BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Blue Gold: A Kurt Austin Adventure (NUMA Files Series)

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2001

    Cussler & Kemprecos strike GOLD again

    I am quite puzzled at the negative reviews of this, the 2nd Kurt Austin adventure. For my money, it may not be 100% equal to your average Dirk Pitt treasure, but I'd have to say it comes pretty close. I was as skeptical as any other Dirk Pitt fan when I first saw 'Serpent' a little over a year ago, but I had to remember that Cussler had never failed me before, so I took the gamble on Kurt Austin novel #1 and I was incredibly glad I did. 'Blue Gold', like 'Serpent' continues the tried-and-true Cussler formula. Somewhere is a really bad guy--or in this case, a bad girl--who has plans on doing something that will tragically effect the entire planet, in this case, control arguably the most valuable resource on the planet outside of oxygen: WATER. Kurt Austin & his trusty sidekick, Joe Zavala end up as Dirk & Al usually do, knee-deep in the mess, quite by accident. But once into it, they cannot stop themselves from rushing headlong into the conspiracy. The Amazon connection as well as the missing WWII spy plane added a great deal of thrills to an already winning plot. For those who just CANNOT get past this not being a Dirk Pitt adventure should do this: every time you see the name Kurt, just substitute Dirk and the same goes for exchanging Al for every time you see the name Joe...by doing this, you can hardly tell the difference between these books and one featuring the Special Projects Director of the National Underwater & Marine Agency. Again, there are those who cannot (or will not) attempt to do this, but for my money, I'll take a Cussler novel just about any way I can get it, and if a Kurt Austin tale quenches my adventure thirst while waiting for Dirk & Co. to make another trip to the bookstore, I just see it as a good thing all around. Also, for those who enjoy Clive Cussler's style of writing, check out one of Jack Du Brul's books. He is soon becoming the new master of adventure fiction.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!!!!

    I Liked this book because there is nonstop action from the beginning. Even when it slows down it really held my attention. Also a very diverse storyline and not all action. Has a good plot and the characters are well defined.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    A Thriller

    The story keeps on going...can't put the book down. It's a must for the thrill seeker, looking for the next event.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Great Read

    This book is yet another example of why I keep coming back to Cussler when I want a good book to read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Good

    Read

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    True Gold!

    Back in blue!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Sph

    Ish baq

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Marceline

    Bye see you tomarrow *kisses you back*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Totally recommend it!

    As always, Cussler never lets down the action or intentsity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Great reading for everyone!!

    I have read eleven books by Mr. Cussler. They are the best. I can recomend any of his books to readers of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    For Clive Cussler fans a must read.

    Blue Gold is a very good read , never a dull moment and always suspenseful right to the end. As with all of Cussler's books a page turner and hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    KURT IS NO DIRK PITT, BUT HE IS OK!

    I HAVE BEEN A CLIVE CUSSLER/DIRK PITT FAN FOR YEARS. THE NEW HERO, KURT AUSTIN, IS NO DIRK PITT. HIS CHARACTER IS NOT AS DEVELOPED AND PERSONABLE. ALSO, HIS 'TEAM' JUST DOESN'T SEEM AS CLOSE KNIT AND LIKABLE AS DIRK'S. ALL THIS ASIDE, IT HAS A PRETTY GOOD START ON BECOMING A GOOD SERIES. THE SCIENCE ASPECT IS INTRIGUING, THE FEMALE VILLAIN IS VERY NASTY, AND THE ADVENTURE IS EXOTIC. HOWEVER, THE MAIN CHARACTERS STILL NEED A LOT MORE DEVELOPMENT AND CONSISTENCY. MAYBE THEY WILL GROW ON ME.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2001

    A Great New Beginning

    I loved this book. The story line was interesting. You did need to read it carefully (don't skip any pages) or you'll miss some of the important clues to what going on. Dirk is getting old and has done almost everything. Now is the time to bring in Kurt, the younger person with new partner and personalities to open up another story line. It does live up to Clive's other stories. The only negative thing is being with a co-author is they haven't written much together so the styles haven't totally meshed yet. The next story together will be awesome. I think the next story Kurt and Dirk should be working together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2000

    Blue Gold = Great Read

    After reading all of Cussler's books, I am happy to say that this is as good or better that all the rest. While Austin is not Dirk, the two characters are from the same cloth. This new series helps pass the time of waiting on a new Pitt novel bearable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2000

    Bad Gal

    An interesting twist on the typical Bad Guy in most action/adventure novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2000

    Recommend

    As an avid Cussler reader for many years I am constantly checking the shelves for a new title. One a year just isn't enough once your hooked. But I must say the new series do not meet the standards of the Dirk Pitt and crew. I find the characters shallow and not as seasoned as Dirk was. There is good build up as far as characters is concerned but too many flukey type escapes. Also the end comes too quick after reading through so much detail. I hope that Mr. Austin will become a little more like Dirk whereas right now he is too much of a fly by the seat of the pants character. All in all a good read but not as exciting as past writings of Clive's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2000

    BLUE GOLD lost at sea

    I've read all of the Cussler novels and am an ardent fan. However, this co-authored novel does not meet Cussler's elegant standards for highly detailed and mind-boggling excitement. When you have become 'Cusslerized' over the years, the flimsy action episodes in Blue Gold seem to fall flat. This novel definitely needed more Cussler input.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2000

    Pure Gold

    I¿m so glad that Clive Cussler started another series! Waiting for a year plus for another Dirk Pitt was torture. I have been a fan of Mr. Cussler since Rise The Titanic. His books have always been such a pleasure to read. Fun adventure, total escapism. The good guys win and the bad guys get theirs. A new take on the old western books. Mr. Cussler does a wonderful job of explaining the high tech end of things and makes the story in his books seem real. This book is no exception. The four main characters are fun and interesting. Kurt and Joe the two lead characters are as much fun as Dirk and Al. May be even a bit funnier. The addition of a married couple is an added bonus, for a anchor to the plot. The plot of this book is tight with some very nasty villains. The ¿heroine in distress¿ in this book could use a bit more fleshing out. But you do understand her and root for her. Over all a very fun book to escape into for a couple of days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2000

    Austin is back - but he's no Dirk

    For Cussler fans, the escapades of Kurt Austin are a welcome addition to the NUMA files. For Pitt fans, Kurt and Joe seem to be a watered down version of the dynamic duo. The Trouts play a big role in Blue Gold, which is good. Hiram and Max are here, as well as Sandecker, but Rudi only makes a cameo. I guess the feeling of disappointment stems from wanting Pitt to save the day. A good read on its own, but left me wanting to know what's going on with Al,Dirk and Lauren

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4