Customer Reviews for

Blue Moon (Immortals Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 2134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1072)

4 Star

(563)

3 Star

(300)

2 Star

(114)

1 Star

(85)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

an outstanding teen fantasy in the tradition of Kelly Armstrong and Stephanie Meyers

Ever and her entire family died in a car cash but the six hundred years old Immortal Damen brought her back to life by making her an Immortal too. They have loved one another for centuries, but each time they get close to each other, his wife Drina kills Ever. She rea...
Ever and her entire family died in a car cash but the six hundred years old Immortal Damen brought her back to life by making her an Immortal too. They have loved one another for centuries, but each time they get close to each other, his wife Drina kills Ever. She reanimates; he finds her; they renew their love and his wife murders her. The cycle seemed endless until now when Ever changes the triangular interrelation dynamics by killing Drina. -----------

A new student enters the night school; Ever instinctively distrusts Roman with his bonhomie and surface good will thoughts. Damen becomes ill and when he recovers he treats Ever as an enemy and a stalker. The student body dissolves their differences and become one group who loathe Ever. She knows somehow Roman is behind the animosity and believes he is an Immortal. As Damen begins to age and die, Ever journeys to Summerland, the dimension between dimensions, seeking a cure for her eternal beloved. There she learns she can go back in time to save her family. As she decides what to do, she vows no matter what she will save Damon and reverse the aging process.-------------

BLUE MOON, the second Immortals saga (see EVERMORE) is an outstanding teen fantasy in the tradition of Kelly Armstrong and Stephanie Meyers. Ever struggles with becoming a pariah at school and cope with Damen's dire health problems and she is a firecracker who intends to obtain the knowledge needed to save her beloved and return the student body back to the normal rivalries and bickering. She has several obstacles to overcome starting with her lack of experience with what to do and no one to turn to that she feels she can trust; adding to her issues is one wrong choice means tragedy.-----------

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on May 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Really?

When I read Evermore, I have to admit that it was not my favorite book. I found the characters contrived, annoying, and completely unlikeable. The story was one we've all heard before: the young undying love of two teenagers with some kind of magical connection who woul...
When I read Evermore, I have to admit that it was not my favorite book. I found the characters contrived, annoying, and completely unlikeable. The story was one we've all heard before: the young undying love of two teenagers with some kind of magical connection who would do anything for each other, blah blah blah. Twilight much?
But, I decided to give Alyson Noel another chance and I read Blue Moon. I was disappointed to find Ever even more annoying and stupid than in the first book. She was often faced, in her opinion, with "only one choice." No, actually, there was always ANOTHER choice, usually the better one. But no, Alyson Noel wanted to set us up for the third book in the series with a whole new set of (unneccessary) problems.
Even though a certain character has been obviously acting dodgy the whole book, Ever trusts them with healing Damen, her one true love? (Who, by the way, goes through a completely unrealistic character change. This is stretching it, even for fiction.) And then another character, who Ever knows from the beginning is bad news, she trusts with saving Damen? Even though we know, THE ENTIRE BOOK, that this character is trying to kill him. I mean really?!?!
Noel's characters are fake, and even though the author mentions again and again Miles and Haven are Ever's BFFs, they often treat her like dirt. And even Damen, who is supposed to be this perfect guy, does some pretty questionable things. Alyson Noel makes him "astonishingly beautiful" thinking that this automatically makes him likeable. Does Ever only love him for his looks? Because that's all she ever talks about.
Don't get me wrong, as a teenage girl, I love all of the romance, and this series had potential to be good. But with so many elements that just aren't up to par, the Immortals Series falls short. But is literature so lacking and contrived these days that an author can't be original? Do we instead have to rely on the formulas we already know work? The rich boarding schools, vampires, and undying teenage love? And what's with the annoying heroines? We could use to smart, strong young women here!
The Immortals Series is a quick read that one should read for fun. There are aspects of the series that I enjoy, but on the other hand, there are aspects that could DEFINATELY be improved. And though my review is mostly negative, I did find the book entertaining through parts, and I did finish it rather quickly. So I recommend this book as long as the reader goes into it only for fun, and not looking for actual substance.

posted by 1587153 on July 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    Really?

