Customer Reviews for

Blue Moon (Immortals Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 2133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1072)

4 Star

(562)

3 Star

(300)

2 Star

(114)

1 Star

(85)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

an outstanding teen fantasy in the tradition of Kelly Armstrong and Stephanie Meyers

Ever and her entire family died in a car cash but the six hundred years old Immortal Damen brought her back to life by making her an Immortal too. They have loved one another for centuries, but each time they get close to each other, his wife Drina kills Ever. She rea...
Ever and her entire family died in a car cash but the six hundred years old Immortal Damen brought her back to life by making her an Immortal too. They have loved one another for centuries, but each time they get close to each other, his wife Drina kills Ever. She reanimates; he finds her; they renew their love and his wife murders her. The cycle seemed endless until now when Ever changes the triangular interrelation dynamics by killing Drina. -----------

A new student enters the night school; Ever instinctively distrusts Roman with his bonhomie and surface good will thoughts. Damen becomes ill and when he recovers he treats Ever as an enemy and a stalker. The student body dissolves their differences and become one group who loathe Ever. She knows somehow Roman is behind the animosity and believes he is an Immortal. As Damen begins to age and die, Ever journeys to Summerland, the dimension between dimensions, seeking a cure for her eternal beloved. There she learns she can go back in time to save her family. As she decides what to do, she vows no matter what she will save Damon and reverse the aging process.-------------

BLUE MOON, the second Immortals saga (see EVERMORE) is an outstanding teen fantasy in the tradition of Kelly Armstrong and Stephanie Meyers. Ever struggles with becoming a pariah at school and cope with Damen's dire health problems and she is a firecracker who intends to obtain the knowledge needed to save her beloved and return the student body back to the normal rivalries and bickering. She has several obstacles to overcome starting with her lack of experience with what to do and no one to turn to that she feels she can trust; adding to her issues is one wrong choice means tragedy.-----------

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on May 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Really?

When I read Evermore, I have to admit that it was not my favorite book. I found the characters contrived, annoying, and completely unlikeable. The story was one we've all heard before: the young undying love of two teenagers with some kind of magical connection who woul...
When I read Evermore, I have to admit that it was not my favorite book. I found the characters contrived, annoying, and completely unlikeable. The story was one we've all heard before: the young undying love of two teenagers with some kind of magical connection who would do anything for each other, blah blah blah. Twilight much?
But, I decided to give Alyson Noel another chance and I read Blue Moon. I was disappointed to find Ever even more annoying and stupid than in the first book. She was often faced, in her opinion, with "only one choice." No, actually, there was always ANOTHER choice, usually the better one. But no, Alyson Noel wanted to set us up for the third book in the series with a whole new set of (unneccessary) problems.
Even though a certain character has been obviously acting dodgy the whole book, Ever trusts them with healing Damen, her one true love? (Who, by the way, goes through a completely unrealistic character change. This is stretching it, even for fiction.) And then another character, who Ever knows from the beginning is bad news, she trusts with saving Damen? Even though we know, THE ENTIRE BOOK, that this character is trying to kill him. I mean really?!?!
Noel's characters are fake, and even though the author mentions again and again Miles and Haven are Ever's BFFs, they often treat her like dirt. And even Damen, who is supposed to be this perfect guy, does some pretty questionable things. Alyson Noel makes him "astonishingly beautiful" thinking that this automatically makes him likeable. Does Ever only love him for his looks? Because that's all she ever talks about.
Don't get me wrong, as a teenage girl, I love all of the romance, and this series had potential to be good. But with so many elements that just aren't up to par, the Immortals Series falls short. But is literature so lacking and contrived these days that an author can't be original? Do we instead have to rely on the formulas we already know work? The rich boarding schools, vampires, and undying teenage love? And what's with the annoying heroines? We could use to smart, strong young women here!
The Immortals Series is a quick read that one should read for fun. There are aspects of the series that I enjoy, but on the other hand, there are aspects that could DEFINATELY be improved. And though my review is mostly negative, I did find the book entertaining through parts, and I did finish it rather quickly. So I recommend this book as long as the reader goes into it only for fun, and not looking for actual substance.

posted by 1587153 on July 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1072 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 54
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    an outstanding teen fantasy in the tradition of Kelly Armstrong and Stephanie Meyers

