Customer Reviews for

Blue Mars

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    It Drags on and on and...

    Good gracious, this book took me *forever* to plow through. About ten years ago I had read Red Mars and Green Mars, the previous two volumes in this trilogy, but had never gotten around to reading Blue Mars. (I think it had something to do with the sudden arrival of babies in the family...) Anyway, I finally snagged a copy of this one and dove in.

    The story is basically the events following the Second Martian Revolution (which happened at the end of Green Mars), in which Mars becomes further terraformed (life taking hold), and in which the hard work of building a state and a government post-revolution takes place. The book is told in large sections from the perspectives of a number of the "first 100", switching back and forth as their stories unfold.

    What I liked: Watching how a constitution convention works in a technological age was fascinating, if only because the management of human capital is what's really required. I think I've become a fan of light political fare, as long as it doesn't get too dry. I also liked the weird time shifts as all the first 100 start to get truly old (their longevity solutions result in more than two centuries of life). By the end of the book, the characters had become intriguing, but they took me a long time to get used to.

    What I didn't like: There were lots of bright spots, and lots of places that just seemed to drag along. I think this could have really used a harsher editing pass.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    the most imaginative, science accurate series i've ever come across

    words fail me because kim stanley robinson is one of the best writers of our time. his imagination, characters and view of future society is incredible. then icing on the cake and a truly rare thing, he knows his science. not just one discipline but all of them from biology to geology, physics and more. you just don't get any better than this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Just great writing - transcends sci-fi

    The three books in this series represent deep thinking, comprehensive research, and provocative speculation about the near-future based on the concrete present.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Overall I liked the book, but he has a tendency to delve into th

    Overall I liked the book, but he has a tendency to delve into the minute details of every single concept (I don't think he skipped any of them). In some cases I was interested, but mostly I wanted to follow the characters and would get bored trying to slog through very precise talks about string theory, weather, physics, and whatever else he could come up with. I am an avid lifelong reader of at times very complex books, and I struggled to get through this book. It took several months for me to finish this book which has never ever happened in my 36 years. Anyway, like I said it is still a good book in its own way, but would have benefited from a winnowing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    The final phase of the transformation of Mars...

    This is the third and last of the 'Mars' series (Red Mars, Green Mars). The focus of this book is the development of a new culture on Mars in an ever shrinking Solar System, as mankind stretches its colonial reach to other planets and planetesimals. The increasingly growing Earth population is threatening the new Mars society, old thinking against the new, old lifestyles against the new freedoms of life on Mars. Kim Stanley Robinson continues to make the First One Hundred settlers our eyes and ears as we are taken through the development of a new global constitution, the wonders of scientific exploration, the unknowns of extended aging and the limits of memory. The last of these takes us full circle and revisits how it all began in Red Mars, elegantly closing loose threads and bringing this epic story to a satisfying conclusion. The entire series is a must, if long read. Robinson never dumbs down to his readers, instead he requires one to contemplate an onslaught of fascinating scientific information that truly demonstrates the author has done his homework, and that there is so much for us to learn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    Best of the three Best

    Kim Robinson is not for the scientifically faint-of-heart but he does offer an amazing amount of knowledge along with his perfectly understood male and female characters he so adroitly portrays in this third book of the Marc trilogy. I was completely satisfied with the results of several long-term attractions and amazed how intimately he understands female (being a male) motivations - good and bad. If you've read the other two books this one will make you very happy - not going to do a spoiler here but one mystery remains, unless it is in fact alluded to on the very last page, but all ends do get nicely tied up in this book - so very satisfying. I hope Mr. Robinson has added the one mystery he didn't solve in the new book - The Martians - which I will buy next. I HATED to leave Mars when the book was finished but will keep this trilogy on the well-loved and never given away book shelf to be treasured and re-read many, many times in the future. Very, very satisfying and I pretty much wish I was there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    An overly detailed, yet exciting and epic conclusion to the Mars

    An overly detailed, yet exciting and epic conclusion to the Mars trilogy. They should honestly make the Mars trilogy into a movie saga because if they did, the movies would be ground-breaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    I just quit reading

    After dragging myself through the first two books I could not finish this one. Entirely forgetable characters lost in a deluge of words. Loving descriptions of Martian vistas...that go on for pages. In a word: boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great SiFi Trilogy

    Perhaps the best ever?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2