Customer Reviews for

Blue Moon (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 895 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(566)

4 Star

(212)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 902 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Still reading one by one...

    I was introduced to these books by a friend. I didnt expect to enjoy them as much as I do since I dont usually like mysteries.
    These books combine a vampire base line with a touch mystery,suspense and the occassional lightheartedness. My fiancee catches me laughing as I read. There are strong, unusual love interest topics. Personally, I dont recommend these books to young readers. These parts are not the typical love scenes. However some adults will enjoy these unusual twists.
    I can't put the book down as they get better and better. I also enjoy that each book provides a different mystery and the story of each book is connected so you dont lose track. This being said, you must read the books in order. I realized as I continued reading that there are some similarities to other stories Ive read. I was slightly disappointed but overall, They are great stories and I plan to continue reading them all. They are easy reading and are not boring.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    Highly Recommend this series

    I love this series, it has it all suspense and humor with a little romance and for once the woman is the hero:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best of the series so far

    I picked up the Anita Blake series a few months ago and have greatly enjoyed them all, but Blue Moon is by far the best that I have read so far. The story line and characters are incredible! Laurell Hamilton takes you to a place that is so captivating and entertaining it's hard to put the book down. Richard and Anita's dynamic is great...very fun and sexual. Anita's relationship with all the characters in this book is just plain fun. I highly recommend this book and series. I'm currently on the 10th book and am still greatly enjoying them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2003

    Character Rich

    The entire book was written as if the main character of the story was talking directly to the reader. The conversational tone of the piece makes explanations and bits of history easy to take it. It is funny, conversational, full of well defined characters who own their personalities and lots of creatures and the occational gore...well, maybe a little more than occational gore. There is a lot of feelings to work through, a love triangle that's not your everyday thing and a lot of physical contact, both sexual and otherwise...It's a great read. I especially love her special brand of sarcasm. Enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    LOVE this series by Ms Hamilton.

    Just good reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    LOVE IT!

    I love this book! Im reading Obsidian Butterfly right now and enjoy every second of it but this book did it for me! I love the fact that she finally accepts Richard so he can stop pouting like a baby, but i HATE it because she NEEDS to be with Jean-Claude!! I am in LOVE with him! And then theres Asher, Damian, and all the rest to come...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Love strong females!

    Not only a great book but a great series! And a fabulous author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Fantastic

    Whole series is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Anita Blake hands down is one of my more favorite female charact

    Anita Blake hands down is one of my more favorite female characters in a book series. What really keeps me motivated to continue reading this series (which is 22 books long! :P) is the fact that Anita's character is developing. You can see the changes that have been made from book one. This helps creates a realistic feel and keeps myself interested.

    Of course with a series this long, there are bound to be books you love and books that are eh. Blue Moon was one of those eh books for me. While I really did enjoy the ending of the book because it got really intense, overall for me the story was okay. I am also biased in the fact I do not care for Richards character all that much in comparison to Jean-Claude. Blue Moon is centered around Richard and Anita and barely involved Jean-Claude within the story.

    What I did enjoy in this story was finding out some "dirty laundry" about Jean-Claude that you always suspected was there, but was never confirmed. As much as i love Jean-Claude I always wondered what his alternative motives might have been. In Blue Moon, some of his story begins to unravel.

    The last part I enjoyed about this story, was the fact that Anita is beginning to accept her powers more and that she can have powers and keep her faith pure. I hope Marianne's character returns in the later books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Just a good read

    What I like about Hamilton's series is she's not afraid to give me a long book. She doesn't overly draw them out but there are meat and potatoes. She twists a wonderful tale with dragging evrything out. Her books are just a nice delicious read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Guthix

    *he walks over to a shrine of artemis and kneels on one knee. He places something under the shrine then leaves*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Celia

    *unpacks things as ham flies around her head*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    ARTEMIS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    love the series the second time around

    Book 8 is the halfway mark for me with this series and I am reading them for the second time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Love it couldn't put it down

    I love this series. I couldn't put it down. Would highly recommend!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    GREAT READ!

    All I have to say is, I love her books! This is a great series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    By far one of my favorites in the series!!!!

    By far one of my favorite in the series!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Amazing

    Laurell Hamilton does it again with another wonderful addition to the Anita Blake series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Hated it

    I really enjoyed reading this series until this book. There is too much detail regarding apparel & sex while too little detail is given to the characters and story line. The story climax and ending were rushed and just plain silly. I will read one more in the series in hopes this one was a fluke - very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 902 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46