Customer Reviews for

Blue Is for Nightmares (Blue Is for Nightmares Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 371 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(267)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

I loved this book. I just, I think it's a great book and I would recommend it.

The order of the books is
Blue
White
Silver
Red
and soon to be
Black :)

posted by vgonash on November 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I have to say that I was very disappointed with this book. I picked it up in Barnes and Noble and read the first chapter and it seemed pretty good so I bought it. Then I got home and started reading it and it got worse as the book went along. The characters weren't deve...
I have to say that I was very disappointed with this book. I picked it up in Barnes and Noble and read the first chapter and it seemed pretty good so I bought it. Then I got home and started reading it and it got worse as the book went along. The characters weren't developed enough, it seemed rushed and some parts of the book were just plain stupid. It seemed like the whole book was building up to this one huge secret being revealed and what was the secret? The main character pissing the bed when she had nightmares? Ridiculous. Also, the significance of the bedwetting was never really explained. The whole thing with Stacey and Chad had nothing to do with Donovan's obsession with Drea or anything else in the book. It kind of seemed like it was just thrown in there.

posted by Anonymous on January 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 267 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    I loved this book. I just, I think it's a great book and I would recommend it.<BR/><BR/>The order of the books is <BR/>Blue<BR/>White<BR/>Silver<BR/>Red<BR/>and soon to be<BR/>Black :)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    this book is amazing

    i thought this book would be cool when i just saw the cover and i was right. i love Stolarz's style of writing, her descriptions and similes really add to the imagery. this book is really interesting too; it's suspenseful and just really interesting. it's not like a lame book about witches and wizards, its more into Wicca and homemade spells.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    Saw a book trailer of this and it looked creepy, suspenseful and

    Saw a book trailer of this and it looked creepy, suspenseful and a really good read. After reading the book, I found it to be just that. Really liked this one and didn't want to stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    OMG

    Donovan kidnapped Drea and was going to kill her but then Stacy saves Drea just in time! HAHAHA SUCKERS I SPOILED THE BOOK FOR YOU!!!
    ~ Aquamarine Sandollar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Definitely A Great Book

    I couldn't stop reading this. Each page was extremely intense and it pulls you in with each chapter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Never Disappoints!

    Blue is for Nightmares is definantly one of the BEST books I have read! I am in to the horror/mystery books so if you like those genres this book is for you! I have also read other Laurie Faria Stolarz books which are just as great! In this book Stacey Brown is getting reacurring dreams about her best friend Drea. She is worried that this will be a repeat of the year before when she had these same dreams and somebody ended up dead. So what is she gonna do to help save Drea? Who is plotting to kill Drea? You'll have to read and find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    Blue is for Nightmare Review

    Magical spells, bed wetting, crazy stalkers, put all those together into one story and you have yourself one interesting book to read. Blue is for Nightmares is book one of now five stories written by Laurie Faria Stolarz. She decided to begin writing this series because of her desire to create a story that she herself would want to read in her teen years.


    Nightmares come and go for most of us and we don't think anything of them. Wake up and shake off the bad dream that just occurred and return back to sleep hoping to never relive the same experience. This is not the case for Stacy Brown. When she has nightmares, they are of people she cares about and loves so when these "dreams" are giving details about these loved peoples death she knows to listen. One mistake made that she will have to live with was doing what the normal person does when these nightmares occur. The ignoring of this in particular one led to the death of a young girl she used to sit for before she went off to boarding school. And now a few years later she begins to have these same dreams, only this time it's about her best friend, and her roommate Drea. Knowing the result of not listening to her nightmares clues last time, she knows that it's up to her to make sure this fatality doesn't come true. Communicating with her grandmother and learning spells is what's going to keep her roommate alive. It is now but a race against time before the nightmare comes true.


    Out of many teen inspired novels, this one made me scared for each character in the story. Staying up late just to read one more chapter ended up an early morning completion of the book. This storyline has you wanting more and also has you second guessing every step you take in life. Being more aware of surroundings and thinking could something like this happen to me. I found this intriguing. The chills up and down my arms as the story unfolds and secrets told. Now only hoping that this will continue in the rest of the series and give the same emotion throughout, I cannot wait to read more from Laurie. She has turned the wicca culture around and put a different spin on it that appeals to more people and for this she has created a great set of novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great!

    i liked this book alot. It kept me wanting to read more and more. It was a quick read but it was definitely worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sarah Rylant's review for-Blue Is For Nightmares

    it is a very good book that keeps you wanting to read more,it has adventure in it that's just waiting to happen something interesting always coming around the corner so i recommend you read this book if your in the mood 4 a very interesting book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Blue is my fav color

