Customer Reviews for

Blue Latitudes: Boldly Going Where Captain Cook Has Gone Before

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

In my top 5 favorite books.

This is in my top 5 list of favorite books!! It is fascinating, funny at times, and informative.

posted by Anonymous on December 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disconnection

Horwitz fails to draw the reader into his book. In an attempt to prevent it from becoming a history book he slaps in his 'adventures' between Cook passages. By doing this the reader never gets a great taste of Cook or Horwitz. Furthermore, Horwitz seems overly critic...
Horwitz fails to draw the reader into his book. In an attempt to prevent it from becoming a history book he slaps in his 'adventures' between Cook passages. By doing this the reader never gets a great taste of Cook or Horwitz. Furthermore, Horwitz seems overly critical of every island he comes to. He almost whines like a child when he finds the islands aren't like they were 200+ years ago, what did he expect? His blind love for Cook prevents him from presenting anything negative against Cook. When something rises, he quickly shoots it down with arguments that are very shaky.

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    In my top 5 favorite books.

    This is in my top 5 list of favorite books!! It is fascinating, funny at times, and informative.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    Disconnection

    Horwitz fails to draw the reader into his book. In an attempt to prevent it from becoming a history book he slaps in his 'adventures' between Cook passages. By doing this the reader never gets a great taste of Cook or Horwitz. Furthermore, Horwitz seems overly critical of every island he comes to. He almost whines like a child when he finds the islands aren't like they were 200+ years ago, what did he expect? His blind love for Cook prevents him from presenting anything negative against Cook. When something rises, he quickly shoots it down with arguments that are very shaky.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Perfectly Written

    Rarely does an author take you to a place well enough so your sense can imagine the sites, sounds and smells. Horwitz has done that in this fantastic story of following Captain Cook through his highs and his lows. Horwitz takes the reader there only because he's been there first hand.
    If you read one book on Captain Cook and the voyages of discovery in the Pacific Ocean, this is the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2003

    A voyage through past and present

    Tony Horwitz takes us through a fantastic voyage cleverly interwoven through past and present by following Captain Cook's explorations. The book is well researched, most entertaining and reveals just how much of a true environmentalist Mr. Horwitz is at heart. While I personally met him at a booksigning this summer in Buzzards Bay, MA. I can attest to the fact that he is the most delightful story-teller in person as well as through his writing. A really interesting book and a 'good read.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2003

    Entertaining with a Buffet style

    I read the whole book in one weekend while deployed here in Iraq. I wish all history was this entertaining to read. I will gladly read all Horwitz works while here. My next read will be 'Baghdad Without a Map'; hopefully this will provide some insight to the region I am currently occupying

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    Cookaholics International

    I confess, I'm obsessed by Captain Cook's legacy. I've followed him from Antarctica to Alaska, even volunteering as docent on board Endeavour's replica ship. Blue Latitudes confirmed and enriched my experiences. Scholarship and adventure make irresistable reading. I read slowly to savor the flavor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2002

    A great biography/travel log... I could not put it down

    I grew up in Hawaii, so of course I'd heard of Captain Cook, and have even visited Kealakekua Bay several times. I first heard about this book on NPR, and immediately took a detour from my errands to find it. It was well worth it. Tony Horwitz traces the three voyages of James Cook, an amazing man who accurately charted one third of the planet, and manages not only to capture Captain Cook the explorer, but also Cook the man. Most fascinating for me was the attitudes of the peoples and cultures Cook encountered, both then and now. Is James Cook the villain, who is responsible for all the ills the cultures suffered at the hands of European expansion? Or was he at the very least, the most open-minded of the European "invaders", concerned for the effect his crew and others to come would have on the native peoples? These attitudes seem colored by both the prevailing culture (the warlike stance of the Maoris of New Zealand, or the more pacifistic view of the Aborigines of Australia) and the PR (sometimes false) generated by Cook's previous biographers. Regardless, James Cook was a complex man, who made questionable choices, particularly on his last voyage. Tony Horwitz' clear, easy writing style brings the Pacific regions... from Polynesia, Antarctica, and the Pacific northwest... and their people to life, often with great humor and great sympathy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Great Author and book!!

    Enjoyed it very much and learned a great deal of history and geography

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Tallstar

    Tallstar padded in "ready"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Great book...quick read

    Great book for any Cook fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Wonderful history with insight and humor

    An excellent comparison between a long ago voyage and the repeat in modern times.
    Anyone interested in Captain Cook, history and that part of the world would be enthralled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Dawn to mastiff

    Go to the book that says blue eyes better.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Masstiff

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    WAT DOES LATIDTIDUEE MEQN!!!!

    HELP ME MAKAYLA JANELLE TAYLOR

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    A great romp!

    Humor, History and Travel Adventure all in one place. Horwitz takes you there and reflects on the man Capt. Cook became during his three Pacific voyages. Loved it! Couldn't put it down! Fun and insightful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    Entertaining and Educational!

    I read this book for a class and thought it would be a typical biography. It was the exact opposite. The author gives you a picture of what Cook's travels were like and what the lands he traveled are like now with the author's personal experiences. Excellent writing and very enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2003

    One great and entertaining read

    This is an example of melding travel writing and biography into a very enjoyable trip of time travel. Thoughly entertaining and always full of interesting observations, and maybe at it's best when discussing Cook's travels and the hardships. This book is just full of many great moments. I highly recommend this to anyone who has enjoyed Bill Bryson's books or even Paul Theroux who is still the best at this format.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    Entertaining history book

    Just finished reading this book. Although I do like history books filled with just facts, the author makes the usually boring factual story (i.e., history) very fascinating and approachable by weaving his own experiences & thoughts about the subject. It's a pretty well researched work, and I can't wait to read another of his book like this in the near future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2