BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Blue Shoes and Happiness (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2006

    so beautifully addictive

    Since immensely enjoying Tears of the Giraffe, I quickly became addicted to the #1 Lady, and her detective series. I've purely and completely enjoyed all in the series so very much, and Blue Shoes and Happiness is another gem to be savored. My deep,and only unhappiness with each of the novels is that every turn of the page brings me closer to the end of this rare gift. You are living life in Botswana along with these lovable, colorful new friends you've made. You decide you love the strong bush tea you are offered. You know why Precious may unconsciously want to throw that teapot at her wonderfully patient and very dear and upstanding husband's head. You so easily relate to the happiness, joy, pain, and every feeling in between...and the wisdom, all so simply and beautifully imparted to you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Love this series

    This is one of the best Series ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    Reading Happiness

    Having just completed this book and the one which follows I've become a fan of my favorite character, the lady who can find happiness in a pair of new shoes, a "dazzling" pair of shoes. Although the main character and owner of the Detective Agency is the ultimate in serenity, common sense, sensitivity, a "teacher" of the beauty and appreciation of nature and those who inhabit it, the one who I follow with the greatest interest is the assistant lady detective. Whether she is challenged by a shoe misfortune, unrequited love or just the ups and downs of life she tackles and confronts her life with a range of reactions from patience to impatience, thoughtfulness to thoughtlessness but always redeeming herself, her inner goodness and strength obvious to the reader. She is the one I've enjoyed rooting for as she overcomes her many disadvantages and stands up to those who would put her down. Mr. Smith's skillful writing turns her into more than just another person who overcomes. She has originality and for me an attraction that keeps the pages turning and a curiosity about her future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Good addition to an awsome series

    Thie is a wonderful new book of a great series. The author paints a lovely picture of Gaborone and the surrounding areas. This book is a great to read after a busy workday. It reminds one to relax, have a cup of tea, and enjoy the company of family and friends. However, this book seemed to add litte to the main character development and movement along their life paths. The childen were hardly mentioned and few cases were solved. But, overall, lovers of the series will love this addition for the wonderful writing style of Alexander McCall Smith and and a chance to revisit the world of the Ladies #1 Detective Agency

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    I loved this book

    My sister recommended Alexander McCall Smiths books to me and I just love them. I have got to visit Botswana after reading this series and cant wait for the next one. He describes life there beautifully and the characters are so likeable. I definitely recommend the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    Such a beautiful series

    I am a huge fan of The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series. Blue Shoes and Happiness was a joy to read just like all the books leading up to it. I strongly recommend you begin with the first book and read them in order until you get to the latest, Blue Shoes and Happiness. Then you will fall in love with the main characters and will know their background which will help you understand the humor of certain situations that continue throughout the series (ie: Mma Makutsi's grade of ninety-seven percent). After a stressful day, I often wish I was Mma Ramotswe's friend and neighbor, that we are sitting together on her veranda on Zebra Drive, drinking bush tea, counting cattle, and leaving the rest of the world to it's craziness. You will not be disappointed once you discover the world of Precious Ramotswe, and will join in with the rest of us who feel she is an actual person and a beloved friend. As much as I loved Blue Shoes and Happiness, I do have two minor disappointments to mention. I was hoping the long awaited wedding of Grace Makutsi would be in this book. I also missed reading more about the children, Puso and Motholeli, who in this book were just briefly mentioned. But this just gives me two more reasons to look forward to the publishing of the next book in this beautiful series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3