Customer Reviews for

Blue Skies

Average Rating 4.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The perfect beach read

This is a completely delightful novel I read in one sitting. I felt like the characters were personal friends and the details of creating a startup airline felt utterly authentic. Beautifully written, funny and wise, this is a book for anyone who loves great entertainme...
This is a completely delightful novel I read in one sitting. I felt like the characters were personal friends and the details of creating a startup airline felt utterly authentic. Beautifully written, funny and wise, this is a book for anyone who loves great entertainment.

posted by Anonymous on April 20, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not on par with Virgin River books. This book, written several y

Not on par with Virgin River books. This book, written several years ago, shows how Robyn Carr's writing has improved since. It is largely descriptive narrative going into detail about how an airline start up works. Although that's fairly interesting it drags in parts. ...
Not on par with Virgin River books. This book, written several years ago, shows how Robyn Carr's writing has improved since. It is largely descriptive narrative going into detail about how an airline start up works. Although that's fairly interesting it drags in parts. Meantime there wasn't nearly enough character interaction and dialog for me. Nikki the main character, is an interesting woman and the book does reveal some of the problems women face in the work place. As for the problems a working mother might experience unexpectedly getting custody back of a teenage daughter and young son after four years--not so much. Nikki has two incredibly helpful best friends who, along with Nikki, are relationship challenged. At the end of the novel all three are neatly set up in good relationships that just sort of happen rather than grow (Nikki's friend Dixie's relationship is somewhat more developed than the other two). As with Carr's other books, Blue Skies, is full of good, admirable characters (and one well described jerk) but I just felt I was told too much about them rather than having their personalities revealed through action in the book

posted by 6027759 on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Not on par with Virgin River books. This book, written several y

    Not on par with Virgin River books. This book, written several years ago, shows how Robyn Carr's writing has improved since. It is largely descriptive narrative going into detail about how an airline start up works. Although that's fairly interesting it drags in parts. Meantime there wasn't nearly enough character interaction and dialog for me. Nikki the main character, is an interesting woman and the book does reveal some of the problems women face in the work place. As for the problems a working mother might experience unexpectedly getting custody back of a teenage daughter and young son after four years--not so much. Nikki has two incredibly helpful best friends who, along with Nikki, are relationship challenged. At the end of the novel all three are neatly set up in good relationships that just sort of happen rather than grow (Nikki's friend Dixie's relationship is somewhat more developed than the other two). As with Carr's other books, Blue Skies, is full of good, admirable characters (and one well described jerk) but I just felt I was told too much about them rather than having their personalities revealed through action in the book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    The perfect beach read

    This is a completely delightful novel I read in one sitting. I felt like the characters were personal friends and the details of creating a startup airline felt utterly authentic. Beautifully written, funny and wise, this is a book for anyone who loves great entertainment.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2004

    A winner

    In Phoenix forty-seven years old, wealthy tax law specialist Drake Cameron apparently dies of a massive coronary though he seemed in perfect health. His fourteen year old daughter April found his boy in their bathroom. His ex-wife commercial pilot Nicole Burgess knows that the funeral does not have that many attendees because when the domineering Drake labeled a person as an enemy combatant, they would be freed from Gitmo fast, regardless of the alleged incident. She felt lucky to escape with her sanity from their marriage but still feels depression and guilt that she lost custody of her children to him.......................... Drake¿s nasty lawyer informs Nikki that her former spouse left his children with nothing and even her child payments vanished without a trace. She is irate and her trust in men is devastated further. She marvels how her airline¿s friend Dixie McPherson can still seek about everlasting love. As a potential dangerous situation occurs with lives on the line, Nikki learns loving relationships with no time for hatred and ire are what matters, but will she and her copilot live longer enough for her to display the lesson learned?................................ BLUE SKIES is an engaging character study that provides insight into airline personnel. The story line predominantly soars with Nikki as the pilot, but also adds depth by a solid glimpse at Dixie and another pal. The suspense comes late in the plot, but besides adding tension, this is the device that enables Nikki to finally see clearly the BLUE SKIES smiling at all she has. This is one author who proves a Carr can fly............................. Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Loved the book.

    I really enjoyed reading this book. Robyn Carr keeps her characters so real and we can relate to many of them. Keep up the good work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good yet refreshing allows readers to indulge!

    Good yet refreshing allows readers to indulge!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Story of 3 best friends and how they help each other through tou

    Story of 3 best friends and how they help each other through tough times. Nikkie, Dixie & Carlisle (not like the virgin river series)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Sky

    Cole. I gtg. C u later

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    very enjoyable

    I have really liked all the books that I have read by Robyn Carr, but Blue Skies was exceptional and in an unusual setting. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Tawnyfur

    (Merrr. Its meh, Fury cx) Light brown tabby she-cat with green eyes, white paws and tailtip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Gloшstar post

    Yes all may join. (Hey Fureh) (POST POST POST POST POST POST POSTIE POST)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Grace

    Hello. Hopefully you have come here if you are a demigod from my camp. I have decided that camp is too boring. There are no wars and that is the way it should stay. But to me it is boring to sit around and make weapons. Thats why I am leaving camp. I wiil scout for demigods in different places.If you have any questions then tell me at the main cabin or council because i will check in every so often. I will reply where ever u post it. Good luck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Kyle

    Dream on suka (leaves)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Brody

    Blake, don't worry about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Blake

    Takes a deep breath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Jaguarpaw

    "Watch me." The stu<_>pid mouse dashed under a bush. Jaguarpaw follows. She could hear it. She crouched down, but put her feet lightly on the ground. She dashed & through it up in the air to Shardpaw. "Get it!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Queen sky

    I need a clan. I was wonderg if i could join......i

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Howlpaw

    Can I join?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Grimblejaw

    Nice to meet you too he meowed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Pinestrike and Nettlepaw

    They race in and guard Mistystorm and Silverkit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Misty

    Better look at our camp.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8