Customer Reviews for

Blueberry Girl

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    From A Girl To A Woman

    Cleverly written to illustrate the transformation from girl to woman, Blueberry Girl is sure to be a classic read for teens and parents of teen daughters. Thought-provoking and inspirational. Dare to grow, you won't regret it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend!

    Beautifully illustrated book to accompany a beautiful poem about the desires a mother has for her daughter. A great book for both mothers and daughters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    a beautiful book

    This lovely poem is beautifully illustrated, and makes a great gift for a new baby or even for a graduate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I fell in love

    Picked this book up on a whim because I am a fan of Gaiman's other work and it was love at first sight. The illustrations were lovely and showed a diversity of beautiful, strong, young girls as the title 'blueberry girl'. It plays perfectly to Gaiman's strengths of questioning received wisdom and creating a new mythology for a contemporary age, a mythology that draws on historic roots but which looks boldly toward a better future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    Love this book.

    I just had my first child 4 months ago, a daughter. I bought this book for her, although she is a little young for it, she loves the pictures. I love the messages throughout the book, my wishes for her throughout life's journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    a dismal excuse for a children's book

    Prayers to ladies of darkness are strange content for children's literature. Both story and illustrations are ominous and creepy. Would you really want to say a prayer to help your child lose? The world is dark enough without disheartening messages to children. I got this book for my daughter and will not read it to her again. I hope she learns to rely on God, not on herself and ladies of never you mind.

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Every Mothers Dream for her Daughter

    I gave this to my 15-year-old who just finished her first year of high school and is learning to drive. She has always been my "pumpkin-pie girl" so she really related to this story...just reinforces my hope and dream that she be a healthy, happy, independent thinking young lady.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    A wonderful story for girls

    This is every parent's wish for their daughter. I think the book says it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    Wonderful story

    I've been a fan of Neil's work for quite sometime, and though this is a little different from what some may be used to from Neil, it's just as wonderful! The story was writted for Tori Amos' daughter, and I cried the first time I read the book. I've since read it to my 6 yr old niece, and she loved it. This book is a great gift for those who appreciate the gifts that life give us...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    What a Lovely Gift for Baby Girl!

    Neil Gaiman's sometimes humorous, very true "prayer" reminds both mother and daughter that strong girls become strong women and encourages independence and strength. I gave it my friend with a new daughter and I sent it to my own daughter who is 28.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    wonderful

    Exactly what one would expect from Neil Gaiman -- a real parent's hopes and dreams for a daughter. Lyrical, touching, a little edgy, marvelous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lovely for girls of all ages

    A marvelous bit of bedtime poetry, and a lovely prayer for our daughters by Neil Gaiman. Not in the least bit creepy, but not at all saccharine. Excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2