Customer Reviews for

Blue Moon (Immortals Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 2134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1072)

4 Star

(563)

3 Star

(300)

2 Star

(114)

1 Star

(85)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

an outstanding teen fantasy in the tradition of Kelly Armstrong and Stephanie Meyers

Ever and her entire family died in a car cash but the six hundred years old Immortal Damen brought her back to life by making her an Immortal too. They have loved one another for centuries, but each time they get close to each other, his wife Drina kills Ever. She rea...
Ever and her entire family died in a car cash but the six hundred years old Immortal Damen brought her back to life by making her an Immortal too. They have loved one another for centuries, but each time they get close to each other, his wife Drina kills Ever. She reanimates; he finds her; they renew their love and his wife murders her. The cycle seemed endless until now when Ever changes the triangular interrelation dynamics by killing Drina. -----------

A new student enters the night school; Ever instinctively distrusts Roman with his bonhomie and surface good will thoughts. Damen becomes ill and when he recovers he treats Ever as an enemy and a stalker. The student body dissolves their differences and become one group who loathe Ever. She knows somehow Roman is behind the animosity and believes he is an Immortal. As Damen begins to age and die, Ever journeys to Summerland, the dimension between dimensions, seeking a cure for her eternal beloved. There she learns she can go back in time to save her family. As she decides what to do, she vows no matter what she will save Damon and reverse the aging process.-------------

BLUE MOON, the second Immortals saga (see EVERMORE) is an outstanding teen fantasy in the tradition of Kelly Armstrong and Stephanie Meyers. Ever struggles with becoming a pariah at school and cope with Damen's dire health problems and she is a firecracker who intends to obtain the knowledge needed to save her beloved and return the student body back to the normal rivalries and bickering. She has several obstacles to overcome starting with her lack of experience with what to do and no one to turn to that she feels she can trust; adding to her issues is one wrong choice means tragedy.-----------

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on May 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Really?

When I read Evermore, I have to admit that it was not my favorite book. I found the characters contrived, annoying, and completely unlikeable. The story was one we've all heard before: the young undying love of two teenagers with some kind of magical connection who woul...
When I read Evermore, I have to admit that it was not my favorite book. I found the characters contrived, annoying, and completely unlikeable. The story was one we've all heard before: the young undying love of two teenagers with some kind of magical connection who would do anything for each other, blah blah blah. Twilight much?
But, I decided to give Alyson Noel another chance and I read Blue Moon. I was disappointed to find Ever even more annoying and stupid than in the first book. She was often faced, in her opinion, with "only one choice." No, actually, there was always ANOTHER choice, usually the better one. But no, Alyson Noel wanted to set us up for the third book in the series with a whole new set of (unneccessary) problems.
Even though a certain character has been obviously acting dodgy the whole book, Ever trusts them with healing Damen, her one true love? (Who, by the way, goes through a completely unrealistic character change. This is stretching it, even for fiction.) And then another character, who Ever knows from the beginning is bad news, she trusts with saving Damen? Even though we know, THE ENTIRE BOOK, that this character is trying to kill him. I mean really?!?!
Noel's characters are fake, and even though the author mentions again and again Miles and Haven are Ever's BFFs, they often treat her like dirt. And even Damen, who is supposed to be this perfect guy, does some pretty questionable things. Alyson Noel makes him "astonishingly beautiful" thinking that this automatically makes him likeable. Does Ever only love him for his looks? Because that's all she ever talks about.
Don't get me wrong, as a teenage girl, I love all of the romance, and this series had potential to be good. But with so many elements that just aren't up to par, the Immortals Series falls short. But is literature so lacking and contrived these days that an author can't be original? Do we instead have to rely on the formulas we already know work? The rich boarding schools, vampires, and undying teenage love? And what's with the annoying heroines? We could use to smart, strong young women here!
The Immortals Series is a quick read that one should read for fun. There are aspects of the series that I enjoy, but on the other hand, there are aspects that could DEFINATELY be improved. And though my review is mostly negative, I did find the book entertaining through parts, and I did finish it rather quickly. So I recommend this book as long as the reader goes into it only for fun, and not looking for actual substance.

posted by 1587153 on July 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 108
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    Really?

