of Lisa Kleypas but this one is by far one of her best.

posted by jelybean_2010 on May 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Unsettling

Disappointing. I have read and loved ALL the books Lisa Kleypas has written. They were usually pleasurable reading. I didn't care for the PHYSICAL or verbal abuse in this book. Also I don't recall the F-word being used in her books. An unsettling read.

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Poor Guy/ Rich Girl

    I loved reading Blue-Eyed Devil. The characters were smart and witty. The protagonist, the hard working blue-eyed devil, and the heiress were electric. The twist to the poor guy/ rich girl plot was neat. The novel is a winner, and I can't wait for another Lisa Kleypas's book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    Perfect follow-up to Sugar Daddy

    This was worth the wait. Lisa makes her characters and story line realistic. Yes the abuse was descriptive-it is suppose to make the reader feel like they are there and the F word, well what can I say these are Texan boys afterall. No disappointment with this buy. I hope she continues with this series and does a book on Jack or Joe, maybe even Carrington all grown up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Enjoyed this book!

    Love Lisa Kleypas and loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Exciting

    I loved the book and it touched on abusiveness in a marriage that was GREAT I enjoyed it from the beginning to the end!!!!!!Look forward to Suga Daddy!!!!!!!!! I am going to buy all her books......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Good Read

    Great read. A bit short - wish it was longer. Equal parts drama and romance. Worth a read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    So glad I stumbled on this author

    This is the second book I've listened too by Lisa Kleypas and I enjoyed it as much as the first. Her stories are easy to relate too so the characters come alive. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    good book

    this is a quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Steals your breath!

    It begins w/ a kiss...

    Haven Travis' chance encounter w/ the delicious Hardy Cates in the wine cellar @ her brother's wedding ignites a spark that propels into an explosion.

    However, the detonating kiss isn't enough to derail her plans to marry Nick.

    Haven's marriage to Nick is far from what she imagined. He transforms from a gentle, caring husband into an abominable combustible egomaniac.

    I will say up front, there were a few scenes that were disturbing. For some readers it may mean the end of the book. With that said, I urge you to continue as this needs to be addressed to demonstrate the brutal scenes of domestic violence Kleypas was brave enough to shine a light on.

    At times, I was left paralyzed as I experienced life through Haven's eyes. I cried & was left raw. It was that emotionally driven. I just wanted to erase a lot of the intense feelings or hit delete to make Haven's heartache go away.

    Haven's struggle to find her own identity & acknowledge that what happened to her was not her fault is beautifully delivered.

    Lisa pens an ultra sexy story. Blue-Eyed Devil displays how priceless Lisa Kleypas' writing is.

    The love story will rob you of your breath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Good escape.

    Fun, keeps attention, easy reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well done

    Even though it picks up where "Sugar Daddy" left off, we're not really following the same main characters. They are there in the background, lending familiarity, but the new "headliners" take the stage and hold it well. A great follow up with the same tempo and writing style. If you liked "Sugar Daddy", you won't be disappointed in "Blue Eyed Devil"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Bought this for the abused woman theme

    Its a favorite and at times hard to find. I liked this story a lot better than the prequel, but I thought that maybe the heroine 'recovered' from her trauma a little too quickly. Still a very good read and one I will keep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Good book

    I loved the hero in this book which made it a completely interesting and touching read. I am a fan of Lisa's historical work and have enjoyed her contemporary work as well, which I can't say for some other history romance authors who go contemporary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    Thought Provoking

    I am still trying to come to terms with how I feel about this book. One thing I would say is that I am not convinced it was a contemporary romance. The abuse angle was too dominant in the story. I felt she handled the aspects of spousal abuse very well but I have to say, it did not necessarily leave me feeling good. Her research was extremely well done. I think that one thing I would have liked to have seen was more interaction between Haven and Hardy (not my favorite name by the way). I believe that for any woman to experience the amount of abuse this character did, that more involvement needed to be developed. I also found the last scene between Haven and Hardy disturbing...because no abused woman would have felt comfortable in that situation. As I said...I'm still dealing with the entire storyine after reading it today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4