Customer Reviews for

A Blunt Instrument (Inspector Hannasyde Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    Enjoyable!

    Being a huge fan of Christie, Sayers, and Holmes, I was pleasantly surprised to discover how enjoyable this author's mystery series was. Initially I was reluctant to read anything by Heyer because of her proliferation with romance novels (not my cup of tea), but she does a first-rate job spinning a who-dun-it. I must admit that after the first chapter I was feeling a bit snobbish about the "simplistic" writing style but it wasn't long before I had to reach for the dictionary. I mistook her "simplistic" writing for an authentic voice and clever narrative; that recognition is what hooked me. . The characters were vividly drawn and the plot's intrique is multi-dimensional. What I mean is I knew who did it 75% of the way through the story but I didn't know why and I didn't know how the other characters' subplots would be resolved. A perfect read for the beach, airplane, rainy day, or whenever you need to kick back and relax.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Quick, Fun, Read

    I am a fan of Georgette Heyer and have been collecting her books for some time. I am thrilled Sourcebooks is releasing her mysteries and giving me a chance to expand my Georgette Heyer reading base. I enjoyed "A Blunt Instrument." The story isn't too violent so I can enjoy the mystery without having disturbing images in my head. I enjoy pitting my wits against those of the detective and gleaning the pages for clues to see if I can guess "whodunnit" before the big reveal. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a little romance, a little mystery, and something short enough it can be read all at once.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another lovely, witty Golden Age mystery from Georgette Heyer

    If Georgette Heyer hadn't written a single one of her delightful Regency novels, she would deserve to be remembered among the great mystery writers of Britain's Golden Age. This one has the traditional accoutrements of the genre: it's a "cozy," and the murder has been committed in a delightfully elaborate manner.

    Heyer's mysteries--indeed, all her books--are distinguished by two things:

    Her characters live and breathe on the page as those of very few other authors manage to do. No matter how large or small a character's role may be, each one speaks in his or her own distinctive voice. Detective or suspect, hero or villain, most of these characters are thoroughly likable as well, and it's a pleasure to spend time in their company. Unlike some writers who seem to be smitten with the aristocracy, Heyer is refreshingly devoid of snobbery--the servants and members of the working class are as likely to be admirable and worthy of respect as their "betters."

    Heyer achieves this feat largely because of her pitch-perfect ear for dialogue. Each character has only to say (or think) a couple of lines before the reader knows exactly where he fits in the social strata of the novel, whether he has a lively, witty mind, and how seriously he takes himself and others. Listening to their conversations makes the reader realize that real wit is indeed in short supply these days, and needs to be brought back into style.

    I own all of Heyer's books, and re-read them regularly. I'm thrilled to be able to replace my 40-year-old mass markets with these trade paperback reprints. If you're reading Heyer for the first time, I envy you--you're in for a treat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Have all in hard copies and re read at least once a year even penhallow

    Which is my lesst favorite.. when you get use to oversalting food you complaine of bland taste. Too grafic and too much violence and sex grafics and potty mouth in present mysteries are over salting i wouldn t admit to dull as that shows what you have been reading actually had an annotated whose body

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Georgette Heyer forever!

    There are very few of Georgette Heyer's novels I wouldn't give 5 stars. She wrote the very best Regency romances (as one fan said, "Jane Austen on roller blades), period. I was new to her detective stories, but since I adore her Regency novels, thought I'd give them a try. GREAT! Better even than Agatha Christie, I think, because Christie holds clues from the reader but Heyer doesn't. You just might be able to figure them out. But it's her characters that really make the stories, their quirks and personalities are revealed by dialogue and action, not direct description. I put these on my Nook, climb on the treadmill, and lose track of time. I've read them all now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Charming, witty, old-fashioned English Murder

    I love the Georgette Heyer mysteries. Over the years i've worked my way throuogh every Christie, Marsh, Wolfe, Sayer, etc., etc. and thought I'd run out of old mysteries, and English mysteries in particular. how exciting to discover these little gems. These were written in the times they take place: the twenties and thrities. I occasionally run into a shocking un-PC phrase or word, but move past it with the knowledge that these were the times in which they were written, and it's good to remember how far we've come.

    For pure English, jazz age, parlor murder mysteries, these will satisfy any mystery buff's appetite. Complete with butlers and handsome Detective Inspectors at no extra charge.

    Particularly enjoyable with a cup of hot tea on a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An "OK" book

    This book was "OK" and I would still recommend it for a short plane ride or trip. A mystery buff may also like it, because it is a detailed story of the murder case. But besides the characters being a bit likeable, I just didn't find the book too exciting. I didn't like the writing style much either, and although I'm used to reading the "old Classics", I still expected a bit more. I think this book was good for escaping, so again maybe I'd recommend this book on a short trip or something. I also may give another one of Georgette Heyer's books a chance since she has written so many. I can possibly see another of her reads being exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1