    When I read Evermore, I have to admit that it was not my favorite book. I found the characters contrived, annoying, and completely unlikeable. The story was one we've all heard before: the young undying love of two teenagers with some kind of magical connection who would do anything for each other, blah blah blah. Twilight much?
    But, I decided to give Alyson Noel another chance and I read Blue Moon. I was disappointed to find Ever even more annoying and stupid than in the first book. She was often faced, in her opinion, with "only one choice." No, actually, there was always ANOTHER choice, usually the better one. But no, Alyson Noel wanted to set us up for the third book in the series with a whole new set of (unneccessary) problems.
    Even though a certain character has been obviously acting dodgy the whole book, Ever trusts them with healing Damen, her one true love? (Who, by the way, goes through a completely unrealistic character change. This is stretching it, even for fiction.) And then another character, who Ever knows from the beginning is bad news, she trusts with saving Damen? Even though we know, THE ENTIRE BOOK, that this character is trying to kill him. I mean really?!?!
    Noel's characters are fake, and even though the author mentions again and again Miles and Haven are Ever's BFFs, they often treat her like dirt. And even Damen, who is supposed to be this perfect guy, does some pretty questionable things. Alyson Noel makes him "astonishingly beautiful" thinking that this automatically makes him likeable. Does Ever only love him for his looks? Because that's all she ever talks about.
    Don't get me wrong, as a teenage girl, I love all of the romance, and this series had potential to be good. But with so many elements that just aren't up to par, the Immortals Series falls short. But is literature so lacking and contrived these days that an author can't be original? Do we instead have to rely on the formulas we already know work? The rich boarding schools, vampires, and undying teenage love? And what's with the annoying heroines? We could use to smart, strong young women here!
    The Immortals Series is a quick read that one should read for fun. There are aspects of the series that I enjoy, but on the other hand, there are aspects that could DEFINATELY be improved. And though my review is mostly negative, I did find the book entertaining through parts, and I did finish it rather quickly. So I recommend this book as long as the reader goes into it only for fun, and not looking for actual substance.

    38 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    an outstanding teen fantasy in the tradition of Kelly Armstrong and Stephanie Meyers

    Ever and her entire family died in a car cash but the six hundred years old Immortal Damen brought her back to life by making her an Immortal too. They have loved one another for centuries, but each time they get close to each other, his wife Drina kills Ever. She reanimates; he finds her; they renew their love and his wife murders her. The cycle seemed endless until now when Ever changes the triangular interrelation dynamics by killing Drina. -----------

    A new student enters the night school; Ever instinctively distrusts Roman with his bonhomie and surface good will thoughts. Damen becomes ill and when he recovers he treats Ever as an enemy and a stalker. The student body dissolves their differences and become one group who loathe Ever. She knows somehow Roman is behind the animosity and believes he is an Immortal. As Damen begins to age and die, Ever journeys to Summerland, the dimension between dimensions, seeking a cure for her eternal beloved. There she learns she can go back in time to save her family. As she decides what to do, she vows no matter what she will save Damon and reverse the aging process.-------------

    BLUE MOON, the second Immortals saga (see EVERMORE) is an outstanding teen fantasy in the tradition of Kelly Armstrong and Stephanie Meyers. Ever struggles with becoming a pariah at school and cope with Damen's dire health problems and she is a firecracker who intends to obtain the knowledge needed to save her beloved and return the student body back to the normal rivalries and bickering. She has several obstacles to overcome starting with her lack of experience with what to do and no one to turn to that she feels she can trust; adding to her issues is one wrong choice means tragedy.-----------

    Harriet Klausner

    30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It's even better than the first one in the Immortal Series. It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ugh...spare yourself the price and the time

    Forgive my headline, but I have to be honest. No disrespect to the author but I so detested this pointless and plotless story that I feel compelled to warn other readers. Now don't get me wrong, I really did want to like this book, book one was ok and I had some pretty good hopes for book 2 but I ultimately found the characters to be annoying, the story line lame, and the ending a pointless cliffhanger--there really is no need for a third book. I mean, yes I get the fact that Ever and Damen are no Bella and Edward, but the attempt at the love triangel was lame at best and really pourly executed. I couldn't even bring myself to read the whole thing, I ended up skimming it, and boy am I glad I did. I'm sorry to say that these characters lack complexity that would even merit a series. Spare yourself and find another read.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

    Ever is now an immortal, and she's eager to learn everything - from manifesting objects to visiting the paradise Summerland.

    Things are looking up for Ever and Damen, who can finally be together. But just as Ever finds her power's growing, Damen's starts to fade. He's becoming weak and he's even starting to forget Ever.

    Ever travels to Summerland to save Damen, but while there she discovers she might be able to save her family. Ever must choose which path she'll take and who she'll end up saving.

    I really enjoy sequels, but they make me nervous, especially when I loved the first book as much as I did EVERMORE. But Alyson Noel surpassed all my expectations, and not only is BLUE MOON an amazing sequel - it sets the bar for the rest of this series very, very high! When I reached the last page of this one, all I could say was "wow!"

    There were numerous twists that kept me guessing. Just when I thought I had things figured out, I would get pulled in a new direction, which kept the book fast-paced and full of suspense - I had to keep turning the pages.

    I really liked the addition of Roman and the twins Romy and Rayne that Ever meets in Summerland. They added to the story but still have a lot of mystery surrounding them, so I'm eager to see how the many stories that were weaved together in BLUE MOON will play out.

    Another highly recommended book from Alyson Noel, I can't wait to read more about Ever and Damen. THE IMMORTALS series is one you'll want to get your hands on!

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    My God, What Happended?

    What did happen? The first book was amazing. It pulled you in, and I couldn't stop reading. And then this? This is a disgrace to the series. Repeatitive, horrible. I didn't even finish the book, I couldn't bear to read it any longer.

    Seriously, what happended?

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!!

