Customer Reviews for

Blue Moon Promise

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Another fabulous story from a seasoned author!

Colleen Coble has always been a wonderfully talented author with her ability to take romance, Godly messages, and fabulous characters and mix them all with a bit of suspense. Her stories capture the hearts of readers instantly and before you realize, you're at the end o...
Colleen Coble has always been a wonderfully talented author with her ability to take romance, Godly messages, and fabulous characters and mix them all with a bit of suspense. Her stories capture the hearts of readers instantly and before you realize, you're at the end of another fabulous novel. Blue Moon Promise is one of those amazingly written novels filled with a powerful plot line and intriguing suspenseful elements. A story filled with hope, honor, trust and second chances, this book takes the reader on a whirlwind of emotions. Lucy Marsh is left to raise her young siblings, Jed and Eileen, after her father was found murdered. Their mother was gone, and their step mother...well let's just say that she didn't stay around long. So, when she's forced to make a decision of an arranged marriage by her father's friend, or risk being evicted from the home she lives in, she sets off to meet her new husband. Nate Stanton is not only shocked to find his father has brought him a wife, but also that she comes as a packaged deal: her siblings. Knowing that he could never love her, he is reluctant to jump into the marriage. But, when trouble arises for Lucy and her siblings, and Nate's father falls ill, he agrees to the marriage. As each new page turn brings another twist here, and events happen through the book that pushes the turns of the story to the center of the readers heart, you'll be swept away on a head-spinning ride, as Lucy and Nate realize that love and faith in God can over come any circumstance, good or bad. I truly enjoyed this historical 5 Book worthy novel from this seasoned author. Ms. Coble always has a way with her writing that touches the readers deep in their soul. I highly recommend this novel to everyone and I can't wait for another book in this series to release. I loved all the characters in this novel and can't wait for the trip back to Texas to visit with my new friends once again! This review originated at Reviews By Molly in part with a blog tour.

posted by MollyzReviewz on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lovely story!

Normally if Colleen Coble writes it, I purchase it! Once again she has produced a well written story that has just enough twists and turns to make the plot interesting. Full bodied characters and interesting relationships make this story come alive.

posted by misspeggy on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Blue Moon Promise

    Blue Moon Promise by Colleen Coble is a very inspiring read. I couldn't help but admire the heroine's determination and strength in trying to keep her family together. At some point, I would have thought that she will break down and give up, but she did not, and that, is very admirable.

    I did not like the hero in the beginning, but I wrmed up to him when he finally accepts his responsibiliy instead of finding his way out of it. You see, I like men whoare responsible and is protective of his wife and his family instead of an undependable one.

    Overall, I enjoyed reading this book, and I would recommend this book to those who enjoys a good, inspiring read. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    Sometimes historical or motivational novels can be terribly rigi

    Sometimes historical or motivational novels can be terribly rigid and dry. Not this one! This is a very sweet and fast paced novel that I personally enjoyed immensely. It's my first time reading one of Colleen Coble's works and I will certainly be picking up many more in the future if they're as good as this one was. I espechially loved the humor of the spiders and sweetness of how Nate decided to deal with them for his wife's sake. I can't stand those suckers either!!! Where can I get myself a sweet handsome rancher to get rid of those for me? Well, till I find one I'll definitely be keeping this novel on my bookshelf!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Awesome!

    Great read! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Great book

    Another great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    BLUE MOON PROMISE by Colleen Coble is an exciting christian west

    BLUE MOON PROMISE by Colleen Coble is an exciting christian western historical romance set in Wichita Falls,Texas. It is book 1 in the new “Under Texas Stars” series. It is the story of Lucy Marsh,a young lady who is running out of time until a visitor offers her a way out,a proposition of marriage to his eldest son,Nate. And Nate Stanton,who is thrown off guard when his father arrives home with a new wife for Nate,and her two siblings. “Blue Moon Promise” has secrets,murder,hope,faith,love,romance,suspense, danger, with a historical tale of old Texas,the men who claimed her land,and the women who loves them. A fast paced,adventure filled story that will have on turning pages from the first page to the last. As the characters engage your mine,heart and sour. The plot is full of twists and turns. Together,Lucy and Nate must learn each other,care for two young children,stop a manage a ranch,run a cattle drive,and fight their growing attraction to become true man and wife in every way.When you pick up a Colleen Coble book you know you will be taken back in time to a delicious Texas read. A must read for anyone who enjoys reading about faith,christian,historical,romance,western,and living under the Texas Stars. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at Thomas Nelson,the author’s website,and My Book Addiction and More.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: SWEET

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR,My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Blue Moon Promise, the first book in the historical Under Texas

    Blue Moon Promise, the first book in the historical Under Texas Stars series, is sure to please those who enjoy a good marriage of convenience story.

