Customer Reviews for

Blue Remembered Earth

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

It hasn't even been released and I get an email to review it

I'm writing this review of the BN spam email generator, not the book. I'd read a laundry list if it were written by Alastair Reynolds - which is why I pre-ordered this book. But if Barnes and Nobel wants to send me an email asking me to review my purchase, and if I ha...
I'm writing this review of the BN spam email generator, not the book. I'd read a laundry list if it were written by Alastair Reynolds - which is why I pre-ordered this book. But if Barnes and Nobel wants to send me an email asking me to review my purchase, and if I haven't read the book (since it won't show up on my nook until June 5th) then they must want me to review their automatic email system that evidently wants folks to comment on their purchases to generate phony reviews on their website.

Listen, BN. I like my nook, I like being able to read books on it, and I don't feel the need to chat up my latest purchase just so you can have more filler for your website. I certainly don't need more email from you - you couldn't target my reading taste if you actually knew me, so don't even try. I'll buy books I want to read, and you and the authors will benefit.

Now - how about those Dodgers?

posted by jth90c on May 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A long wait for only a fair story. Not up to the level of Reynol

A long wait for only a fair story. Not up to the level of Reynold's previous books. The science, both real and imagined are mostly believable and entertaining. The "pan" concept is over the top. Wishful thinking maybe?
This is obviously part of a new series...
A long wait for only a fair story. Not up to the level of Reynold's previous books. The science, both real and imagined are mostly believable and entertaining. The "pan" concept is over the top. Wishful thinking maybe?
This is obviously part of a new series. Unfortunately I'm torn between the hope that the next chapter is better, or the hope that he abandons it for a new theme.

posted by NotReallyMe on July 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It hasn't even been released and I get an email to review it

    I'm writing this review of the BN spam email generator, not the book. I'd read a laundry list if it were written by Alastair Reynolds - which is why I pre-ordered this book. But if Barnes and Nobel wants to send me an email asking me to review my purchase, and if I haven't read the book (since it won't show up on my nook until June 5th) then they must want me to review their automatic email system that evidently wants folks to comment on their purchases to generate phony reviews on their website.

    Listen, BN. I like my nook, I like being able to read books on it, and I don't feel the need to chat up my latest purchase just so you can have more filler for your website. I certainly don't need more email from you - you couldn't target my reading taste if you actually knew me, so don't even try. I'll buy books I want to read, and you and the authors will benefit.

    Now - how about those Dodgers?

    28 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    A long wait for only a fair story. Not up to the level of Reynol

    A long wait for only a fair story. Not up to the level of Reynold's previous books. The science, both real and imagined are mostly believable and entertaining. The "pan" concept is over the top. Wishful thinking maybe?
    This is obviously part of a new series. Unfortunately I'm torn between the hope that the next chapter is better, or the hope that he abandons it for a new theme.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Just okay

    This book has some of the author's classic storytelling elements but just doesn't measure up to his more creative works. I found it interesting but not terribly clever or surprising. If you are a loyal follower of AR, it is still worth the read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    Just finished this and thought it was a good read.

    Just finished this and thought it was a good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Alastair Reynolds is the Best

    Like all of his books, Reynolds keeps you interested and develops great stories. I highly recommend this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Excellent! The best scifi novel that I have read in the past ye

    Excellent! The best scifi novel that I have read in the past year. The near future technology that Reynolds extrapolates from current tech and research had me wanting to live in his world. I will be eagerly Waiting for the sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    His best yet. Still intelligent and provoking, but with a fun pl

    His best yet. Still intelligent and provoking, but with a fun plot. Reynolds reaches his best synthesis of character development, action and speculation in this thoughtful and enjoyable read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    Reading the book was like being a participant on this fantistica

    Reading the book was like being a participant on this fantistical journey. Can't wait for the next installment!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Good story!

    I really want to read what happens next

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Eh... ok, but not great.

    While AR has a mastery of the written word, I felt that this novel didn't shine as his past endeavors have. The characters are remarkably shallow, maintaining an almost immature and childish bent throughout the story. There was a decent amount of hard "sci", but a distinct lack of substantial "fi".

    My overall review is an "eh" for effort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    ?

    ?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Percy

    Counters with his sword hitting her in the stomach with riptide. Runs out with te flag

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Sab

    She growls and fli around and pumps the crank. She fires the wooden rounds point black into daiminos face

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    JAKE

    He puts down 40 tos of explosives. "LETS BLOW SHYT UP!!!!!!!!" Hr yells and detonates it. "BOOOOMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" :D

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Celia

    Runs right through with the red flag. Doesnt get stopped.

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Domino

    T.T

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Suriti

    You did participate. *with a bounce of her black ponytail, she's gone.*

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Anna

    Okay, I'll tell her

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Raven

    Hi. Can i help you?

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2