Customer Reviews for

The Blue Zone

Average Rating 4
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book...

This book was fantastic. It is action packed and suspenseful. I had a hard time putting the book down. This is an awesome first novel from Andrew Gross. I can't wait for his next book.

posted by ClarkP on February 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

intriguing

this was an intriguing story, which is what got me to the end. i wanted to see everything unfold. but i really didn't care for the language. call me a bit naive, i just don't think i need to read the "f" word so much...

posted by 11696878 on June 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Love, love, love Andrew Gross!

    You will not be disappointed....Mr. Gross can REALLY tell a story! I have been hooked since book one & even hassle him on twitter to write more, lol! No joke!

    If you enjoy a great "whodunit", that is paced well with likeable characters and a good background story, Andrew Gross is right up your literary alley!

    Enjoy fellow mystery readers! :-)
    NurseLisainOhio (twitter, goodreads, instagram, Nook friends) - I am an avid NookWorm!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book...

    This book was fantastic. It is action packed and suspenseful. I had a hard time putting the book down. This is an awesome first novel from Andrew Gross. I can't wait for his next book.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!

    Fast paced story with likable characters - all needed for a great beach read.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best Thriller I've Read In A Long Time

    My byline says it all. I read a lot of books on my Nook and this one is the best thriller I've read in some time. It is full of suspense and twists and just when you think you have something figured out the author adds an element that changes that.

    The book is well written with characters that could have been pulled from the headlines. This author used to write some of James Patterson's books. He wrote the Women's Murder series back when it was worth reading. He is very talented and knows how to craft a story.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Captivating

    Kept you guessing all the way to the end! Great reading!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Exciting

    Kept my interest and had me changing mind on who the bad guy was a few times.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    I pick this book up because I am a huge fan of James Patterson and loved the books they co wrote so I thought to give him a chance on his own and loved it. I will be looking forward to more of Andrew Gross.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    interesting action-packed thriller

    The Bronx based medical researcher Kate Raab is stunned when the FBI arrests her gold trader father, Benjamin for moving money for a drug cartel. Even more shocking is when a precision squad of hitmen tries to kill all of Benjamin¿s relatives. Everyone immediately accepts the Feds' offer to start over inside the witness protection program that is every member except Kate. --- When Benjamin abruptly flees the WPP and is subsequently accused of killing his government contact agent, Kate begins to wonder just who her dad is as she had not truly believed the original charges. She needs to know if she shares the DNA of a cold blood killer or is he something else she prays for something else though not sure what that could be even as her inquires lead to one betrayal after another. --- On his first unaccompanied flight (sans James Patterson), Andrew Gross provides readers with an interesting action-packed thriller that focuses on the deceptiveness of the Witness Protection Program. The story line is fast-paced from the moment the Mercado cartel attack the extended Raab family and never slows down as a likable heroine struggles for the truth. Though key aspects of the plot seem implausible, WPP thriller fans will not care as Mr. Gross provides a delightful entertaining tale. --- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    intriguing

    this was an intriguing story, which is what got me to the end. i wanted to see everything unfold. but i really didn't care for the language. call me a bit naive, i just don't think i need to read the "f" word so much...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a great read!

    Fast paced, good story, likable characters - all needed for a great pool side read. I already recommended it to my friends. Really enjoyed it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Well-written, but violent

    The writing is tight, the characters believable, the plot neatly executed, the storyline (re the witness protection program) is interesting and informative. My only complaint, and this is personal choice, is that the book contains more graphic violence than I like to read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Blue Zone

    I thought "The Blue Zone" by Andrew Gross was a stimulating thriller that kept me interested throughout. The premise may be a little far-fetched and forced in some areas, but I found it to be well written. A family forced into the Witness Protection Program because of the father's dealings with a cartel is one thing. But then daughter, Kate Rabb starts wondering what is really going on and murders piles up, her father disappears and secrets are kept from her. This is a good, fast-paced story that one can read on the plane, commute or an evening by the fire.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    I figured this guy had to be a pretty good writer based on his collaborations with James Patterson. The Blue Zone, which is his first solo book, was amazing. Just be warned: start this on a Friday night, when you don't have any Saturday plans. It was that good, and will keep you reading straight through. One of the best thrillers I've ever read, based on the idea: what would you do if you learned that your entire life was a lie, and you didn't know who you could trust? And it takes off from there. Very taut book at over 300 pages, there's not a wasted word, and it's a rollercoaster ride. This would make an excellent movie. The author's going to be a huge star, and I can't wait for his next book. I only hope he turns them out as fast as James Patterson!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    The Blue Zone by Andrew Gross

