Customer Reviews for

Bobbie Faye's Very (Very, Very, Very) Bad Day

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    LOVED it

    Hysterical. That's the best word to sum up this book...I laughed through 90% of it. Bobbie Faye is a riot, and if it weren't for bad, no scratch that, horrible, luck, she'd have absolutely no luck at all. The story starts out in Bobbie Faye's trailer, the very modest place she calls home. She wakes up surrounded in water and realizes that her trailer is flooding. Shortly thereafter, the power company shuts her power off for non payment, and things don't get much better from there. Actually, these events are the best part of her soon to be chaotic day... Bobbie Faye receives a phone call from her brother Ray, who is in trouble again. He's been kidnapped, and the kidnappers want Bobbie Faye's tierra a family heirloom that is worth a grand total of nothing. If they don't receive the tierra, its bye bye Ray. On her quest to save her brother, Bobbie Raye encounters the police and FBI, double and triple crossers, elevator shafts, salt mines, swamps, guns, bears, pissed off ex boyfriends, (yes, plural...not just one, but two..) hostages and so much more all while wearing her 'Shuck me, suck me' gag t-shirt which was the only dry thing she could put her hands on that morning, and all in a way that will leave you shaking your head and giggling at the same time. This is one of those books that sort of reminds me of 'Bridget Jones Diary,' the two have nothing in common at all, except that they make my life seem normal and in control, even on my very worst of days. By the end of the story I had come to respect Bobbie Faye's character. Yes, she is chaos in motion, but she's also a very strong woman, with a hell bent determination like no other. The language used to tell the story is witty and brimming with puns and sarcasm, which make it that much more enjoyable. I was hooked into this book from page one, and stayed up very late last night because I couldn't put it down. When I finished it, I was a little melancholy because it was through...no more Bobbie Faye. Honestly, I think when life hands me lemons, I will pick this book up and reread it...probably multiple times to help me put my life back into perspective. And the best news? There will be another Bobbie Faye story--there's a little preview of the next book at the end of this one. Which thrilled me to no end. Toni McGee Causey is a very talented writer...the story is absolutely insane, and I loved every minute of it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    Bobbie Faye will make your day (even if she can't make her own)

    This book is amazing -- hysterical, fast-paced, sexy and just right. Ever laugh out loud while reading a book that strangers look at you like you're crazy? This book made me laugh more than any I've ever read. I've read it twice and going back for a third time because I can never make it last -- I race right through it. Can't wait for the next Bobbie Faye adventure!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Funny

    This was a funny story and I had to keep reading to see how it ended. It did drag on just a little bit. Nobodys luck coud be this bad!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Recommend for fun reading

    So much action that it's can be hard to keep up! Well, maybe by reading a little slower instead of racing through the chapters to see what will happen next! How can the main character cause so much destruction?! It's a totally silly book, but a fun read. Makes Janet Evanovich's main character look mild in comparison!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    How much fun can you have?

    This is just an outstanding book. One of those great "what crazy thing can happen next?" kind of book. I had to read snippets out loud to whoever was around. Only once in a great while did I think the plot might be a tad contrived. I liked the Louisiana setting, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    Best Read in 6 years!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!! I am looking forward to the next in the series. This is the first non-textbook Ive been able to read in 6 years, and boy, was it worth the wait! If you like an action packed, witty, vibrant set of characters, then this is the book for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    Absolutely hysterical & fun

    This book is a must read for many reasons....it is hysterical, fun, different than most recent 'girl books', a page turner you won't want to put down....The minute I finished it I searched the author & was thrilled to find a sequel had just been released....I drove to my local BN & Family Jewels is proving to be even better than Bad Day!! You must read both!! Beware you will laugh out loud so if you are in public while reading people will think you are nuts!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Rooting for a loser was never such fun!

    Toni McGee Causey did herself proud with this first of series, and I hope it is the first of dozens more fun and fast volumes relating Bobbie Faye's misadventures. With luck like Bobbie Faye's, calling them adventures would be employing a misnomer. Set in today's Louisiana, there's plenty of Southern charm and colloquialism in the characters and situations, and Bobbie Faye's perseverance in the face of oh so many horrible setbacks is a tribute to all women, Southern or not, who have been there and done that. Bobbie Faye's very bad day starts before dawn with an event that would throw most of us into unbridled panic and/or deep depression, and bad things come so fast, furious, and mercilessly on its heels that Bobbie Faye establishes her worth as a heroine early in the first chapter. Driven by stubborness, love of family, and a personality that just doesn't recognize defeat, despite having met it often, Bobbie Faye shotguns through the necessary course of action, dragging with her seemingly countless innocent, or not, bystanders. Desperate to retrieve her wayward brother from serious harm's way, she has to abandon her personal multiple disasters and give her all rescuing him. Action, hilarity, and even a little ill-timed romance ensues. If you've ever identified with any of Evanovich's Stephanie Plum screw-ups, you'll be right at home with Bobbie Faye. And if you're a Southern female, you'll feel like you've known her for a lifetime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A wild lighthearted bayou tale

    In Lake Charles, Louisiana, twenty-eight years old Bobbie Faye Sumrall wonders what evil she must have done in a previous life to have so many catastrophes. Everyday is a day in which Murphy of law fame proves an optimist in Bobby Faye¿s mind. Somehow whatever could go wrong does if by some miracle a day without disaster occurs, Bobbie Faye assumes she was either dreaming or living someone else's life. Take today, a normal day in the life of the mistress of disaster. The washing machine inundates her trailer home with biblical level flood waters. Kidnappers have abducted her younger brother Roy (she does feel sorry for the felons) demanding her tiara as ransom. Although she needs the tiara to wear as queen of the Contraband Days Festival, she plans to do the right thing if not for Roy, for her five-year-old niece who lives with her. However, at the bank to get the tiara, thieves steal her precious jewelry. Bobbie Faye forces driver Trevor to take her in his truck to follow those thieves. This is just another day in the life of the mistress of disaster.---------------------- This is a wild lighthearted bayou tale stars a heroine who feels like a cloud is always over her head (think of JOE BTFSPLK of Li¿l Abner fame). The story line is a zany series of vignettes as one thing after another goes wrong, which to Bobbie Faye is the norm in her mad, mad, mad, mad world. BOBBIE FAYE'S VERY (VERY, VERY, VERY) BAD DAY is a very good day for readers.------------ Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1