Customer Reviews for

Blue-Eyed Devil (Virgil Cole/Everett Hitch Series #4)

Average Rating 3.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Robert B. Parkers Appaloosa series

Western plots are all similar for the most part but in Parkers four book Cole and Hitch series, it is the characters and their unique dialog that sets these apart from other novels of this genre. Nobody writes dialog better than Parker,totally life like and edgey. I am ...
Western plots are all similar for the most part but in Parkers four book Cole and Hitch series, it is the characters and their unique dialog that sets these apart from other novels of this genre. Nobody writes dialog better than Parker,totally life like and edgey. I am sorry we will not see any more of these jewels, Robert B. Parker will be sincerely missed by those of us that relish good page turner novels.

Gregor Martin

posted by Kwikfish on July 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

If you buy this one, keep your expectations are very low.

One of Robert B. Parker's worst books ever.The first three in this series were excellent though.

The first 7 or 8 books in the Spenser series were excellent, but the next 7 or 8 were full of insipid & narcissistic literary allusions. The last 4 or 5 were pretty good...
One of Robert B. Parker's worst books ever.The first three in this series were excellent though.

The first 7 or 8 books in the Spenser series were excellent, but the next 7 or 8 were full of insipid & narcissistic literary allusions. The last 4 or 5 were pretty good though. It was good to see Robert B. Parker finish the series strong.

The Jesse Stone series was pretty good as well.

posted by CharlesEcho on August 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Robert B. Parkers Appaloosa series

    Western plots are all similar for the most part but in Parkers four book Cole and Hitch series, it is the characters and their unique dialog that sets these apart from other novels of this genre. Nobody writes dialog better than Parker,totally life like and edgey. I am sorry we will not see any more of these jewels, Robert B. Parker will be sincerely missed by those of us that relish good page turner novels.

    Gregor Martin

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Happy Trails, Robert B.

    There is no writer I come home to more often than Robert B. Parker. His terse dialog and simple plot lines make his books a three-night read. He's simply entertaining and crafty in developing characters to whom we attach. The classic pairing, of course, is Spencer and Hawk. They are modern manifestations of the classic western character, where the good guys and the bad guys are defined by who wins the battles and not the methods they deploy. Enter Hitch and Cole in a dynamic four-book series I hate to see end. Blue-eyed Devil ties together the threads of a tenuous friendship, a lover's pursuit of the unobtainable, and the nomadic journey of a pair of for-hire gunmen who serve largely as lawmen. Had Robert B. Parker lived longer, I would be hungry for more of this series even more than the next Spencer and certainly Jesse Stone and Sunny Randall. Robert Crais and his Elvis Cole/Joe Pike novels can pick up some of that slack, but there isn't another writer -- western or otherwise -- writing about the old west at this level of sheer entertainment. The sad thing about the passing of an author is that his characters die with him, without drama or explanation. But, I'm happy to have enjoyed his long run of bestsellers and, to coin a term, best-readers. Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch lived up to the challenge. I wish Parker could write on, and they could ride on.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    The very last Parker book

    How sad that one of my favorite authors has died. I liked this series, fast reading, and just a good fun book. My favorites are the Spenser series, the dialogue between Spenser and Hawk are such fun. I will miss Mr. Parker.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    required reading for western lovers

    Robert B Parker has written four of the best westerns I have read. Blue eyed Devil included. We need another movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    The final book in the series.

    This series was the best I have ever read as I could not put the books down. Was a minor fan of western novels but after this series I am a big fan. Thank you Mr Parker for an entertaining journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Emma

    Gtg bye and ur welcome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Very good, as is all of his Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch books

    A must read for everyone who enjoys westerns. Hard hitting and straight forword. It's too bad all westerns aren't this good.

    I have read all of Parker's westerns and wish there were more.

    I would recomend this to anyone. Even if you don't enjoy westerns, give it a shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2