    Ever and her entire family died in a car cash but the six hundred years old Immortal Damen brought her back to life by making her an Immortal too. They have loved one another for centuries, but each time they get close to each other, his wife Drina kills Ever. She reanimates; he finds her; they renew their love and his wife murders her. The cycle seemed endless until now when Ever changes the triangular interrelation dynamics by killing Drina. -----------

    A new student enters the night school; Ever instinctively distrusts Roman with his bonhomie and surface good will thoughts. Damen becomes ill and when he recovers he treats Ever as an enemy and a stalker. The student body dissolves their differences and become one group who loathe Ever. She knows somehow Roman is behind the animosity and believes he is an Immortal. As Damen begins to age and die, Ever journeys to Summerland, the dimension between dimensions, seeking a cure for her eternal beloved. There she learns she can go back in time to save her family. As she decides what to do, she vows no matter what she will save Damon and reverse the aging process.-------------

    BLUE MOON, the second Immortals saga (see EVERMORE) is an outstanding teen fantasy in the tradition of Kelly Armstrong and Stephanie Meyers. Ever struggles with becoming a pariah at school and cope with Damen's dire health problems and she is a firecracker who intends to obtain the knowledge needed to save her beloved and return the student body back to the normal rivalries and bickering. She has several obstacles to overcome starting with her lack of experience with what to do and no one to turn to that she feels she can trust; adding to her issues is one wrong choice means tragedy.-----------

    Harriet Klausner

    30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It's even better than the first one in the Immortal Series. It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

    Ever is now an immortal, and she's eager to learn everything - from manifesting objects to visiting the paradise Summerland.

    Things are looking up for Ever and Damen, who can finally be together. But just as Ever finds her power's growing, Damen's starts to fade. He's becoming weak and he's even starting to forget Ever.

    Ever travels to Summerland to save Damen, but while there she discovers she might be able to save her family. Ever must choose which path she'll take and who she'll end up saving.

    I really enjoy sequels, but they make me nervous, especially when I loved the first book as much as I did EVERMORE. But Alyson Noel surpassed all my expectations, and not only is BLUE MOON an amazing sequel - it sets the bar for the rest of this series very, very high! When I reached the last page of this one, all I could say was "wow!"

    There were numerous twists that kept me guessing. Just when I thought I had things figured out, I would get pulled in a new direction, which kept the book fast-paced and full of suspense - I had to keep turning the pages.

    I really liked the addition of Roman and the twins Romy and Rayne that Ever meets in Summerland. They added to the story but still have a lot of mystery surrounding them, so I'm eager to see how the many stories that were weaved together in BLUE MOON will play out.

    Another highly recommended book from Alyson Noel, I can't wait to read more about Ever and Damen. THE IMMORTALS series is one you'll want to get your hands on!

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!!

    THIS BOOK IS THE NEXT IN THE IMMORTAL SERIES AND IT'S REALLY GOOD! YOU CAN RELATE TO EVER ON SOO MANY WAYS WITH THE WHOLE HIGH SCHOOL ORDEAL. THE ONLY DOWN SIDE IS THERES A LACK OF ROMANCE AND THE ENDDING WILL MAKE YOUR HART STOP. YOU NEVER SEE IT COMING. ITS LEFT NEW QUESTIONS TO BE ANSWERED IN THE NEXT BOOK WELL JEST HAVE TO WAIGHT TILL JANUARY 5 OF NEXT YEAR!!!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ughh love these books

    bro stop comparing books to twilight of course i love those books ,but not ever book is about twilight okay i bet this book and others that are compared to twilight came out even before twilight.this series is awesome..!!!its so good... =] im just sayin people dont get med its the truth ...

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is a really good book it has a nice romance and scary theme i think its amazing so you should get it TODAY!!!!!!!!!!¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿!!!!!!!!!!¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿!¿

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    THIS SERIES.

    Blows my mind, my FAVORITE SERIES, and ive read twilight. i was SUPER frustrated with the ending though. because it just left me there. hungry for more. I threw it against the wall when i realized the next one doesnt come out till FEBRUARY. so upsetting, thats too long to wait. I RECOMEND THIS. but read the first one before reading this:P

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    So good!

