Customer Reviews for

The Blue Last (Richard Jury Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    May Richard Jury and Melrose Plant go on forever!

    A few years ago, I bought Hotel Paradise by Martha Grimes and never got into it. After I finish every single Richard Jury novel, I may try other Grimes novels again. The Richard Jury books are absolutely wonderful. Clean, witty writing, always a good story and wonderful characters that never get too cute. When I fell in love with the first one, I was delighted to learn that there were many others. I think I'm on my tenth, and intend to read every one. The Blue Last is an interesting story and a very good mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    Awesome Book

    Its the first book I have read from Martha Grimes and I thought it was great even better than that of the Harry Potter Series. I can't wait to find another Martha Grimes Book. The best part of this is I am only 14 years old!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2002

    A great mystery!

    I'm always looking for the next Martha Grimes mystery featuring Richard Jury. This was a fabulous read. The characters and dialogue are great. I also enjoy reading about Jury's friend Melrose Plant because he always winds up in the middle of the mystery. This book kept me guessing until the end and the murderer was quite a surprise. I would recommend this book and all previous Richard Jury mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2001

    Jury's Back with a Bang!

    Readers have been wondering, and now they can rest assured! He¿s back! And, if you¿ll pardon the pun, with a bang! Richard Jury, the mainstay character of Martha Grimes¿ immensely successful British police procedural series (the titles are all names of actual pubs) centralizes the action in her latest, ¿The Blue Last,¿ in what will surely quieten critics of her last Jury (¿The Lamorna Wink¿) as having too little Jury (he¿d been sent to North Ireland for investigations and other characters conducted this investigation!). No matter. Grimes produces one of her best with ¿The Blue Last¿! In 1939, during a bombing blitz by the Germans, the Blue Last, a pub owned by the Tynedale Brewing Company, is destroyed and in it, the daughter of the Tynedale family. By sheer luck (coincidence?), the family nanny had only moments before taken the daughter¿s baby girl, Maisie, out of the pub for some fresh air, leaving her own baby, of the same age, in the pub, and thus to her own doom as well. Enter DCI Mickey Haggarty of the London police, who, almost 60 years later, has reason to suspect that, actually, the babies¿ identities had been switched and the heiress to the Tynedale fortune is actually the nanny¿s own daughter! Haggarty calls in his longtime friend Jury to assist. Judy is skeptical. However, Haggarty reveals that he is dying of terminal cancer, with only a few weeks to live and Jury cannot refuse. However, enter Murder One, in Haggarty¿s own patch, yet, coincidentally, the victim, Simon Croft, is a close friend of the Tynedale family, who¿s been writing a book of the London war years. The book has disappeared. Was it because he was about to expose a scandal in the Tynedale family as well? Thus, now the two cases are inextricably intertwined. And with these basic premises, Grimes is off for the chase. And ¿The Blue Last¿ is vintage Grimes. Jury is clearly in command of the investigation and of the book and Grimes seems comfortable in letting Scotland Yard take charge. But the book is not simply about investigating a murder. All the Long Pidd characters come forging to the front, too, as Grimes delights in ¿shaking them from the branches.¿ It¿s Christmas, with its collateral imagary, atmosphere, and tone, which the reader readily picks up. Grimes takes a detour for a couple of chapters as she stops the Jury deliberation of his own investigation to permit Melrose Plant and Marshall Trueblook to make a quick trip to Florence to authenticate what Trueblood hopes is a genuine Masaccio polyptych, which he¿d bought for a steal at a local antiques shop. It¿s an excellent breather, as it were, a genuine bit of comic relief (actually it¿s difficult to find characters more comical than the Long Pidd crowd, as readers of this series know full well!). And she offers some good art history lessons as well! Noteworthy, too, is that the author has taken the time to answer many questions about her characters, especially Jury, himself a survivor of the London Blitz (his mother was killed during a bombing raid and his father died in action as an RAF pilot). There are few questions about him that can be asked. Certainly, Grimes seems to feel she¿s answered them all. She also seems to make this one even more personal to her own nature. A complex man, an ideal protagonist for any novel, Jury is a man who refuses to compromise his well-founded principles, yet compassion, understanding, and sympathy for all those who deserve it are within his character range. Coupled with these descriptives, Grimes adds her other memorable characters, all with their own expanse of complexity and depth. All the accolades aside, some readers may find the ending a bit unsettling; indeed, it¿s a strong ending for a Jury novel. Yet, to the alert reader, Grimes is fully in charge and the ending is in keeping with the rest of the book, no more, no less. And one¿s reaction to the ending, of course, sh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2001

    Brilliant (as always)

    Grimes has done it again. To open a new 'Richard Jury mystery' is to resume a treasured acquaintance with the best and truest of friends -- every one memorable for his/her quirkiness and (with the possible exception of Aunt Agatha), loveable for his/her eccentricities. The 'mysteries' are ingenious, the plot twists always clever, and the characters often hilarious -- but never laughable. Ms. Grimes exhibits a real warmth and understanding of human foibles, even among the most loathesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2001

    The Blue Last will leave a 'lasting' impression....

    Being a Martha Grimes enthusiast, I always very impatiently await her latest Richard Jury novel. The characters are rich, full of feeling, loyal and totally unforgettable. Indulging in one of these books is like having a weekend away with an old friend. I found The Blue Last to be as wonderful as I expected. My only complaint is 'waiting' for the next installment. I find it helps to read these from the first novel which I believe to be 'The Man With a Load of Mischief'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jury at his best

    Detective Chief Inspector Mickey Haggerty is dying from cancer and his work to complete his final case borders on obsession. Mickey begs his long time friend and fellow cop Richard Jury to take over the investigation because he knows Rich will not rest until he solves the investigation. Two skeletons were found amidst the ruins of THE BLUE LAST Pub. Forensics proves that the remains are that of a young woman and female infant killed during World War II. <P>Haggerty believes that the adult is Alexandra Tynedale, daughter of brewing magnate Oliver Tynedale. However, it is the infant that interests the dying cop. If she is who he thinks she is, then someone planted an impostor baby inside the Tynedale family and that child, now an adult, stands to inherit a fortune as the grandchild of a wealthy man. Though he wants nothing to remind him of the WW II bombings since his parents were killed by them, Rich begins to investigate for a friend. When a murder of a Tynedale friend occurs, Richard wonders if there is a tie to a cover-up of a five-decade-old scam or is Maisie really a Tynedale? <P> Richard Jury is always welcome and his latest tale includes a strong dose of his personal side through Haggerty and his thoughts about his deceased parents. The moving story line centers on the police investigation from a possible mystery over fifty years old; if there really is a mystery. Richard remains his irascible but lovable self in his sixteenth appearance and his creator, Martha Grimes, still has the magic touch to keep him fascinating. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1