Customer Reviews for

The Bluest Eye

Average Rating 4
( 346 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(171)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Frustrating to read other reviews

This is a great piece in American literature. What I'm having a difficult time with is why there are so many young 'adults' complaining about the violent/graphic nature of the book. It amazes me that a fantastic, socially concious piece of literature, is considered to ...
This is a great piece in American literature. What I'm having a difficult time with is why there are so many young 'adults' complaining about the violent/graphic nature of the book. It amazes me that a fantastic, socially concious piece of literature, is considered to be offensive for being sexually graphic, especially when our culture is saturated with sex and violence. What bothers me, even more than critically unjustifiable opinions, is that teens are completely caught off guard by sexual and violent material that doesnt contain slap-stick humor and apple pies. This book may be 'graphic', but it isnt gratuitous. If you're focusing so much on the 'graphic' content, you've completely missed the point that Morrison was trying to make.

posted by Anonymous on September 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

If you enjoy a very sad and depressing pictorial novel, you will enjoy this book.

I must say I did not enjoy this book at all. Hard to follow at times, very depressing, and a very sad ending- I kept hoping that somehow, and, in some way, this little girl would come away a success- (I was "rooting" for her through-out the entire novel)- Perhaps, with ...
I must say I did not enjoy this book at all. Hard to follow at times, very depressing, and a very sad ending- I kept hoping that somehow, and, in some way, this little girl would come away a success- (I was "rooting" for her through-out the entire novel)- Perhaps, with the aid of a mentor, an education, a miracle, or, better yet, all three! Poor little girl-A life worth living in return for all that she had to go through, was what I was hoping for- Unfortunately, this novel never gave her a chance- In addition, this novel is filled with verbal pictorials and jumps from one character development or background to another- definitely, not straight forward- the story goes on and on and does not get to the point- Saddest part of it all, it is a copulation of various and varying vignettes depict yet another depressing episode of this little girl's life and family- If this is the type of books you may enjoy, by all means read on- I walked away after reading this novel asking myself what on earth did I get from reading such a bleak and dark account? Deep sadness! I leave it up to you to make this choice for yourself- This was a book club selection, which I will think twice before returning-

posted by marielenna on November 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Beautifully sad story

    I read this book a long time ago when i was younger and i couldnt put it down. The story is so deep and it really pulls at your heart strings. The main little girl is such a sad character and you find yourself wondering why yet understanding why she wants things to be different so badly. Toni Morrison is a wonderful author and this book was not only well written but also a sad, touching and beautiful novel that should be bought, read, and shared

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    Summer Assignment: I Give it an A++!

    I was required to read this novel and write an essay about it, and at first, I thought, 'What a drag! Anything on a summer reading list should really stink.' I was quickly proved incorrect! As Toni Morrison's first novel, The Bluest Eye delves into some of the most serious topics surrounding our society. At first it was a little hard to understand, but I read it a second time in 5 days because it was so good! It does have some graphic scenes, so I do not recommend reading it for anyone under my age, unless it is a required read. Don't give this book a second thought: READ IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    I have read this book several times. I will read it many more ti

    I have read this book several times. I will read it many more times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Phenomenal

    An extrraordinary work of fiction!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Amazing and enlightening story...a must read for all!

    The Bluest Eye was a fantastic portrayal of what life was like for black children growing up, as well as families in poverty, and how abuse can affect so many people. It used multiple characters to explain the differences in lifestyle and personalities, and it used different seasons to describe the changes the family as well as the world around them begins to change. Although this is a controversial book because of the incest, rape, and child molestation, I think the author chose to include these as important aspects of the story as a representation of the pain and horrific suffering of Pecola as she grows up in a rough homelife. In addition, I think Ms. Morrison chose to write this book to symbolize the common lifestyle during the Great Depression, and the poverty and struggled features that accompanied the tragic times. She also wanted to prove that segregation was wrong and no race should dominate, and she showed this in a unique way by explaining through Pecola that "blue eyes and white faces" would make one pure and superior to all others. In this sense, I think "The Bluest Eye" is an excellent title choice, because this is basically what the novel is all about. (Race, Sacrifice, Dreams) I think the ending was very interesting, because Claudia and Freida use the marigolds in hopes that Pecola's baby will survive. This, like many other factors, contribute to the theme of beauty in the story, such as the "Dick and Jane" excerpts, (a white, happy family in a perfect world) the white porcelain doll and the Shirley Temple cup for Pecola, and the obvious favoritism that follows the light-skinned in the community. It was a good way to sum up the themes and main ideas found in the novel, as well as the characters' lives after one full year. The most exciting part of the book for me was definitely the part where Freida and Claudia stand up for Pecola while Maureen Peal is tormenting her for seeing her father naked. Before this point in the story, the two girls did not have too much to do with Pecola, she was just another child her parents took in kindheartedly. However, they really felt bad for Pecola, as well as hate and jealously towards Maureen, so they stand united and proceed to put up a fight. This was also probably the most interesting part of the book, because of the MacTeer girls' change in attitude. The style of Toni Morrison as seen in the novel is quite engaging, because she does not just give the reader answers, she rather leads the reader to make his or her own conclusions. I loved the way she used literary elements, mostly comparisons and themes, as well as the relationships and changes found in the characters. "The Bluest Eye" was an excellent way to see into the lives of a typical family during the Great Depression, and I would love to read more of her works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    the bluest eye

    great book, very moving, pecola is a character you don't have to feel sorry for, but one everyone can relate to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    The Bluest Eye