    I was so excited when Blue Moon came out. I have been waiting for it for months. This book was such a good read and not very challenging- good for summer. The first book Evermore was good, but this book had a lot more unexpected events that happened. The antagonist(s) in the book really make wanna punch them or something or knock some sense into Ever. The title sounds like Twilight's "New Moon" but when reading this book the title "Blue Moon" is just so fitting. Allyson Noel's writing can captivate a reader, just read some of her other books and give the Immortals series a chance. A lot of other books are like Twilight... duh it's a romance fantasy series... don't compare them because a lot of other books I have read are like the Twilight book, and yet different because of the author. Read this and if you haven't read Evermore yet, read that first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    jaw dropping

    Just when I think I know what's going to happen next there's a twist. This book kept me on edge the entire time I was reading it. In the book you learn more about the characters and find out who they really are. You realize just how much Ever really loves Damen. But it was the ending that truely took my breath away I almost started crying on the plane. I can not wait till the next book, because the ending was so suspenseful

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Amazing

    A great, must read series. Defently recommend reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love gone wrong!

    This book does not have a happy ending. If you only read books with them, this is not for you. Being immortal means nothing can go wrong right?
    wrong! Blue Moon is the second book in the series which means you have to read the first one and the third one Shadowland. Let me tell you, the plot is fantastic and the characters well developed. Everyone becomes opposite of themselves and things become just icky. Anyway read the book cause it's a good one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME BOOK!!!

    Really good! I cannot wait to buy the next one!!! I read it in one day, I could not put it down!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The ending wasn't quite what I expected but still a great read!

    Blue moon was a good follow up to Evermore. Ever and Damen are finally together and things are great until a mysterious "illness" makes Damen turn away from Ever. Not only does she loose Damen but her best friends abandon her as well. Ever is determined to save Damen and set things back the way they were..but will that mean she has to go back to before the accident that killed her family? I really liked this book. I even cried at a few parts involving her sister...I won't give it away. The ending is not what I would have hoped for but I will be starting Shadowland later this week. I would recommend this book to anyone who has read the first book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put this book down!

    I love it. She makes you anxious to finish the book. I didn't want to put it down and ended up reading it in less than a day.. only disappointed because I now have to wait until Feb for the next one to come out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC!

    I absolutely loved this book. I couldn't put it down. There are no words to describe how truly great it is. The whole book was nothing but twists and turns, it left me wanting for more! I can't wait until the next installment!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    Just read it, i know you will like it if you like adnormal. Trust Me! If you like things that make you curious and maybe a little confused.If you love romance and thrillers then you have to read this book because it is all that stuff. Will Ever Bloom pick the guy of her dreams or will she save her family from the accident that claimed their lifes. You will see if you read it, what she pick shocked me and want the next book called the Shadowlands. So have fun!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    likee it...lovee it :]

    This bookk was a semi great onee for mee. it was a littlee bit slow in thee beginingg for mee but it definatelyy got better towards thee endd. i havee to admit tht evermore was better, but this onee deserves its credit too. the endingg hadd mee madd and upset but thts wat a great bookk does to yu right? if a bookk is really great, then yu get emotionallyy attachedd. buy this bookk yu wnt regret it :]

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    !WOW!

    this book is seriously good
    its one of the best i've ever read!
    once i started reading it i couldnt put it down
    if you loved the first one Evermore then you will love this one too!
    also any Twilight fans this is a good book to read if you loved the Twilight Saga!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    blue moon

    great book. ever must choose between damen and her family. Ava and creepy twins help her in Summerland. theres a new boy at school. ever's powers get stronger.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One Of The BEST!!!!

    This book is sooooo amazing. I got it when it came out on July 7th and finished it today (July 11th). I found that when I wasn't reading, I was trying to anticipate what was coming next. I could really understand and relate to the book. As I was reading, I felt like I was right on the sidelines watching Ever make her every move. I have to say that it MIGHT even be better than Meyer's 'Twilight Series'! I can't wait to read more of Noel's books. I have to recommend this book to EVERYONE. I have to recommend the Immortal's Series to EVERYONE. Thank you Alyson Noel for such a spectacular book! I can hardly wait for 'shadowland'!

    Keep Reading Everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1072 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 54