    This story grabbed me from the fist page and continued to wrap me into the "fictive dream". It's been a long time since I've felt so deeply engrossed in a story. The writing style, plot, and characters are so well done that it truly transports you from your own life and into the story.

    This story has a fair amount of romance and suspense to please those who devour romance and those who enjoy Colleen Coble's contemporary suspense novels.

    Talk about a well-written romance! I could feel my heart pounding from my chest at times!

    The one draw back to this story, for me personally, was the over-execution of the spiritual element. I loved the spiritual message completely, yet the way it arose in dialogue seemed a bit fakey to me. The heroine seemed to be very aware of her own weakness after the initial conversation regarding her problem. Two or three more discussions on it just felt a bit over done. I wouldn't let that discourage you though, because while it's over done, it's not heavy and overbearing, and it never hinders the story or brings it to halt.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Blue Moon Promise. I can't wait to see what Collen Coble has in store for us next.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson publishers via Booknseeze in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    Lucy has a lot on her plate, considering her fathers' recent dea

    Lucy has a lot on her plate, considering her fathers' recent death and having to raise her sibling by herself. When someone steals from her father's pawn shop, she knows something has to change. A sudden change happens when Lucy opens her door to a...marriage proposal from a well-meaning father of the groom. Lucy can't think of any solid reason to say no and agrees, especially if it helps her siblings. However, the new groom didn't quite get the plan...he isn't too happy about his new bride and doesn't think she can handle ranch life. How will resourceful Lucy cope with this situation?



    Lucy's character is easy to like. She is brave and strong even when everything seems to be falling around her. The reader will love how her intentions are always good. Nate, though grumpy at times, is actually pretty likable. He works for everything he owns and measures his successes carefully. The other characters fit perfectly in to the plot of this novel, the reader will enjoy getting to know them as well.



    The reader will love reading through this book to discover how Nate and Lucy end up-will they get along or call it quits? The reader will love that it isn't "instant love," but a growing relationship with its ups and downs. This book is recommended to adult readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Determination wins

    A wonderful book to read if you happen to feel that the world is against you. The main theme of this story is love, faith, hope and courage and we are constantly reminded to persevere and not give up in this story. I just love the heroine's character. The things that she did was truly admirable, and of course, if you're a fan of sweet, subtle romance, this book will tickle you fancy too. There's some romance and a little bit of courtship in this book.Highly recommended to people who enjoy an inspirational read. I rate this book 4 out of 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Action and Intrigue!

    I’ve read a handful of Colleen Coble’s books, and enjoyed them all, so I was glad for the opportunity to read and review Blue Moon Promise. Coble’s books contain an element of mystery – and this one is no different. Ms. Coble artfully draws the reader into the conundrum that Lucy tries to unravel after her father’s death. I could relate to Lucy – her need to control every facet of her life reminds me of myself sometimes. I appreciate the truths that surfaced through the book’s characters and events. Real, relatable, characters and an interesting plot take the reader on a rich journey that can reveal a lot about life and relationships with God and each other. Ms. Coble is a wonderful and engaging storyteller. This is the first in the Under Texas Stars series, and I am looking forward to reading the next book when it is released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Liked it!

    Lucy is trying to keep her family together after her dad died and her stepmom ran off. In one evening she loses her job, finds out she is being evicted from her home in 7 days and receives a by proxy marriage proposal and hours after that someone tries to break into her house! To keep her family safe she decides to except the marriage offer and packs herself and two younger siblings up and heads for Texas to meet her new husband.

    Jed is none to happy when he finds out that his father has found him a bride with out his consent and at first works hard to make Lucy want to leave but he soon finds himself admiring her and wanting to make the marriage work. Soon Jeb and Lucy face danger that has followed her to Texas. Will Lucy and Jeb find love under the Blue Moon?

    This is the first book in a new series by Colleen Coble and I really enjoyed it.

    What I liked: I really liked the characters. Both Lucy and Jeb where likeable. Lucy struggled with trying to be the best wife so Jeb would keep her and Jeb struggled with learning to be a husband and showing his feelings. I have read a few books dealing with proxy marriages but this is the first one where one of the two did not know they where getting married so this added a little humor to the story. I also liked the kids and how they fit into the story. There was just enough suspense to keep things interesting and even some surprises that made this book a good read.

    What I did not like: I don’t want to give to much away from the story line but the part with Jeb’s dad and how he played into the ending was not as good as I had hoped and I felt there was no real closer for that part of the story. There is also a lady who Jeb had thought about marring before Lucy showed up and I am hoping she might get her story told in this series at some point.

    Over all I really liked this book and am looking forward to the other books in this series. I have read a few books by this author before and this is my favorite so far. I would recommend adding it to your reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1