Customer Reviews for

Blue Water

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    Looking in the mirror

    I picked up this book because my husband and I plan on moving onto a cruising sailboat someday. What I did not expect was that it would bring up my own past and drag out emotions and questions that I never dreamed were living inside me. Long story short, my father was killed by a drunk driver when I was 5 months old: she also killed her 14 year old nephew and landed herself in prison for manslaughter. I found myself wondering about this woman who's name I didn't even know. What is she doing today? Does she think about me, the fatherless child that was left behind? And about my mother's capacity to forgive this woman who never meant to destroy our lives. How did she manage to get out of bed everyday and feed my sister and I when she was so stricken with grief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A must read. This is a shorter book (280 pages) but not short o

    A must read. This is a shorter book (280 pages) but not short on substance. A couple's son is killed in a car accident, and the story follows the year plus after his death. It shows you the emotional journey that his mother goes on after that time, and the rifts that comes between the couple. There are parts of the book when Meg and Rex are on board, and nothing much happens in the book. However, what is happening is inside them, as part of their learning to sail and learning to live a new life - on the water, without their son, with each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    Blue Water is a decent book. The premise of the story is quite c

    Blue Water is a decent book. The premise of the story is quite captivating, as it tells the story of a woman whose life got turned upside down when her son was killed in a car accident by a hung-over driver one morning while on her way to driving him to school. The hung-over driver is her one-time teen-hood friend who was actually on her way to driving her daughters to school. The accident influences the protagonist, Megan Van Dorn and her husband Rex to go on a sailing trip to put distance from the town and get away from their stresses and strains. Things take an unexpected turn when Megan receives an invitation from her brother, Toby, to his wedding, where he wishes to tie the knot with his fiancee, Mallory, the sister of the very woman who killed her son.

    Blue Water's concept is what influenced me to pick it up and read it. One reviewer before me with the review title "Eh..." sums up a lot of my feelings on the book. Some things that I like about the book are that it is very poetic in its contents. It is written with a certain lyrical finesse that I find captivating in a novel such as this, one with the central themes of loss, emotional conflict and forgiveness. The characters are very realistic as well. Nothing is exaggerated. Each character is a real person, fleshed out and rendered raw to the reader. Ansay's themes of heartache and pain are described very well with a finely honed sense of how to use her metaphors and similes that sparks utter fascination in a reader.

    There was one thing I did not like about the novel. After Megan and Rex leave Fox Harbor and set sail on the open seas, the novel seems to slow down its tempo a bit. When Megan and Rex are out at sea, they don't exactly do a whole lot until they meet other people. A lot of that time is describing how they're spending their time with each other aboard Chellone, their boat, and I personally don't find these sections of the book to be all that exciting. The only thing getting me through these parts of the novel was Ansay's literary finesse. The novel is at its most engaging when there is a sense of tension or confrontation among the characters. This novel is, in my best guess, considering I've never gone sailing, a lot like the seas themselves: when it's calm, it's very calm, almost boringly calm, but when it's turbulent, the tempest is thrilling and unexpected. This aspect of the novel, for me personally, is realistic to a fault. Realistic to a fault in that I understand why the slow parts of the novel were slow, but still wish they hadn't been.

    All in all, I thought the novel was well-written and very well-conceived, but the frequent slow patches in the story prevented me from giving it a higher rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    Excellent Read

    I picked this book up attracted by the cover and title. As a sailor and avid reader I was quickly caught up in the author's wonderful story telling. I couldn't put it down. I work at a library and know we have at least one of her books. I will now make sure we have all of them.

    I will pass this on to all my sailing friends to read this Summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    Eh...

    I didn't finish the book. It starts off interesting, and my first thought was, "Wow, I can't wait for this to pick up," because I was sure it would. But it didn't. Part of the problem is because it felt like the characters were stripped of their challenge.

    The first chapter is very interesting. The characters are struggling. But then, to get away from that struggle, they run away from it, and then it's just them, alone, running away. It's not very exciting.

