Customer Reviews for

The Blue Sword

Average Rating 5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING

    I first read this book when I was around 12 or 13 years old. I am now 21, and I am not ashamed to say that I still enjoy this book and many other books by Robin McKinley. She does a wonderful job of telling a story that is well written, and fun, and that is completely original, even when she is retelling a fairytale :) I recommend her books for people of all ages who are looking for a story that is completely innocent, yet still satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    A book that a person can escape into.

    Robin McKinley is an amazing author with a rather unique writing stlyle. She has the amazing ability to create a whole new world and fill it with well developed characters. This story is filled with adventure and some romance. It's a book a person can escape into. If you like this book I encourage you to read, "The hero and the crown" , another amazing book by McKinley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Worth the time

    This book is quite good. Its a bit of a fast read ( I read slowly, but finished within a day. I did spend almost the whole day reading though, so take that information as you wish), but is well-written. I've read one of Robin McKinley's books before, "Beauty," and liked it, so when I read the hook it seemed interesting, and I was definitly glad that this book was on my summer reading list for school. I have to say at the ends of both books the... Let's say the ending relationships, seem out of place. Everything else I admire greatly. There's never a dull moment, and the lore and back story are very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    My favorite book of all time

    I love cs lewis, tolkien, and even easy reads like twilight. But Mckinley is special. This book inspires me every time I read it. I keep a well worn copy on my bedside table. Her prose is the best I've ever read. It is so classy and high quality. Not many authors write this well anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    Very good!

    I recently purchased a nook, and I selected The Blue Sword to be my first novel on it. The story was captivating and the characters were excellent! My only minor critique would be the story's point of view seemed to change hands without starting a new chapter or giving much notice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    I absolutely loved this book! Robin McKinley does an amazing job describing the beautiful land of Damar and it's colorful characters. I loved the storyline, one of adventure, magic and romance all in one. A definite read for adventure and fantasy lovers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A favorite

    This is one of my favorite books and I often reread it! It has such a great story and amazing character development. I was surprised and pleased when I made the connection many years after first reading this book that it was written by the same author of one of my other favorite books that I highly recommend- Beauty: A retelling of Beauty and the beast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Ugh

    I could not finish it. It put u right to sleep. The plot seemed interesting and I love Beauty 'also by McKinley', but the way she wrote this one was just plain boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2007

    Blue Sword

    I really liked this book. It was funny, well-written, had great character development, was original, and realistic. This was a REALLY great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Great!

    This book was SOO awesome. I loved Harry, too! I loved her personality--she's just so funny. This is a really good book, I definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    Nice-Very Nice

    This book was a thoroughly enjoyable read. I loved the characters although I did find it strange that the protagonist called herself 'Harry'. Besides that, the entire book was amazing. It didnt go into useless descriptions of the flowers and the trees and the sunshine etc. that Mckinley put into Spindles End. (never read it, it was the most awful book EVER!!!) Anyways, definately read this if you are looking for a good fantasy with a little bit of romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    A MUST reader

    This is a GREAT book!When my sister first recommended it to me I was skeptical and uninterested.But after 2 years on the shelf I finally read it and I could not get ENOUGH!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Awesome

    I loved this book. It reminded me of the Lioness Quartet books by Tamora Pierce. I hope that she writes another book continuing Harry's story, or her kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    Loved it so much!!!

    I have read this book four times and i still love every minute of it the story, it is fresh and clearly wonderful, it will be one of my favorites forever

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Highly Recommended

    The first McKinley book I¿ve Read. Be sure to read Hero and the Crown first to understand it better. I really enjoyed this book. It followed the classic ¿Average nobody becomes part of an adventure and turns out to be ¿destined¿ to do it and saves everyone because of a mystic skill¿ theme but had an entirely fresh and different style to it. It had everything that I expected, plus some. The writing was great and very vivid, although sometimes tedious. The Author brings you into a world that you can see around yourself perfectly and makes you feel like you are there with Harry and the riders of Corlath. Overall, a great book and a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Loved It

    I was not at all impressed with the author's other books (Spindle's End, The Hero and the Crown) but somehow all the other reviews convinced me I should read this book. And they're all right! This is an amazing book, with such an original story and exciting language. Somehow, ever sentence, every word made me want to read more. It's worth it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2005

    Exhilarating!!!

    This is a fabulous book. You can't help but be drawn into the life of Harry. This book is exciting and adventurous with romance. Wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    I loved it, you will too.

    I absolutly loved this book and all of her others. it pulls you into it to the extent of making you think you're there yourself. Absolutly fantastic, you must read Blue Sword.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    Quite Possibly the best fantasy book I've ever read

    I LOVE this book. I've read it seven times, so you should at least read it once. I read this one before I read 'The Hero and the Crown', which was the order they were written in, and in my opinion reading Sword first enhanced the experience of Hero, which is another awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    Absolutly Fantastic!

    I loved it! It is just as good as the Hero and the Crown, and it was a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12