Customer Reviews for

The Blue Nowhere

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2003

    A Little Light Suspense

    While not quite as chilling as some of Deaver's other novels (The Bone Collector leaps to mind), The Blue Nowhere is worth the read. There's a lot of information, a little science fiction, and a whole cast of completely developed characters. Even the minor characters are believable. One of my favorite things about Deaver, and this book is no exception, is his almost magical ability to make EVERY character believable, and still hold back just enough information to keep the reader guessing until the end of the book. My only real criticism is that he is a little heavy with his use of 'near misses' with the killer (I can't go into any more detail without giving things away). Once again, Deaver has successfully penned a little literary treat for the intelligent mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    Great Book

    Did do you know that a computer hackers can change a person¿s identity, manipulate everyday situations, and even murder someone while they are sitting behind a computer? The Blue Nowhere is a wonderful book written by Jeffery Deaver that encompasses the growing threat of computer related crimes. I highly recommend that you read this book, especially if you like murder mysteries, because the book was so entertaining to read with its exhilarating plot, diverse characters and light reading format. The story itself and its characters deliver a realistically scary perspective on what an elite computer hacker can do in the information age. The book¿s story is presented in a 3rd person omnificent perspective set in current day Silicon Valley, the computer Mecca of the world. The conflict begins with the antagonist of the book, Phate (computer name), begins to murder people using his computer. Phate is an elite hacker, one of the best in the world who has lost touch with reality. The ¿blue nowhere¿ refers to the Internet and how it is everywhere yet nowhere. Officer Wyatt Gillette is in charge of the electronic crimes division for the Silicon Valley Police Department and is assigned to the murder case after the lead detective established that computers were evolved. Quickly Gillette figures out what Phate is doing but is fearfully intrigued because he has no idea how Phate is doing it. Devin Page is the protagonist of the story and is recruited by officer Johnston because of his hacker skills. When the story begins Devin in jail serving a prison sentence because he was suspected to have broken the Department of Defense¿s encryption algorithm, something that thought to be impossible. Devin proves throughout the story to be the only one who can match Phate¿s witty nature and master hacking skills. One of the book¿s strong points was that the characters¿ attributes were realistic in that they all had strengths and flaws, virtues and vices. Jeffery Deaver presents a cunning plot with surprising twists at the end that will keep you on your feet and your heart racing. Since the book is not too intellectually demanding it is a great book to read when you don¿t want to half to think a lot. Again, I highly recommend that you read this tremendous mystery book with its page turning plots, exiting characters, and light reading format.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    Not what I expected

    I normally love Jeffery Deaver's books, but this was horrible. In Empty Chair there was such excitting twist, but this was lame and stupid. After this book I was afraid to pick another one of his upcoming books, but thank god he redeemd himself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2002

    Very good detective story

    The Blue Nowhere is a really good read. The action is pretty much instantaneous and non-stop. The storyline was very well thought out, and the mystery is certainly not as easy to solve as in many other books. While the author's lack of knowledge in the computer field is evident, it doesn't really hurt the story. So what if some of the things that the hackers do is unbelievable? That's what fiction is--unreality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    Techo-Phobia At It's Worst!!!

    Normally I love Jeffrey Deaver and I'm a database programmer, so you can imagine my excitement when he wrote a book about computer hackers. What drivel! What a lousy concoction of lies just for the sake of excitement. Rest assured no one can send a command to your computer and stop the fan on the power supply from running. Nor can they command the drive head to move anywhere that will cause it to overheat and burst into flames. What a crock! I sure hope his stuff on forensics is more accurate, otherwise my favorite current writer will have fallen from the lofty pedestal that I put him on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    Deaver's Best

    Absolutely could not stop reading this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    Best Book Ever!!!

    Once I picked this book up i couldn't stop reading it. If you are into computers then this is a must have book. This book never gets boring because it is full of many twists and turns that will leave you on the edge of your seat untill the book is over. If you read anything this year let it be this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    Techno-thriller

    What a fun ride through a high-tech cat and mouse game. The plot has surprising twists and turns. It will make you look at your co-workers and wonder who is 'social engineering' you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2002

    a must read

    wonderful suspense-you get caught up and can't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    Slow at the beginning

    This book was slow at the beginning but once I 'got into it', it was hard to put down. Another Deaver accomplishment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2002

    couldn't put it down

    Great book! Nice change of pace from the normal detective stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2002

    Great story!

