Customer Reviews for

Blue Is for Nightmares (Blue Is for Nightmares Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 371 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(267)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

I loved this book. I just, I think it's a great book and I would recommend it.

The order of the books is
Blue
White
Silver
Red
and soon to be
Black :)

posted by vgonash on November 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I have to say that I was very disappointed with this book. I picked it up in Barnes and Noble and read the first chapter and it seemed pretty good so I bought it. Then I got home and started reading it and it got worse as the book went along. The characters weren't deve...
I have to say that I was very disappointed with this book. I picked it up in Barnes and Noble and read the first chapter and it seemed pretty good so I bought it. Then I got home and started reading it and it got worse as the book went along. The characters weren't developed enough, it seemed rushed and some parts of the book were just plain stupid. It seemed like the whole book was building up to this one huge secret being revealed and what was the secret? The main character pissing the bed when she had nightmares? Ridiculous. Also, the significance of the bedwetting was never really explained. The whole thing with Stacey and Chad had nothing to do with Donovan's obsession with Drea or anything else in the book. It kind of seemed like it was just thrown in there.

posted by Anonymous on January 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    For once, a REALISTIC depiction of Wicca

    I've read a lot of young adult fiction about witches, witchcraft, &/or Wicca. This is the only series that has a nearly realistic portrayal. There's no zapping things from the main character's fingers, no magically "poofing" from place to place, no telepathy or telekinesis. There's balance, self-discovery, faith, responsibility, & helping others. The heart of the story is a girl struggling to believe in herself, which any teen girl can relate to. Her abilities as a witch depend on her confidence in her own powers...& if she's going to rescue her best friend in time, she needs to find that inner strength first.<BR/><BR/>For anyone who's interested in Wicca or witchcraft (for me, these terms aren't interchangeable)...I recommend this as a fun read to give you a fictional account of what it's really like to be Wiccan & practice witchcraft. That being said, don't take this as an instructional source by any means! It's realistic but it's still fictional :)<BR/><BR/>The only cautions I have are mature themes & language, which actually added to the realism & didn't bother me. But of course, I'm an adult so I'm not sure how a parent would feel about it. I went to a Catholic high school, & just because we were under 18 & Catholic didn't mean we weren't exposed to sex & profanity. It's NOT a dirty book, but keep in mind that, like real teens, these characters occasionally talk about mature subjects.<BR/><BR/>Other than that, a great mystery read worth buying. It bluntly addresses edgy teen issues like catty girls, trusting friends & strangers, crushes, sexuality, & the fact that life doesn't always have a pretty answer to all your problems. Just be warned that none of this is sugar coated in the story!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Magic in another sense

    This series is a great preteen-teen summer read. The plot line is a bit mild but it will keep the reader involved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome book

    I just started this series and I am very impressed. I love that Stacy is brave and not afraid to give up. I enjoyed learning a bit about the spells and the old remedies that Stacy would preform. If you are looking for a good thriller/mystery than pick up this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    I read this book years ago too.

    I immediately also thought of my best friend. This series spooked us. I'm so glad it's an e-book i can add to my new nook. Yay me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thanks to receiving a copy of Emlyn Chand's Farsighted, I am now

    Thanks to receiving a copy of Emlyn Chand's Farsighted, I am now on a Young Adult fiction reading kick. Now that I've seen that it's not all like Twilight and that most YA fiction is actually as good (if not better) than so-called adult fiction, I've been looking for new series to get started on. And unfortunately, for me, I now have way too many books on my &quot;Must Read&quot; list.

    Blue is for Nightmares was a daily deal on Amazon (I subscribe to that mailing list) and was offered for just .99. I read the novel's description and it sounded interesting enough. It's about a private school girl, a Wiccan, and her visions that involve the kidnapping and potential death of her roommate. It's both murder mystery and paranormal and isn't laced with the kind of teen romance stuff that usually turns me off from reading this genre.

    The protagonist, Stacy, is not a normal girl. She has inherited her Wiccan abilities from her grandmother and has begun having dreams that are so intense they literally having her wetting the bed. At 16, this is obviously humiliating, but she also knows she needs to do whatever she can to save her roommate, Drea. I really liked Stacy, mostly because she was flawed, but also because the novel is written in her voice and from her perspective.

    I also liked the mystery surrounding who is responsible for the harassment of Drea, as well as her future kidnapper. And I have to be honest, it was not who I expected. I won't spoil it, however, for the sake of those of you who have not read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mystery Who-dun-it w/ Paranormal!

    I picked this book up after reading the author¿s Touch series which I have really enjoyed thus far. (I¿m eagerly awaiting book 4!) I¿m very happy with the fact that this book has the same type of story with there being a self-contained mystery in the book and a bit of paranormal stuff thrown in as well. She doesn¿t overuse the paranormal to make the book great, but relies on a good old fashion who-dunit storyline. I like that the story is based around three very different friends, who no matter how different they are still stick by one another, even when they are fighting amongst themselves.

