Customer Reviews for

Blue Fall (The Tournament, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

My review copy of Blue Fall was generously provided by the auth

My review copy of Blue Fall was generously provided by the author, B.B. Griffith.

The world of Blue Fall is cutthroat and violent and sophisticated – and it’s layered over the everyday, mundane existence of 99+% of the population. You see, the uber-rich an...
My review copy of Blue Fall was generously provided by the author, B.B. Griffith.

The world of Blue Fall is cutthroat and violent and sophisticated – and it’s layered over the everyday, mundane existence of 99+% of the population. You see, the uber-rich and uber-powerful have set up a game, of sorts – a game that decides the fate of people and nations. The Tournament. What a deliciously simple yet extremely complex concept for this game – the ultimate contact sport, both for those who participate and for the unwitting 99+% of the people surrounding them. Nations sponsor teams of three members each. The color-coded teams compete for national pride and positioning in a series of rounds that pit one team against another until one single winner is left standing. Quite literally. For the teams, the point is survival; for the uber-rich and uber-powerful, the point is winning. And make no mistake – survival and winning are not even remotely the same thing. That's because the uber-rich and uber-powerful get to bet on the outcome of the Tournament rounds – and the stakes are ever-increasing. No longer satisfied with winning money and national pride, the bets are now starting to run toward global defense, economics/financing, and politics.

It’s a little sci-fi meets the ultimate power game. It’s also a lot of fun.

B.B. Griffith has managed to craft a clever, futuristic yet-not-too-futuristic, world in which there’s just enough new technology to keep a science fiction fan happy and just enough action-packed violence to keep an action-junkie happy. The characters are well-crafted. The heroes are eminently likeable and the villains are dreadfully evil – and there are a handful of characters that defy such polarized categorization, which makes them all the more interesting and entertaining, to my way of thinking. There’s cool science/medical technology here, fascinating geo-political implications, and even a little romance – and it’s all packaged in an extremely engaging story that hooked me from the get-go.

There are a couple of spots where the description seems to slow the pacing down, which made me start skimming a little every now and again. As I’ve spent more time writing myself, as well as more time talking with authors, I’ve come to associate this type of occasional over-descriptiveness with an author who gets as wrapped up in their own story as the reader does. It’s a signal to me that the author is enthusiastic and therefore likely to take me on a fabulous journey. Unfortunately, it also sometimes slows up the pacing of that journey.

That aside, this is a wild ride and one that I definitely want another crack at. I read this on kindle, and when I suddenly realized I was at 95% I was starting to wonder how in the heck it was all going to tie together. It does and it doesn’t – in exactly the right proportions. The ending leaves you with just enough questions to whet your appetite for the next book – and just enough teasers to keep you waiting as long as you have to in order to get it. That’s a fine line to walk. Very well done B.B. Griffith, very well done indeed… Don’t miss this one folks – trust me. Oh, and I can already see the movie in my head, and it’s going to be fabulous. Just saying…

posted by Jill-Elizabeth_com on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

Plot spoilers ruin the book. Thank you. Now no need to get the book. Bn please do something to these rude plot spoilers. They shoild be banned from posting.

posted by 8888649 on November 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Plot spoilers

    Plot spoilers ruin the book. Thank you. Now no need to get the book. Bn please do something to these rude plot spoilers. They shoild be banned from posting.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Interesting premise. Enjoyed reading it a lot. Will probably pick up the next installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Enjoyable!

    Suspenseful and fast paced

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Great book

    Enjoyed this book immensely, n cannot wait to read the sequel!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    My review copy of Blue Fall was generously provided by the auth

    My review copy of Blue Fall was generously provided by the author, B.B. Griffith.

    The world of Blue Fall is cutthroat and violent and sophisticated – and it’s layered over the everyday, mundane existence of 99+% of the population. You see, the uber-rich and uber-powerful have set up a game, of sorts – a game that decides the fate of people and nations. The Tournament. What a deliciously simple yet extremely complex concept for this game – the ultimate contact sport, both for those who participate and for the unwitting 99+% of the people surrounding them. Nations sponsor teams of three members each. The color-coded teams compete for national pride and positioning in a series of rounds that pit one team against another until one single winner is left standing. Quite literally. For the teams, the point is survival; for the uber-rich and uber-powerful, the point is winning. And make no mistake – survival and winning are not even remotely the same thing. That's because the uber-rich and uber-powerful get to bet on the outcome of the Tournament rounds – and the stakes are ever-increasing. No longer satisfied with winning money and national pride, the bets are now starting to run toward global defense, economics/financing, and politics.

    It’s a little sci-fi meets the ultimate power game. It’s also a lot of fun.

    B.B. Griffith has managed to craft a clever, futuristic yet-not-too-futuristic, world in which there’s just enough new technology to keep a science fiction fan happy and just enough action-packed violence to keep an action-junkie happy. The characters are well-crafted. The heroes are eminently likeable and the villains are dreadfully evil – and there are a handful of characters that defy such polarized categorization, which makes them all the more interesting and entertaining, to my way of thinking. There’s cool science/medical technology here, fascinating geo-political implications, and even a little romance – and it’s all packaged in an extremely engaging story that hooked me from the get-go.