    THIS BOOK IS THE NEXT IN THE IMMORTAL SERIES AND IT'S REALLY GOOD! YOU CAN RELATE TO EVER ON SOO MANY WAYS WITH THE WHOLE HIGH SCHOOL ORDEAL. THE ONLY DOWN SIDE IS THERES A LACK OF ROMANCE AND THE ENDDING WILL MAKE YOUR HART STOP. YOU NEVER SEE IT COMING. ITS LEFT NEW QUESTIONS TO BE ANSWERED IN THE NEXT BOOK WELL JEST HAVE TO WAIGHT TILL JANUARY 5 OF NEXT YEAR!!!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ughh love these books

    bro stop comparing books to twilight of course i love those books ,but not ever book is about twilight okay i bet this book and others that are compared to twilight came out even before twilight.this series is awesome..!!!its so good... =] im just sayin people dont get med its the truth ...

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    ........why bother with a sequel??????

    I couldn't bring myself to finish it.
    The plot is under developed, the characters are EXTREMELY flat and unbelievable, the setting makes the story line feel so fake.
    There was absolutely no depth. Specially the part where Damen *tries* to tell Ever about her past lives, its just sad. No history, no knowledge, no reference.

    the author used the phrase "and even though...." about 200 times in the first 50 pages.
    it was extremely distracting and i actually was more entertained counting the times she used the phrase.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    Does not worth

    A girl who is still learning to control her powers as an Immortal, teenage Ever Bloom is as in love with the Immortal Damen as he is with her-until he dumps her just before the long-awaited night when they plan to sleep together for the first time. This is just a cheap sell to attract teens. Nothing but selling trick. Does teach anything new.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Alyson is an awesome writer!

    I like evermore better (because Blue Moon broke my heart), but this was still awesome! I cried throughout the book and was sobbing at the end. Needless to say, the book ended up in the freezer for the night. It is so easy to get sucked into the characters in the story. I felt everything Ever was going through. I just hope in Shadowland, Alyson mends my (Ever's) heart. She has a great style to her writing and I'm looking forward to more.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It's not supposed to be Twilight

    ok the book was blane in a sence that it fit the book. it wasn't as detailed as "Twilight" (winy voice) but that what made it its own. so some kid moved to a town and met an immortal and he ended having to save her. here are some differences, she whent through a life tragety, has magical abilities, and saved herself in the end non like bella, so sat there and just died, with no hope. if you were a true reader you would have picked up many books that are like twilight, because lets face it, twilight was a nock off of other books. Just because everybody got real into it doesn't mean it was the only good forbidden love vampire book out there. it was't. this book was good for its own and i can't wait to read the next one, not twilight. get over it.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So-So

    The book was alright. It wasn't the best, it didn't suck either. The ending got me a little irritated, no offense to the author. Other than that, Blue Moon was alright.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as the first

    The first book in the Immortals series was great. You weren't really sure what Damen was. All you knew is that he had lived a Long time. And I loved the red tulips. Unfortunatly, after reading Blue Moon, I think Alyson Noel would have been better off leaving Evermore as a novel, and not creating a series. Blue Moon was very predictable, and it seemed like everything in the middle of the book was all a bunch of unimportant filler information. I was just waiting for the author to reveal what I already knew. I also thought that Summerland lost some of its surreal and mysteriuos appeal. I've started Shadowland and I've heard it's better, but so far I still believe that this series would have been better off as just a novel.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book

    Blue Moon was a really good book, but I think that EVERMORE was way better. What I loved about the book was that you did not expect what was going on the whole time it keeped me thinking what was going to happen next. There were some parts that I wish Ever did not do what she did but that is how the story gose. Overall the book was good but it could have been beter.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is a really good book it has a nice romance and scary theme i think its amazing so you should get it TODAY!!!!!!!!!!¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿!!!!!!!!!!¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿!¿

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    Huge disappointment!!

    I throughly loved Evermore but the storyline in Blue Moon was too drawn out too long and boring. I had to force myself to keep reading. That whole thing with Roman and Ava and Summerland and the weird twins on and on and on...blah! And the ending.... dumb. Ever is sooo stupid! she has no sense at all geez. Any sane person would have listened to the weird twin over Roman. I sure hope the storyline for Shadowland is much better than Blue Moon cause if I have to force read I probably won't make it through the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Such a letdown

    After being really pulled in and loving the characters from Evermore, this book did bring the same thing. It seemed to drag and got really tired of the plot. I stopped reading and don't plan to finish, which is really disapointing because the first one was so good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Left me sad that I wasted my time...

    I enjoyed the first book so I was excited when this came out. Although it had potential to be a good read it fell short. I was annoyed by the flow of the story and the struggle to get to the end which was a good twist, but not enough of one to purchase the third book in this series. There are too many great books out there to waste your time on this one...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Good Part II

    I enjoyed this book more than the first one. The story was better and the little twist toward the end was unexpected, but I did not like the ending. I mean you can see it's a trap and she still doesn't get it. Overall I enjoyed it very much, but the ending could have been better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 108