    Pecola Breedlove prays for blue eyes. As the main character and hapless victim in The Bluest Eye, Pecola is the heart, soul, and tragedy of the novel. Set during the early 1940's, The Bluest Eye is rich in language and has deep roots in symbolism. Toni Morrison, winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature, creates a powerful portrayal of a young African American girl who's desires often end in tragedy. Living in a society that sets the white culture on a pedestal only to leave the rest of society feeling forgotten, Pecola feels that she is very unattractive, and wishes to look like the towheaded, blue-eyed, porcelain skin babydolls she receives for Christmas. Obviously however, no matter how hard she prays, she doesn't get the blue eyes she so hopefully wishes for. Although Pecola's story is intricately weaved among other characters, each character gives their own meaning to Morrison's main message, which is that internalized racism destroys the spirit of the most vulnerable of victims, because when one internalizes external racism rather than rising above it, they lose their sense of self. The message also revolves around the pressure that society places on girls to be beautiful. Many of the events of this novel are often almost too hard to face head on the countless misfortunes Pecola must endure seem too harsh at times. Although not a light read, The Bluest Eye is a deeply significant and touching story of a young girl who takes too long to realize her true beauty, which ultimately results in her downfall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    yes you should read it

    It is a wonderful book and yes you should read it. If the print is too small just get it on your nook and enlarge the text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Amazing Book

    If you like this book definitely read "Push"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Love this

    Great book, a must read for high school students

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Wonderful Author!

    Everything she writes is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    o k

    based god would be proud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Toni Morrison is amazing!

    This book was an official Brad Dunning Book Club selection. He said it was his favorite Toni Morrison book, so I checked it out. And I'm glad I did. Wonderfully written; beautiful and heartwrenching throughout. Thanks Brad for the suggestion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Hauntingly Familar Emotions

    Tone Morrison is the only writer who has ever made me feel empathy for people responsible for the most despicable acts. The fact that as children we take on the emotional responsibilities for the problems existing in homes, schools, and communities is a perspective still prevalent today. The fussing mother creates an endless echo which lingers for years. Not fussing about anything or to anyone just fussing for the sake of fussing. Letting steam out regadless of whom it may scald. The levels of freedom which do and do not exist are explored in this web of individuals. The reponses to each other and our intentions and results explode or just melt away. Control becomes an illusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Absolutely heart wrenching

    If you ever decide to read this novel, you will never forget the characters Pecola Breedlove, Pauline Breedlove and Cholly Breedlove. Morrison creates characters that exist in our lives every day- everyone has a Pecola in their life, and in some way, we're meant not just to have pity on Pecola but we are also supposed to feel complicit in Pecola's treatment and her eventual crack at the end of the novel. I am enrolled in a senior seminar class that involves studying the Toni Morrison canon, and The Bluest Eye was our first work. My professor told me something quite interesting that Morrison admits to: Morrison felt she had failed as a writer with this novel because the vast majority of the readers of this book "felt bad or sorry" for Pecola, when Morrison's aim was to make the reader feel complicit. I think all readers should know Morrison's authorial intent- it may completely alter your understanding of this powerfully heart wrenching read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A really good read

    Toni Morrison is a magnificent writer. When I read The Bluest Eye, it made me think about alot of crazy things that are going on in the world. I request that every woman should read this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    The Bluest Eye: `Compassionate, Deep, and Magnificent!

    The Bluest Eye absolutely took my breath away! There is so much depth and heaviness to the characters and plot that it sometimes leaves you feeling the emotion itself! Toni Morrison is fantastic in this extremely well-written award winning novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    unforgettable story

    WOW.... if you have not read this novel make it the next you read. I love novels and any good stories however this book is one of the BEST novels ever composed. Morrison will take you in a journey that you will never forget. She will touch every emotion and your experience will be none like before. You will love, hate, and get angry and even cry for the characters. Their stories, their lives, it's like you know, touch ,and see them. she made them real and when you are done they will stay with in BEST ways. I encourage every young girl and guy to read this book it. It is UNFORGETTABLE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    Outstanding!

    I am also 14 years old and read this book merely for pleasure. Although it can get a bit confusing at times, this is an excellent book. It ruthlessly describes America's obsession with beauty, and kind of brought me to the light. I really enjoyed this book, although I would not suggest that anyone under 14 read it for it's violent themes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    read this book

    many interesting ideas....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9