    When I read Evermore, I have to admit that it was not my favorite book. I found the characters contrived, annoying, and completely unlikeable. The story was one we've all heard before: the young undying love of two teenagers with some kind of magical connection who would do anything for each other, blah blah blah. Twilight much?
    But, I decided to give Alyson Noel another chance and I read Blue Moon. I was disappointed to find Ever even more annoying and stupid than in the first book. She was often faced, in her opinion, with "only one choice." No, actually, there was always ANOTHER choice, usually the better one. But no, Alyson Noel wanted to set us up for the third book in the series with a whole new set of (unneccessary) problems.
    Even though a certain character has been obviously acting dodgy the whole book, Ever trusts them with healing Damen, her one true love? (Who, by the way, goes through a completely unrealistic character change. This is stretching it, even for fiction.) And then another character, who Ever knows from the beginning is bad news, she trusts with saving Damen? Even though we know, THE ENTIRE BOOK, that this character is trying to kill him. I mean really?!?!
    Noel's characters are fake, and even though the author mentions again and again Miles and Haven are Ever's BFFs, they often treat her like dirt. And even Damen, who is supposed to be this perfect guy, does some pretty questionable things. Alyson Noel makes him "astonishingly beautiful" thinking that this automatically makes him likeable. Does Ever only love him for his looks? Because that's all she ever talks about.
    Don't get me wrong, as a teenage girl, I love all of the romance, and this series had potential to be good. But with so many elements that just aren't up to par, the Immortals Series falls short. But is literature so lacking and contrived these days that an author can't be original? Do we instead have to rely on the formulas we already know work? The rich boarding schools, vampires, and undying teenage love? And what's with the annoying heroines? We could use to smart, strong young women here!
    The Immortals Series is a quick read that one should read for fun. There are aspects of the series that I enjoy, but on the other hand, there are aspects that could DEFINATELY be improved. And though my review is mostly negative, I did find the book entertaining through parts, and I did finish it rather quickly. So I recommend this book as long as the reader goes into it only for fun, and not looking for actual substance.

    38 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    My God, What Happended?

    What did happen? The first book was amazing. It pulled you in, and I couldn't stop reading. And then this? This is a disgrace to the series. Repeatitive, horrible. I didn't even finish the book, I couldn't bear to read it any longer.

    Seriously, what happended?

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as the first

    The first book in the Immortals series was great. You weren't really sure what Damen was. All you knew is that he had lived a Long time. And I loved the red tulips. Unfortunatly, after reading Blue Moon, I think Alyson Noel would have been better off leaving Evermore as a novel, and not creating a series. Blue Moon was very predictable, and it seemed like everything in the middle of the book was all a bunch of unimportant filler information. I was just waiting for the author to reveal what I already knew. I also thought that Summerland lost some of its surreal and mysteriuos appeal. I've started Shadowland and I've heard it's better, but so far I still believe that this series would have been better off as just a novel.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    recycled twighlight

    this whole series is ridiculous. the story lines and even the titles (evermore./twighlight and blue moone/new moon) are ridiculously similar to the twighlight series. noel needs to come up with some new ideas.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Ash

    ----_______________________=_==_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=_=^_¿¿¿¿_¿{¿_¿_¿^|\`¿\€^`¿\¿¿€?`^¿¿^¿^`\¿¿€\€\¿\~\|¿¿_¿¿#*$:"*#;";-#/$',#(3+4+7-;1@*$7$;';$+2-3*"-;$;() my new language

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    End

    The end is rushed and it is annoying when Damen is mean

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Enough is enough

    After reading Evermore, which I thought was not that great, due to the unsophisticated characters and same as always plot, I decided that I would give Blue Moon a try seeing as the series might get better further along.
    Not the case. Ever is still the same young, dumb, and frustrating main character that angered me, so much so that I cannot bring myself to read Shadowland, coming from someone that can only read paranormal, romance, and fantasy, this series just doesn't cut it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The writer made Ever make the wrong decision just so she could write another book.