    Stolarz is great at writing strong female characters who have very realistic flaws. No one is perfect in her stories, which makes them feel all that more real. Her endings make complete sense in the real world as they may not be perfect or end the way you want them to. I love the firm grasp of reality in the midst of a crafty (witch) character. I want to continue reading this series to see what else develops in the lives of the kids at the boarding school. At this point, I¿m certain I¿d pick up anything Stolarz writes!

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blue is for Nighmares

    Blue is for Nightmares is the first in a series of four books.
    The book's main character, Stacie, has inherited the 'folk magic' from her grandma, and when she starts getting nightmares featuring her best friend and a crazed stalker, a person who starts calling Drea and sending her "gifts".
    Stacie knows this isn't something to ignore. The last time she did, it resulted in the murder of a little girl she use to babysit.
    With nothing to go on but notes, phone calls, and her own dreams, Stacie has to figure out who-and what's-going on before it's too late.

    While this book was interesting and I'm a huge fan of Laurie Faria Stolarz, I disliked the bedwetting thing. It was weird, since Stacie is a junior in high school. But when you figure out why she was wetting the bed, it all makes sense.
    I just hope she doesn't carry her little 'problem' in any of the next books.

    If you like mysteries, some cool witchcraft, and a main character that is both level headed and 'witchy', be sure to check out this awesome series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blue Is for nightmares Review

    This is a good book but there are parts that are weird. It was a little slow at first but once I got into it, it went really fast. The endding was crazy, it had me hooked til the very end. It took me a few days to read but it is worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blue is for Nightmares

    This book was a quick little read. I enjoyed the book but didn't get into it. It takes about 2 days to read and it will entertain you for the day or even the week but it is not unforgettable anyone who is into the sweep series will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't put down

    I myself am not a fan of horror or even horror related things, but I loved the book. With a modern day witch and a stuborn roomate, this is a book that that is practically a movie, unfolding before your eyes. You won't be able to put it down, just wanting to figure out who the psycho is. The ending you probably won't see coming, although you will bang your head on the wall when you realize how obvious it was. I highly recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    BLUE

    I started reading these books a while ago thanks to one of my best friends, she said it was amazing so i read it...and i completely agree. this book is sooo fun to read. stace is such a strong character. i loved her from the beginning. the story had me HOOKED, all of the spells are so interesting and when Stolarz describes them i can just smell all the oils and stuff!! this book was thrilling! Some parts actually had me scared because it felt so real, and the author really has a hold on the element of fright and desperation!! these books have a bit for everyone.... magic, romance, teenage drama, mystery....i mean ANYONE would like them!! but i do agree that it is rushed in parts, like it's leading up to something and never stops leading....but i only feel that way because i wish there was MORE. Lucky for me there are more books to come!!! Can't wait to see how it all plays out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    Blue is for Nightmares

    this book is one of the best mystery books i have ever read.
    it has a lot of suprising elements and also keeps you guessing.
    i think that many people should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    Blue is For Nightmares by Laurie Stoalrz Destiane Demery period 5,2009

    Are you a big Twilight or CSI fan? Then Blue is Nightmare by Laurie Stolarz is a must read! This mystery/supernatural novel will have you holding on to every page. With relatable characters, fantastic plot, an unusual bad guy, thrilling magic and a surprising twist you'll never see coming. Laurie Stolarz is at the top of her game, using imagery and diction to draw the reader in. Once you start this novel, Blue is for Nightmares you can't put it down!
    The main character in the novel is a teenage girl named Stacy Ann Brown. It's her junior year and things seem to just be getting worse for her. Drea is Stacey's best friend and an excellent supporting character. Through dialog, thoughts, dreams and memories of Stacey, the author informs the audience about the main character and her background story. Stacey is your average girl. She has a crush on her best friend's boyfriend, homework every night, evil teachers and catty girls. However, there's a very special something about Stacey that makes her slightly different from the rest. As you continue to read you learn more about Stacey and other characters that interact in her life. This helps build a connection between the reader and main character which creates this feeling that your actually apart of the book!
    In Blue is for Nightmares, the setting takes place at the coed boarding school Stacey attends. The school is located near a forest that leads to old abandon classrooms. Stacey has the power of premonition but only through dreams. She can see future events and uses the folk magic taught to her by her grandma to try and prevent bad things from occurring. This time her dreams are about her best friend Drea and the forest near the school. If Stacey doesn't figure out how to use her gift to benefit her, it can cost Drea her life. As she rushes to figure out her dreams a classmate of Stacey is brutally murdered in the abandon classrooms. With this new twist every one is a suspect and no one is safe not even Stacey!
    In this novel the author uses certain elements to help explain the story. There's a lot of foreshadowing, sometimes too much. She's constantly giving clues that tell the audience pretty soon something mind-boggling is going to happen. Stolarz also uses flashbacks to present Stacey's background life and significant events that will help the reader understand her more. This book is not only a mystery novel it's also in the supernatural category. The author reminds the reader this; by describing step-by-step how Stacey uses folk magic throughout the story. As you read you'll notice that Stolarz chooses to use situational irony in the book which helps add that extra punch to some of the surprising twist.
    An important part in the book is when Stacey finally tells Drea that she's in serious danger. Drea doesn't believe she's danger, fortunately for Stacey someone is helping her prove to Drea her life is at stake. However, not in the way Stacey had hoped. On page 91 the story reads (.I remove the cover and look down at the contents: four freshly cut lilies. "Lilies," Drea says, swallowing. "The death flower. Isn't that what you said?" I nod. "So four lilies. Four days till death right?") In folk magic lilies are considered the death flower and unfortunately Drea has received them. Stolarz uses Stacey's folk magic to inform the reader how significant and important it is to Stacey's character. If the author chose not highlight this certain aspect in Stacey's life the plot would not ha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    pretty good