    Andrew Gross should definitely write more books on his own. This book was fantastic and there are not a lot of books that capture my attention and emotions so deeply that I cannot put it down. I lost a lot of sleep reading this book ¿ that¿s a good thing. It was thrilling, touching and exciting from beginning to end. It will shock and surprise you over and over again and the ending was absolutely perfect ¿ it fit like a glove. I will be looking forward to more of his talented novels in the future¿

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    Witness Protection Program breaking down

    The United States Marshall¿s agency that controls the Witness Protection Program is called WITSEC. This program oversees all those in the program and is divided into three names or zones the Red Zone for those in protective custody or while in prison and/or on trial the Green Zone when all members of the family are safe in hiding under new identities in a new location and the Blue Zone when it is thought that one in the WITSEC program has been compromised and are in danger and has been lost or unaccounted for. The Blue Zone is the area not wanted at any time by the authorities. Benjamin Raab has secrets that are unknown to any in his family. To that family, he is a great husband and father and does all he can do that lets his family think just that way. In reality, Raab has been dabbling in the sale of gold that he knows deep down is being done outside the law but his own mind justifies it, thus allowing him to keep his family believing that he is a well-off and loving family member. When one day he is suddenly arrested and carted off to prison, his family thinks it is all a huge mistake. Their husband/father would never break the law to hurt anyone, especially his family. Raab¿s daughter, Kate, who is foremost in the story, works as a lab researcher at a college. She is known as a very smart and beautiful woman. Raab denied any wrong doing during his FBI interrogation, justifying his actions as simple, but large, mostly gold transactions that he had sold to law abiding individuals and corporations. One question led to another and when certain names were mentioned, Raab started to think deeply about those transactions fully knowing that some of them were a bit above the law. They had him! His family still felt he had done no wrong. A father and husband that was so good to his wife, Sharon, and the children, Emily, Justin, and Kate, that he could have done no wrong. Even when Benjamin admitted his part in some transactions to the authorities, his family would not believe he was a part of any law breaking activities such as the money laundering that was a part of his accusations. The entire family was in danger due to the connections that the former transactions were connected to including cartels and mafia groups. Kate insisted that she would not go into witness protection since she was about to marry Greg and she did not want to uproot their lives. So Kate stays behind while the rest of the family goes into the WITSEC program with all of them knowing there could be no connection between Kate and the rest of her family. Their names would be changed along with everything in their normal lives. Emily was a star squash player and had risen to near the top of her game and now had to leave that great part of her life and attempt to start over somewhere else. From here the story gets even more active as those wanting to find Benjamin Raab to get him and what they felt he owed them, no matter how they could. The family was safe, or so the WITSEC program thought, but in reality, bad people have their own ways to find what they want and those ways include any family member or friends they could intimidate. The search for those threatening Kate and the ¿hidden¿ family takes many twists and turns taking the reader on a very good suspenseful ride with uncertain destinations and actions on the next page. Andrew Gross has collaborated with James Patterson for several books, all of which I thoroughly enjoyed. There is no plot certainty in the books written by either of these writers, individually or together. They know how to stretch out suspense to keep you turning the pages and not wanting to stop. Andrew Gross has accomplished this in The Blue Zone in his first of, what I truly hope, a long line of great suspense stories.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    The Blue Zone- what a great book

    This was the first time that I've read anything by Andrew Gross. I loved the book and his style. Very captivating! I would actually read it again: That's how good it was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    I purchased this book based on authors collaboration with James Patterson. I figured it was a pretty safe bet. I sat down for a few minutes between chores and got drawn in by the first chapter. Needless to say nothing got done the rest of the day. But it certainly wasn't time wasted. I enjoyed this one from start to finish and can't wait for his next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Susan

    Lame not worth the time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    A great book.

    I really liked this exciting book. The characters were believable and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Witness protection thriller

    Good story idea! Keep one's interest. Fast paced, but no explantion as to why it was all necessary. Ending just hung in mid air leaving me wondering why? Glad the author left Patterson, hoping his other books are stronger. He has talent. Just needs to fill in all the blanks better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8