    (Spoiler Alert)
    Really...I have to get to the end of the book to find that the main character who has had dead on correct feelings about the antagonist suddenly decides to trust him thus screwing up everything? Honestly it felt like the writer made Ever make the wrong decision just so she could write another book. So now not only are her plots weak but so are her characters. The one strength Ever had was trusting her instincts and sticking to what she knew was right. So I'm supposed to believe she chooses to go back in time to save her family over a future with the love of her life, AND that she trusts the very life of Damen with Roman....seriously? Even after she is warned over and over not to??
    I was hoping Noel's writing would have matured and refined a bit but sadly it has not. Everything interesting happens in the last 50 pages and then Ever turns 360 and ruins everything. At this point I am not even sure I will read Shadowland. Anyone think Shadowland has redeeming qualities and is worth reading??? Let me know!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Made me angry at Ever, but otherwise is good

    This book is great but ugh...why does Ever have to be so dumb at times? This book was "okay" the author does "drag on" the story but I bet it will all be worth it in the end when the final Immortal Series' book come out (who knows when that will be), i can not get enough of Damen he is to die for, it is so sweet how he loves Ever so much, they make a great couple that have excitement all the time. Hopefully they never end! (the series)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No

    Not a good series..i like books that stick with me this did not

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    B

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    wont be finishing the series

    i wasnt impressed at all. Ever made to many stupid decisions and didnt redeem herself at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A let down.

    I read the first book, Evermore, and that book was awesome. So when I picked up Blue Moon I had high expectations. But unfortunatly this book was a huge let down. I had to force myself to get through it. So I don't recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Wish I hadn't

    I spent the money on this book thinking it would be okay. The first one I got into and this one I didn't at all. I was disspoint how the story went and with the main charcters. I was hoping for something more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Failed to Impress

    I thought the first book was pretty decent. I LOVE the main character's name, Ever. However, I do think that the series has too many similaries to Twilight. I was excited about this book, but it failed to impress. Most of the characters show little depth and are extremely frustrating. The story itself is okay, but I found myself happy when it was over, which actually made me quite sad. This book is fine for a quick, fluff read, but I wouldn't recommend if you're looking for a fabulous, invigorating, different story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Second Book Syndrome

    Blue Moon wasn't nearly as good as Evermore-- to me, I could predict everything that was going to happen and what happens throughout the book ruins Ever and Damen's love, for me. And I wasn't very satisfied with the ending-- it made me think of Ever as extremely stupid and gullible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    Great story, great characters

    Falls along with most others of this genre, I would rank it slightly above average.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked it better then the first but still had issues with it....

    The beginning of this novel i felt was extremly chessy such as I never been more in love with him then i am now" blah. But, then i got surprised because it started getting good. However, i thought Alyson took some things from Libba Bray and Stephenie Meyer. What she took from libba bray in the gemma doyle trilogy is the realms aka the shadowland in this book. What she took from stephenie meyer is the fact that damon killed Drina, Roman Drina secret lover wants to kill damon for revenge same as victoria on Twilight. All though i dislike twilight i still felt it was copying from that. But overall it had it's good points i think it lost of star do to those three things i listed that i had a problem with overall though pretty good read and i can't wait for shadowland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    HUGE LET DOWN

    To be quite honest with you this book was a huge let down. Evermore was really good, I'll admit. But, Blue Moon was a HUGE blow. The only reason I got past the first 10 pages was because I HAD read Evermore and once I start reading a series i have to finish it. if you haven't read Evermore yet, don't. Or if you did and didn't like Evermore don't waist your time and money on Blue Moon, it was worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6