    I put the book down when I saw it might not pick up any time soon.

    One problem I had was with the characters. The main character and her brother, are pretty well developed by the end of the first chapter. You have an idea of who they are. But the woman's husband, I felt I didn't know much at all about until the second chapter, where I knew slightly more. The husband is a main character, and I didn't feel he was developed well.

    However, that said, I didn't finish the book. So, it might become the page-turner I was expecting it to be a little bit further on, and I'll be sorry I put it down. The writing was very well done -- I love the way the author opened the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    Disappointed...

    I was really disappointed with this read. While the first few chapters really caught my attention, I was very bored throughout the book and was really trying to "just finish it." However, the last few chapters did catch my attention again and I was quite pleased with the ending. The author did very well at making the characters real and pain was felt for the loss of the son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Life's lessons

    I chose this book from the reviews that were written. I was not disappointed. The book is an easy read and one that I could not put down. Being able to walk along with the main character as she went through the grieving process was helpful in dealing with my own grief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN

    It has been a long time since I read a book that I couldn't put down and Ansay's Blue Water accomplishes that task nicely. As a freelance writer myself, I especially loved the writing style of this author. Words, scenes and pages flowed smoothly. Truly a poignant story, there were times that I laughed and times that it brought tears to my eyes. While reading this wonderful book, I emphasized with the many characters and felt I was outside looking in on their lives. That's how real this story was for me. I would recommend this book highly to anyone who is interested in a compelling story. I also liked how the author chose to end the story. There's nothing worse than reading a book and 'knowing' how the story ends by the middle chapters. Blue Water is truly a remarkable book. I intend to read more of this author's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    A Great Book That Teaches!

    The story Blue Water is endearing yet it is one every parent hopes to never have to face. What Meg and Rex go through after losing their son is difficult for me to imagine since I have a son who is almost two. I was able to reflect on my own life and be thankful for everything that I do have. I won¿t forget what happened in this book because it does come close to home. The characters were so real to me that I put myself in Meg¿s shoes through the whole book. I most felt for Cindy Ann since she had the most to deal with and to lose in this story. On the same side, I didn¿t like that Cindy Ann had a hard time facing the reality of where her life was heading. I really thought that getting away from the small town was smart for Meg and Rex. Though I didn¿t care for how Rex handled everything after their son¿s death, he was probably doing only what he thought was best for him and Meg. My favorite parts in the story were the flashbacks Meg had. I really got to see how special Evan was as well as his relationship between him and his parents before the accident. It was so much fun and it made me look forward to the time when my son is older. I enjoyed the book from start to finish. I especially loved the ending for Meg. Rex still bugged me I didn¿t get the feel that he knew how to handle the loss of their son. A. Mannette¿s writing style was amazing. She gave you various points of view as experienced by different characters in the story. I really felt each part of the story as it unfolded scene by scene. I was impressed with how well A. Manette was able to deal with the situation of a loss of a child. Sometimes I forgot I was even reading fiction, it seemed that real to me. I would highly recommend this book to people who love books about real life situations. The whole struggle after the accident from all perspectives was not always easy to read. I had to find out what happened to both families. I needed to know if Meg would ever be able to forgive. It was a truly compelling story line and I hope to read more by this author in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    A mut read book for everyone

    How much can I say that I enjoyed this book!! It should be required reading for everyone before they finish school, and the world would be a much better place!! We forgive because we have to forgive to go on and live. In BLUE WATER, A. Manette Ansay proposes that there are others who have forgiven us for something important in their lives and we need to do the same thing to retain some semblance of sanity. I have always known that we need to forgive, though we do not need to forget or agree that the offense is now 'OK'. This book tells the story of one woman who lived this experience in such a way that everyone should be able to emphasize with her feelings--both of anger and of forgiveness. The story in itself would have made this book well worth reading, but the writing style is also beautiful and compelling. This is the best book that Manette Ansay has ever written. Thank you for this book that I will be recommending and giving to all my friends and family!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1