BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Blue Nowhere

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another 5 stars for Deaver

    Fantastically written and scary look into the deceptive world of the computer criminal gone mad. I didn't want to put this book down and finished it in just a couple of days. Interesting characters, false leads, and surprising turns places this "could-be real" story in the must-read category. Even if you aren't computer-savvy, just seeing today's news will have you believing the plot. Amazing writing by Deaver. The binary chapter numbers was a nice touch too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    One of my Favorites by Jeffrey Deaver!

    This is a really fascinating novel; I've never read anything quite like it before. Deaver is incredibly knowledgable and really knows how to spin a tale. I just love his writing style. I also really liked his novels featuring Kathryn Dance, as kinesics is a fascinating subject. I've read all the Lincoln Ryhme/Amelia Sachs novels in order and loved every one of them. I saw the movie The Bone Collector years ago and didn't like it so when a friend borrowed me the book, I was skeptical. I ended up loving it and every book in the series! There are only a few novelists whose books I must buy in hardcover as soon as they are released; Jeffrey Deaver is one of those novelists. You may also like: The Jack Reacher series by Lee Child, the newer books of Ruth Rendell, and anything by Barbara Vine.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Jeffery still has the touch

    I love this writer--his plot twists are amazing and make his stories hard to put down. This one was full of computerese (is there such a term?) but this was not off-putting. Hard one to put down...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    One of my favorites

    Excellent author and story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Loved this book!

    If you are a gamer or computer geek, this is just too good to pass up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    An excellent read

    Jeffery Deaver in this book, writes the way a book ought to be written. This is an excellent read for me and I enjoyed it.

    It involves cyberspace, or the usage of the internet for mystery and for murder.

    It was a totally absorbing read, one that would be good to read again.

    J. Robert Ewbank author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    Great Book!

    "The Blue Nowhere" was the first Deaver book I read and the one that got me hooked on his other books. The pace was relentless and I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    A Great Read

    I rarely read murder mystery novels so it took me a long time to finally pick up this book and read it. I was amazed at how fast I was sucked into this book! It's one of those stories that keeps you guessing at every chapter. It was very suspenseful and intelligent. This is the first book I've read by Jeffrey Deaver and now I definintely want to read more. If I could compare this book to another book I've read it would be Angels and Demons - just replace all the scientific and religious words with computer terms. I think people who are really into computers would appreciate this book. Even if you don't know much about computers you would still enjoy it because there's a glossary in the book listing the definitions to all the computer lingo. I recommend this to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    This is one of the best crime thrillers I have ever read!

    This is one of the best crime thrillers I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Fun and so retro

    I enjoyed this book. The murder mystery part keeps the story moving. What provided me the most entertainment while reading was how out of date it was. I know for its time it was so advanced but now we are so much further advanced. I just giggle at it. It reminds me of watching the movie the Net with sandra Bullock. Fun, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    You may never look at your commputer the same way

    My sister told me to read this book. ane I was so glad I did. I read it on my NOOK. From the time it was downloaded I could not stop reading it. I'm sure there are tech. type gaps and errors, but for me it was fascinating reading and full of suspense, surprises and great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Go back to writing Lincoln Rhyme novels, Mr. Deaver...

    It's definitely what you do best. <BR/><BR/>As with "The Devil's Teardrop", there are incredible gaps in the plot - and unlike "Teardrop", in some cases Deaver doesn't explain what happened during these gaps or refer back to them in any way. <BR/><BR/>But what he does cover in "The Blue Nowhere" is a rollicking good read nevertheless, not to mention frightening - and this book is definitely worth recommending. <BR/><BR/>Deaver does need to go back over his notes in "how to write a mystery novel", though - his Lincoln Rhyme novels are proof that he knows how to do it, but so far his non-Rhyme stories look like they were written by a completely different, completely amateurish person masquerading as Jeffery Deaver. Social engineering, perhaps?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    Disappointing

    OK, I'm not jaded, but I know quite a bit about computers and the web, and the premise of this book just didn't stand up. I would have liked to see less time spent on giving computer definitions and more time spent on character and plot development, rather than just some 'surprises' at the end. Too bad, because I read all the Lincoln Rhyme books and was expecting more from this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    Amazing!

    I love Jeffery Deaver, and this book kept me just as riveted as his others have. I couldn't put the book down from the time I picked it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2004

    Exciting read...

    My knowledge of computers and what can actually be done with them is limited. Therefore, I'm not sure the events of this book are plausible or not. Regardless, it is a real fun book to read. The characters were easy to imagine and the plot shifts kept it interesting. I'd recommend this book to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Not Even Words

    This piece of lit is one of the best techno thrillers of all time. I was lost for words when I read it, I started slow but then flew through it. I actually put down a Harry Potter book down and decided to finish this one first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2003

    Terrific plot

    This is Jeffery Deaver¿s first venture into a cyberthriller and he does a pretty good job. The strength of the novel is its plot: a no-holds-barred contest between two hackers. Wyatt Gillette is doing time for a few minor computer crimes when he is offered a temporary reprieve if he helps the state police track down a murderous cracker called Phate. The plot takes one turn after another, building suspense as Phate searches for new victims and Gillette tries to stop him. Why is Phate committing these murders? Who is his partner? Who¿s the traitor within the police? Is Gillette really a good guy? Plenty of mystery and suspense to keep you turning the pages. Although the plot is terrific, the story has a couple of weak points. Deaver is not a computer pro and it shows. Although many of the inaccuracies are minor ¿ only a technically sophisticated person would notice ¿ some of them were really ridiculous (Gillette¿s fingertips are so strong from fingertip pushups that they crush keyboards during coding sessions). Another problem is that Phate turns out to be a stock character ¿ I won¿t give away the details, but you could probably put together a description without reading the novel. It¿s too bad because he starts out as an interesting, mysterious adversary. Still, the Blue Nowhere is a good thriller, well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Wow.

    I read... a lot... and The Blue Nowhere is one of the best books I've read. It's original and interesting, full of twists. There aren't enough hacker stories out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    The Best Ever

    I read this book after my friend told me about it. I thought it was a great book. I recommend it to everyone (Especially the computer wizards).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2003

    A Little Light Suspense

    While not quite as chilling as some of Deaver's other novels (The Bone Collector leaps to mind), The Blue Nowhere is worth the read. There's a lot of information, a little science fiction, and a whole cast of completely developed characters. Even the minor characters are believable. One of my favorite things about Deaver, and this book is no exception, is his almost magical ability to make EVERY character believable, and still hold back just enough information to keep the reader guessing until the end of the book. My only real criticism is that he is a little heavy with his use of 'near misses' with the killer (I can't go into any more detail without giving things away). Once again, Deaver has successfully penned a little literary treat for the intelligent mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4