    There are a couple of spots where the description seems to slow the pacing down, which made me start skimming a little every now and again. As I’ve spent more time writing myself, as well as more time talking with authors, I’ve come to associate this type of occasional over-descriptiveness with an author who gets as wrapped up in their own story as the reader does. It’s a signal to me that the author is enthusiastic and therefore likely to take me on a fabulous journey. Unfortunately, it also sometimes slows up the pacing of that journey.

    That aside, this is a wild ride and one that I definitely want another crack at. I read this on kindle, and when I suddenly realized I was at 95% I was starting to wonder how in the heck it was all going to tie together. It does and it doesn’t – in exactly the right proportions. The ending leaves you with just enough questions to whet your appetite for the next book – and just enough teasers to keep you waiting as long as you have to in order to get it. That’s a fine line to walk. Very well done B.B. Griffith, very well done indeed… Don’t miss this one folks – trust me. Oh, and I can already see the movie in my head, and it’s going to be fabulous. Just saying…

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Great book looking foward to sequel.

    Great book looking foward to sequel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Blue Fall: The Tournament: Volume One is B.B. Griffith’s f

    Blue Fall: The Tournament: Volume One is B.B. Griffith’s first novel. I am always a little hesitant to read someone’s first novel as one doesn’t know what to expect. However, the book’s description intrigued me. I wanted to know more. An insurance agent, Frank Youngsmith, begins investigating a large life insurance policy payout after he receives a call from his boss during the middle of the night. And what Frank stumbles onto is a competition that not many people would understand. The battles fought are not sanctioned by society as a whole. Instead, they are part of a world where rich and powerful people wage bets and play odds on the unsanctioned battles. The bets are astronomical, and the latest competition has taken a new turn and foreign affairs are now at stake.

    Who are these warriors? In Blue Fall, there are three team members per each nation that is involved. This installment of the series begins with eight nations fighting: England, Ireland, Mexico, Russia, Italy, France, Japan, and the USA. The weapons used have diode bullets that knock the players out of the game but do not kill them. Once hit, the player will start to feel numbness and within a certain amount of time will lose consciousness, leaving the players available for the next round of the competition. All of the players were recruited by Tournament leaders. Reasons as to why each player is recruited are vague. Do the Tournament leaders think certain individuals are natural born killers? I got a sense that the individuals were special, but I didn’t feel that it was completely explained. Also, not enough time was spent developing the history of the Tournament and the competitions.

    As the story unfolds, we find that the competitions have nations pitted against other nations. Scores need to be settled and national pride restored. The level of the fighting increases with each battle. More civilians are injured, more damage is done, and the fighting is getting personal. Will the competition turn into all out warfare? Also, will they be able to keep the competitions out of the news?

    For an action novel, I was pleased that Griffith spent time developing the characters in his novel, including the minor characters. To accomplish this, he includes multiple points of view. At times, this process does take too much time and lessens the excitement from all the action. However, this novel is the first in the series, so I’m hoping he took extra care in his first novel to introduce everyone so the future novels will be more suspenseful. This is not to say that the first installment is not action-packed. It is.

    Overall, Griffith’s first novel is quite a statement. He knows how to write action novels. He knows how to hook the reader right from the start and to keep the reader’s interest. My only regret about reading this book is that that the second is not yet available. As soon as I devoured this installment, I wanted to pick up the next one right away. I hope the author does not make us wait too long. Even though I mentioned some flaws in the novel, such as taking too much time to develop certain characters, which detracts from the action and being too vague about the actual Tournament and competition, I’m still giving this novel 5 out of 5 stars. The simple reason behind this rating was I could not put this book down. And I am eagerly waiting for the next installment.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Great Read!

    Great Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Good Read

    Really enjoyed this book. Now I have to wait for Book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Riveting

    Started reading and could not put it down. Very interesting consept

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    Excellent

    At first, it is a little hard to follow with so many characters. As you read on, and become familiar with them, it becomes a tremendous action type book. I would not say it is a literary masterpiece, but it is a great book to read. You want to know what is going to happen next. Completely enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Terrible

    Read 90+pages and had to stop. Story jumped all around with way too many characters. Terrible plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Anon

    Started good then fell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Page turner

    One of the best suspense books I've read in a while with a believable syfy twist. I will read the next in the series,wished I'd just bought the trilogy to begin with, but who knew?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Camt do it

    I tried to get into the book but it was just so boring but thats just how i feel maybe u will like it u never no unless u give it a try

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Loved this book! Griffith's writing is captivating - the story i

    Loved this book! Griffith's writing is captivating - the story is action-packed, yet he still takes time to develop each character. Can't wait to get my hands on the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    The book was an awesome read. I got completely lost in it, in a

    The book was an awesome read. I got completely lost in it, in a great way. Sets of the trilogy so well. A must read for the summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Great book, great price

    Picked this up free then went and bought the trilogy. Great read. I breezed through them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Blue fall

    Ok. Went on and on. Not my favorite book by far. I got confused with all the different people and teams. The story changed and moved so fast, I had a hard time keeping up with who belonged to which team.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Engaging read!

    This isn't my normal type of book but I was thoroughly hooked! I found myself wanting to know more about these charachters and getting slightly miffed at normal household interuptions.
    It's been a long time since I've been that engaged in a book and I look forward to purchasing the next book in what I hope turns out to be a series. Well done and Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2