    i thought the book had an interesting story. I would have liked more magic and fantasy, but overall not too bad. I hope the next books keeps getting better and better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    A Different Take on Magic

    Stacey has been having nightmares. But these aren't your everyday monster-under-the-bed dreams these are premonitions. She's had these before, and the result was the death of a girl named Maura. Now, she's trying everything she can because the next victim could be her best friend Drea. What is very helpful is that Stacey is a witch. She performs a wide variety of spells in order to make her nightmares clearer and to find out who is after Drea. She, Drea, and their friend Amber form a pact to make sure they're safe. But nothing seems to be safe anymore. It's very hard to guess who's after Drea. Stacey has many suspicions, but they keep on shifting as she learns new information. What's most frustrating to Stacey, though, is that she's dreamt all of it. She just can't remember. I really enjoyed reading this novel. The magic involved was unique in that it wasn't just 'Harry Potter' magic. Stacey isn't a witch like Hermione she performs spells using candles, herbs, and oils, not magic wands. I found this refreshing and unique. I also enjoyed the suspense throughout the entire novel. The twists and turns always kept me guessing. I recommend this to all magic book lovers, because I loved it myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    i read first red is for remembrance cause the story caught my attention. i like the whole supernatural witch kind of stories and the cover looked mysterious and creepy. finally read the first book and really liked it. had a guess at who the stalker/killer was between i think 4 people. i thought it was either Chad, PJ, Donovan and even Amber 'don't ask'. So this is the story of Stacey Brown who tries to put the past behind her that involved her charge to be killed while having nightmares about it. Now at boarding school its happening again and now its about her best friend and roommate Drea. First what begins as just talking begins serious what with a weird e-mail, a change in tone on the phone and now even creepy notes. Stacey tries using her spells taught to her by her grandmother and even hides the fact but not for long that she kind of likes Chad including that because of her nightmares she wets the bed. Stacey then tries to use her nightmares to guide her in saving Drea after a student claiming to be stalked as well is found dead. The ending I liked and was a little sad at who the stalker killer was. I liked how Laurie the author wrote it in such a way that you don't feel somewhat bored and want to know who is after Drea and why and etc. Believe me when i say that all is explained at the end. Check this out this if you're into the who supernatural, mystery. The suspense was great and had me guessing between those 4 people. It seems Drea loves chocolate a lot and I wonder, you think she get a cavity or something even zits. Favorite character has to be PJ with his almost sick but weird sense of humor and numerous hair styles and hair coloring. Anyway, totally recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    not the typical 'magic book'

    Usually when people read books about magic they expect things about flying broom sticks, magic wands, pointy hats, or big black couldrens to make potions. But this magic book is different. Blue is for Nightmares talks about the different type of Magic known as 'wica' and how a teenage girl uses her knowledge to save her best friend. This book is just the kind of book that could really happen. It has a love affair, the prtagonist, the antagonsit, a love affair, and the best friends. I really enjoyed this book I couldnt but it down. If you are looking for a book that talks about the issues in someones life (and a little bit of something different) choose this book. It has the perfect dose of reality and fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    Blue is a true color

    When I read this book, I was immediately into it. The book had everything I liked, suspence,romance, comedy and mystery tided into one great book. I thought there were some good parts and very odd parts. This book to me was never boring and I recommend this book to people who hate reading because they will have a whole new perspective, just like I had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    Blue IS For Nightmares!

    This book was great! It has been one of the first books I read in a while, and now, I think I am gonna read the rest of the series, and every other book I haven't finished! Its tottally suspenseful, and I almost read the whole book in a day or two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    This is awesome!

    This book is great! It was so hard for me to take breaks from reading it because I just couldn't put it down. It's scary, but funny at the same time. I finished the whole series, and I gave it 4 stars because it is not the best one in the series, so keep reading! (This is the first book of the series)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4