    At first i was confuse because i dint know what was going on but as I read it I got a better understanding of it. This is an addictive book. This book puts there friendship to the test. It's where you found out who is trust worthy and who are the fakes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    This book was really good.I liked it a lot because it was like a movie in your head. It was very thrilling and i recommend this book to anyone that loves a good mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    blue is for nightmares

    this book was amazing! i loved it, this was my first time reading a story about a wiccan and it was just, like, wow! i've never read anything like it. i'd just finished the house of night series (still waiting for the next book in that series) and was looking for books that other teenagers liked and i found this. i fell in love with it and couldn't put it down, i finished it the day after i bought it! :P i love the way the author desribes Stacey's emotions and thoughts and just the way Stacey handles this terrible situation! i'm reading the next book in the series, white is for magic and can't wait to c what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i was hooked

    i loved this series. im not going to lie, at first i thought it was kinda slow. but it got soo much better. after i read the first book i was hooked. i read the 2nd one in two days and the 3rd one in two days and the 4th one in a day. i love them. i cant wait for the 5th book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Blue is for Nightmares

    Stacy Brown is a Wiccan. She has dreams at night of her best friend, Drea, getting hurt by someone. Every time she dreams she gets closer and closer to who it is. She also is falling for Drea's doyfriend, Chad. She will have to use all her will power to save Drea, and to stay away from Chad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    Blue is for Nightmares!

    In my point of view the book, "Blue is for Nightmares" was a terrific book.
    I especially liked how it kept you waiting for the climax and for all the secrets to be revealed. Throughout the whole book I was trying to figure out who was Stacey seeing in her dreams, who was sending the lilies, and who was on the other end of the mysterious phone calls. I recommend this book to anyone who reads or anyone who is into spells.
    Stacey is known to be a gifted girl; she has Dreams, there more like nightmares, about her roommate Drea getting stalked. Stacey has to figure out a way to save her. When Stacey dreams she has a problem, she wets the bed. This book is absolutely amazing, Stacey has a crush on this boy Chad but Drea is dating him. The first time Drea and the mysterious guy talked on the phone they clicked. Drea and the guy talk a lot but when he would call and Stacey would answer the guy would just hang up. The mysterious person left Drea a gift when she was in the bathroom with Stacey in one of the stalls discussing something.
    When they got out there was a note written on the mirror saying that he was coming for her in four days. When they get back to the room they open the box and four lilies lay before them. Lilies are also known as the flower of death. At this point in the story I was really into it. I'm in eighth grade and I haven't become a really big fan of reading until this year. When I joined book club, my English teacher knows how to pick out books.
    This book is the best book, if you need something to read, read this book, plus there are four plus one is coming out fall 2009. I strongly recommend this book.


    Katherine Geer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Book Review

    This is a very good and entertaining book. I could re-read it a houndred times and never get tired of it. I think this book really connects to its readers because of the story line of friends and boyfriends throughout the series. It is also entertaining because there is action all throughout this series so you never want to put it down. The ending makes you need to go and read the whole series to figure out what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Twist to a Regular Mystery

    This book was quite good. I liked the fact that the main character (Stacy) sees visions about things and must figure them out before something horrible happens. It adds an intersting twist to have, um, an unusual side affect to the nightmares. Good Series to read for fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love It!

    My best friend got this book 1 day and told me all about it, she had read more than half by the next day.
    When she let me borrow it I was skeptical at 1st.
    Why? I don't really know why...
    After the 1st page I was hooked!
    It's about a girl named Stacy who's a witch,(the wicca kind, not 'broom-stick-wort-on-nose-green-skin kind'), anyway Stacy starts to have dreams about her best friend. Dreams that her friend will die soon.
    It's a really good book truest me when I say this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    as a writer myself.......

    well i thought this book had a great story. for someone who writes books and loves reading books about witchs i found this to be very good. the only thing that bothered me was her wording and grammer were alittle off. there were times when the book made no sence or the sentence made no sence, i would have to reread it and put my own words into it. she always says... i say or i says when it should be i said most of the time. did anyone else notice that? but besides the grammer i thought this book was great. i am going to read the next book right when im done with this. i have blue, white n red and i hope it wont mes up sliver when im able to pick it up. and i will be getting black when it comes out. hope i helped and i am looking foward to doing a review for the nexy book when i am done reading it.

    Jenn M

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    REALLY AWESOME....JUST DON'T READ BEFORE GOING TO BED!

    i thought this book was really good. it really kept my attention, was thrilling, and had a good ending.....i was literally on the edge of my seat while reading it, and it was like i was right there with the characters. i just got the chills from certain parts of the book and like ttly creeped out. i just couldn't read this before going to bed. but otherwise, it was really good.!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 267 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14