Customer Reviews for

The Blue Orchard

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Excellent!

    Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Excellent

    A truly amazing story!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    I found this novel (based on the true-life story of the author's

    I found this novel (based on the true-life story of the author's grandmother) to be nearly impossible to put down. It addresses a few very difficult subjects--abortion, the second class treatment of women, and the third class treatment of African Americans in history. The story takes place in the early 1900's up through the mid 1960s and while a lot of years have passed and progress has been made, we still struggle with these issues to this day. Many of us are torn between the moral implications of abortion and the societal way in which we treat those women who have children out of wedlock. Despite her flaws, I found I could relate to Verna Krone, largely because she seemed to be constantly wrestling with the choices she made. And because of her early life experiences, I could understand why she didn't see things in absolutes. This is a moving story, well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!

    I was amazed to find out that this is based on the author's grandmother.It's a wonderfully told account of the darker side of our history. Yet it makes one think twice about the moral implications in this era of illicit abortions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Great Book

    It moved a little slow at times however reading this I found myself back in my grandfathers living room listening to his stories as I so often did and miss now. I felt great comfort reading this book. Very interesting, and gave me a greater understanding of just how hard times were back in the late 1800s to mid 1950s great piece of history that I hadnt really read before for that time era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Highly recommended

    Very good book filled with alot of the history of Harrisburg. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I had a hard time putting it down!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was so hard to put it down to go to work each day... and I took it with me and read on my breaks and during my lunch. And then I thought about it throughout the day! This book deals with a woman who takes an oath to use her nuring skills only in an ethical way, and then breaks that oath by performing "illegal operations." Her whole life is transformed, as well as the lives of those around her, becuase of her choice. It gives insite into the minds of the people who were performing the abortions and it shares information about the politcal system of the time - probably not much different than the system of today. Rather frightening. I've started reading another book, but the memories of The Blue Orchard still linger in my head. To make it even better, there is a surprising twist at the very end of the book - which gives even more food for thought. I am recommending this book to my book club - I just happened upon it one day while shopping at B&N. Well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    You've come a long way baby

    Let's talk about women and just how far they've come since the 1950's. This is an incredible story about the strength of one woman that comes from nothing and finds it within herself to earn an amazing income. Think that's enough to make her happy? Absolutely not because the man in her life is jealous of her earnings. Then there is the story of the illegal way she earns this income. The story is a roller coaster of rights and wrongs. Do you give women a safe place for an abortion or allow them to die with some back alley surgeon? Another cleverly interwoven story is of politics. And when you read this story set in the 1950's you realize politics don't change just the players do! Controversial story. If you are giving this book as a gift KNOW your recipient. It takes an open minded reader for this one and if you have an open mind prepare to be thoroughly entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Strongly recommended!

    I especially appreciate Taylor's ability to use his journalistic training to make sense of sometimes convoluted details ranging from political machinations to emotional suasion without losing track of the human fallibility and needs underlying it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1