    This is an excellent book! The first chapter is the best first chapter I've ever read. It had me hooked until the end. The plot is clever, the characters are endearing, the twists unexpected, and the computer jargon is cleverly explained along the way. Hope there's a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2002

    Awesome book

    This is a great story with good characters. Being in the technology field, this book was very well researched. I couldn't put it down till I finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2002

    Couldn't stop reading it!

    I read this bood every chance I could get until I finished it. Full of twists, turns, and believable characters. I am normally a Ken Follett, Stephen King reader, but now I can't wait to read the next one by Jeffrey Deaver. Very entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2001

    A high tech thriller

    I loved reading this book. I couldn't wait to see what happens next. It kept my interest from beginning to end. I also learn alot about how people hack into computer, that part is scary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2001

    Excellent Book!

    You cant stop until youre done...excellent story, I learned a little about computer hacking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2001

    Murder Via the Internet

    If you are into computers, the Internet, or into how machines work, this book should interest you. If you are scared of computers or don't understand them, or don't have a good concept of the Internet, then this book may be a bit confusing at first--but would certainly increase the suspense for you. This was my first venture reading a Jeffrey Deaver book other than those in the Lincoln Rhyme series (The Bone Collector, Empty Chair, etc.) I found the characters to be interesting, especially the protagonist, Wyatt Gillette, a hacker who is in jail when the story starts and is released to help capture a criminal who is using computers to murder people. The book becomes interesting when Deaver starts to explain the concept of 'social engineering' and how people can get lost in computers and have a difficult time distinquishing between reality and the computer world--which Deaver calls 'The Blue Nowhere'. If you're new to computers, you 'll have fun learning some of the terms--and don't worry, the first few pages are a glossary of terms--so it's easy to pick up from the start. Computer users should know most of the terms already. For the diehards, you'll appreciate some of the code and programs that the criminal antagonist (Phate) writes--which obviously can't be done in real life, but you have to appreciate Deaver's imagination. But, after you're finished with the book you'll probably wonder if one day a program like the one he created could exist. Diehards will also appreciate the small things--such as the chapters being numbered in binary code, and those of you interested in telecomnunications will appreciate some of the 'phreaking' (breaking into phone lines as explained in the glossary) that goes on (which will cause you to think twice each time you use your cell phone.) Overall, a good book that makes two very good points. One, life is people and family and friends and not machines, but two, it's also about these same people using technology and computers, and how they are so closely intertwined into our lives--and that they are here to stay--for better or worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2001

    Twists, turns... MARVELOUS!

    I loved this book. Went through it in 2 days, the twists and turns in the plot and the high-stress ending made this a truly moby read. I like that the author chose to have the hacker character speak above the head of the detective. Then he would have the hacker explain the computerese to the detective, thus educating the reader. I think this book might allow my wife to finally understand what I'm talking about when I'm talking about work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    Finally...a fiction book I couldn't wait to read!

    I loved the book! I haven't read a fiction book in probably 20 years. Unless you count the endless children's books I read to my kids every day. I have been working with computers since 1983, own my own computer biz, and still don't know everything, but this book was extremely easy for me to follow. My 64 year old Mother would not have liked this book becuase she's still trying to understand email, but those who have some knowledge or a big curiosity on hacking, computers & love a mystery, you will love this book. Not 100% accurate, but fiction isn't supposed to be. I read the book in 4 days and had a hard time putting it down. I have not read Deaver's other books, but plan to after reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2001

    Chilling Thriller

    Usually techno-thrillers are not my favorites, but this book is outstanding. It is very difficult to put down at any point. The killer in the story is not only an expert at 'social engineering' - the ability to take on completely different and believable personalities - but is also a master hacker who can crack virtually any security code and break into the files of any facility he chooses. Add to this his sociopathic personality and a penchant for murder as part of a 'virtual' game only he plays and you have Phate, a thoroughly nasty and seemingly invincible serial killer. Pitted against him is an old acquaintance hauled out of prison, where he is serving time for computer fraud, to help the police with his own astonishing mastery of cyberspace. The characters are well-drawn, and I was stunned to learn the real identity of Phate's 'secret' helper at the end of the book. Don't miss this one if you like a well-paced, well-written tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4