Customer Reviews for

The Blue Light Project

Average Rating 3
( 489 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(124)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(111)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wonderfully refreshing, I loved it.

With the mixed reviews I wasn't sure about reading it, but I'm so glad I did. Learned a few things about the physical social world out on another level, one that very few of us ever see. Although the hostage crisis is proported to be the center of the interaction betwee...
With the mixed reviews I wasn't sure about reading it, but I'm so glad I did. Learned a few things about the physical social world out on another level, one that very few of us ever see. Although the hostage crisis is proported to be the center of the interaction between the characters, I felt that their own stories rode over that crisis - that their stories were really the center of the stage of the book. You can put this book down, and pick it up later, but the veins of the storylines keep running through your brain when you're not reading it. It's a story of hope and change - give it a try, you won't regret it.

posted by The_TravelerGA on July 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

67 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

The Blue Light Project

The Blue Light Project is a social commentary into today's society. What starts out as a mysterious person takes hostages at a television studio during a children's talent show, it is certainly not the central arc of the novel, but more of an action that somehow connect...
The Blue Light Project is a social commentary into today's society. What starts out as a mysterious person takes hostages at a television studio during a children's talent show, it is certainly not the central arc of the novel, but more of an action that somehow connects the characters of the story. You have the street artist, a former Olympic athlete, and a journalist whose points of views are the crux of the novel. This is not a thriller but a study of today's culture and the obsession with fame.

One has to be in the right mind set to read this book as it doesn't follow the norm with no clear plot line. I had a times difficulty getting into it.

posted by grumpydan on June 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Blue Light Project

    The Blue Light Project is a social commentary into today's society. What starts out as a mysterious person takes hostages at a television studio during a children's talent show, it is certainly not the central arc of the novel, but more of an action that somehow connects the characters of the story. You have the street artist, a former Olympic athlete, and a journalist whose points of views are the crux of the novel. This is not a thriller but a study of today's culture and the obsession with fame.

    One has to be in the right mind set to read this book as it doesn't follow the norm with no clear plot line. I had a times difficulty getting into it.

    67 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    I think the real savior in the book is Rabbit, whose great achievement, his technological message, would seem to be "Let There Be Light!" Reminiscent of the creation, isn't it? Is that all that we need? Are we looking for a way back?

    This novel is strange. It is difficult to ascertain a specific time frame or a locality. The story moves back and forth from one location to another, from one character to another and also from one time frame to another. It does come together at some point, but not all of my questions were resolved. It seems to be set in a time when the whole world is suffering from ADD, taking risks, almost just to attract attention and dazzle crowds that love meaningless soundbites to which they assign great meaning, street cultures are revered and have taken on the persona of the "gang" in a completely different, almost more acceptable way, it is as if the street sub-culture is all on drugs, spaced out, looking for trouble, yet they are perfectly accepted by the younger generation and media. They seem hyper, and several rival gangs vie for street space, turf, to voice ideas or plaster walls with them. The defiance is justified and applauded, authority is mocked and disrespected, greed and envy are thriving as is schadenfreude! Does this pattern sound familiar yet? There is little transparency in the world and it sounds awfully close to the way we live today; it makes the premise of the book even more frightening; it is almost too close for comfort. The book comes together around a hostage crisis. Some of the children from KiddieFame, a children's talent show, of sorts, have been taken captive during a "kill" episode, in which one of the contestants is removed from the competition, often the best one, as schadenfreude often does rule. It turns into a real rather than a pretend, game of violence. But, no one knows why, no one knows who is behind this heinous act. Who would capture children, and yet, it is vaguely familiar, isn't it? It is reminiscent of the Russian hostage crisis, in Chechen, which took place on the same date, years before. The populace seems to identify with issues far too deeply, to assume too much self importance and a pretense of having influence to change things dramatically in bizarre and unusual ways. Discontent and anger permeate the atmosphere and this novel surely illustrates what can happen when a "world goes mad", when someone goes mad and tries to infect the world with that madness; in order to achieve redemption for his "crimes" he spreads the feeling of terror, like a disease which moves out into the ether. We have only to think about the cult of people that arose to follow Casey Anthony, for and against. We have only to think of the bizarre ways in which the lawyers used facts to influence judgment, to know that our time is dangerously close to the time in the book. Society is failing. There is an equal feeling of vicarious pleasure and disappointment, shared by the mob. It comes in waves. When the hostage taking begins, there are people making frantic predictions, having no idea whatsoever about what they are saying. They are assuming the hostage taker is a terrorist, they accuse a government they don't trust of orchestrating the event, they think it will blow over, be nothing. They live in a fantasy. They actually seem to enjoy this crisis. They, the people, that is, seem to have been geared up for this. Maybe it is all the reality shows that have prepared them to feel this way. They like being voyeurs, feeling like authority, defying authority, feeling like they are important. One has to wonder why we are obsessed with the dysfunctional, especially after reading this novel. Are we simply obsessed with schadenfreude?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Slow build to an interesting story

    It took some time to get into this book, but it eventually grabs your attention.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Street art

    This was a interesting drama that played itself out around a catastrophy that wounded a city and the blue light project that healed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Interesting story

    Written well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Couldn't really get into this one...

    I must be honest. I don't believe I ever really got "into" this book at all. It's well-written and the author did an excellent job of describing the setting and the majority of the characters, but in the end, there are way too many pieces of the puzzle left and none of them fit together. I feel more confused about what I just read than anything else. Three stars for this one. I liked it, but I just don't get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Glad to be done.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    Didn't live up to it's potential

    I kept waiting for the story to come together, because the premise had great potential for an excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    Okay

    The story was a good idea, but I had a hard time understanding/sympathizing with the characters. They seemed to float through the stories, I wasn't sure what was motivating them. A lot of their emotions had to be told, they weren't shown through the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Interestingly different

    Got the book on a free B&N Friday. It is not a conventional book, I had a hard time getting in to it but the story is ok. The hostage situation I can comprehend but never got really in to the actual Blue Light Project idea. Love the Free Friday books because of the chance to read authors you otherwise would have never discovered. I would try another book of this writer again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A recommended read. A different and refreshing style.

    PROS:
    I enjoyed the approach of the author, story moved along well, and kept me turning pages to find out what happens next. Author had an uncommong artistic flair.

    CONS:
    Sometimes difficult to follow - sometimes it would take me half a page or more to figure out the setting, introduction of a character, etc. Althought I really enjoyed the descriptive writing... sometimes it was a little too abstract and lengthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7