Customer Reviews for

The Blue Light Project

Average Rating 3
( 491 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(124)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(111)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wonderfully refreshing, I loved it.

With the mixed reviews I wasn't sure about reading it, but I'm so glad I did. Learned a few things about the physical social world out on another level, one that very few of us ever see. Although the hostage crisis is proported to be the center of the interaction betwee...
With the mixed reviews I wasn't sure about reading it, but I'm so glad I did. Learned a few things about the physical social world out on another level, one that very few of us ever see. Although the hostage crisis is proported to be the center of the interaction between the characters, I felt that their own stories rode over that crisis - that their stories were really the center of the stage of the book. You can put this book down, and pick it up later, but the veins of the storylines keep running through your brain when you're not reading it. It's a story of hope and change - give it a try, you won't regret it.

posted by The_TravelerGA on July 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

67 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

The Blue Light Project

The Blue Light Project is a social commentary into today's society. What starts out as a mysterious person takes hostages at a television studio during a children's talent show, it is certainly not the central arc of the novel, but more of an action that somehow connect...
The Blue Light Project is a social commentary into today's society. What starts out as a mysterious person takes hostages at a television studio during a children's talent show, it is certainly not the central arc of the novel, but more of an action that somehow connects the characters of the story. You have the street artist, a former Olympic athlete, and a journalist whose points of views are the crux of the novel. This is not a thriller but a study of today's culture and the obsession with fame.

One has to be in the right mind set to read this book as it doesn't follow the norm with no clear plot line. I had a times difficulty getting into it.

posted by grumpydan on June 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Don't Waste Your Time

    Have you ever gone to see a movie and about 20 minutes into it, you're thinking it's a terrible movie, but you stay thinking maybe it will get better? Then more than half way through you realize it hasn't gotten any better, but you stay to the end because you've already invested so much time in it and, who knows, it might get somewhat better, but it never does. That's exactly what happened to me with this book. The story meandered and never quite came together and the language was often very cumbersome .

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Not for me

    I wish I had not wasted my time reading this book. There was a lot of detailed character development which was unnessary for this weak plot.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Not good

    One of the worst books I've evr read. Spends way too much time on character stories with no real conclusion. It took a long time to read as I just couldn't get into the book...I had to force myself to finish it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    I couldn't even finish it, enough said. And I believe in finishi

    I couldn't even finish it, enough said.
    And I believe in finishing every book I start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Couldn't finish

    I have had this on my shelf almost two years since it was offered as a FREE FRIDAY selection. Tried to get into it numerous times and couldn't. It was just way to out there for my taste. If there is going to be violence, I want to understand the reason why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Huge Disappointment!

    This book went absolutely nowhere! This author has ADD, ADHD, and just old fashioned "keep can't your mind on one idea at a time" so people can follow the story, IF there ever is a story. Ideas and characters hop around like they are from different worlds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Not for Me

    This book read more like a first draft than a finished manuscript.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Boring

    I am on page 79 and finally decided this is not worth my time. To say it is hard to get inti is an understatement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Not Interested

    Read the first chapter and could not get into this book. May try again when I don't have anything else to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Where's the Cover?

    Instead of this books cover, I just see a gray rectangle with the BN logo. All the books in the shop look this way. Even after I download it, the cover still doesn't show up. I've tried archiving and then downloading it, still doesn't work.
    BN had better fix this quick!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Not worth reading

    Would not recommend his one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Free friday

    Id like to know why it free for me on friday but some people had to pay 10 $

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Wouldn't recommend

    Confusing and boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Snore

    More like zero stars. This is not worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Boring

    The author rattled on and on so much that half way through I'd wished I'd not even bothered to read but it did catch my interest in whether she found her brother so ended up speed reading and skipping pages..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    What happened to the "free Friday" book?

    This was supposed to be free according to the email I received from B&N. But it's $10 - I don't think so. I love trying new books, new authors, etc, but I'm not paying $10 to try something that gets such bad reviews.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    could not get into it. gave up page 68

    The book may be okay for some readers - this author has a style of writing that I did not enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    NOT GOOD- FREE FRIDAY ASKING FOR MONEY TO DOWN LOAD.

    The Blue Light Project for FREE FRIDAY asking for $9.99 for down load!!! What up with that>

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Yuck

    I couldnt get into this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Terrible

    First book I didn't bother to finish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6