BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bobby and Jackie: A Love Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bobby and Jackie

For anyone interested in the Kennedys or Jackie O, this is a great read! I'm not much for writing on books of this nature, but it was a good book. I wish that the "affair" had not happened because I believe you hurt good people with love afairs. I'm sure Ethel knew abou...
For anyone interested in the Kennedys or Jackie O, this is a great read! I'm not much for writing on books of this nature, but it was a good book. I wish that the "affair" had not happened because I believe you hurt good people with love afairs. I'm sure Ethel knew about the sexual exploits of Bobby and Jack, but it should not have been shoved in her face by being in the "family". Grief is not an excuse for what happened. I believe from reading the book that they really knew each other and might have been good for each other had they not already been married. I also believe it is the reason Jackie married Onassis which was a shame for all involved. Onassis had no love for Jackie either so the whole marriage was a sham. It is truly amazing what we do as adults. I believe the Kennedys could have done so much more if they had been able to put aside their private lives once in a while and this book proves it.

posted by legalsnoop on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Trashy

I thought this was going to be a love story between Bobby and Jackie. Instead it was just a book detailing all the sordid affairs that all the Kennedy's had. I couldn't even finish reading it.

posted by KatieLMA on September 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    makes you want to read more about the kennedys

    Even if this is all fiction I still could not put the book down! It made me want to learn more about the Kennedys and that time period. Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    A well written book quick, fun and entertaining

    WOW this book really has created alot of buzz ! It is a quick history lesson during an exciting time. The 60's! Heymann really captures the era in a quickpaced read full of interesting tidbits. Whats up with all you "haters" out there. Review the book and stop attacking the writer.You only sound like a bunch of whiners and wannabees. Get the book , read it and see for yourself. Heymann is a gifted writer. I loved this book !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Different view of a Kennedy....

    After reading this book, one could easily understand how Bobby and Jackie could enter into a relationship forged by their grief. This book pulls back a few layers and exposes us to a rather touching, albeit sometimes difficult, relationship.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    GOOD READING IF YOU LIVED DURING THIS TIME!!!!!

    Some stories I had read in other books..........but still had a lot of new info....!!! This also lead me to other books to check out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Why

    Why would a stupid guy come and kill a nice president

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Oh boy

    Don't know if this is true or not, but VERY INTERESTING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    The Good Brother

    When the whole JFK-Monroe thing first came up, someone said, "Oh, that certainly explains a lot. Do you think one of the Kennedys had her killed?" I had said if not JFK, than probably poor, longsuffering Jackie, because, I mean. And then the reply was "No, probably Robert. He's the conniver."
    I denied this, thinking, dear God. He's the only good Kennedy, isn't he?
    Well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Excellent-a MUST read

    Loved the book, just when I thought I knew everything about JFK/Jackie and Bobby, boy was I wrong. Very informative, I just could not stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    Bobby and Jackie: Does this finally finish the story?

    I read this book with some trust because I've read others by the same author, who seems to have made the Kennedys and especially Jackie his area of specialization. It's what we like, invasion of the privacy of famous people, told well--that is, without hype or attitude.

    Most of it I had heard before, but one thing was new: an item that I had never heard before and that fit into a theory I have about Ted Kennedy and Mary Jo Kopechne, the girl who drowned in his car at Chappaquiddick. The author says that Mary Jo had been a lover of Bobby when she was a "boiler room girl" during his presidential campaign.

    We know that the Kennedy brothers sometimes shared their women: Marilyn Monroe, for example. What if Ted had turned his car off the road to the ferry to take his turn with Mary Jo--and she had resisted so that he got mad, left her with the car, and walked to the ferry for Edgartown? The rest of this scenario would have her, emotional, maybe in tears, unfamiliar with the road--driving off the bridge to drown all by herself.

    The idea fits reports of Kennedy's dry clothes and unruffled manner when he greeted the desk clerk in the early hours after midnight in Edgartown, as well as his failure to alert anyone to help Mary Jo. In this scenario, he would not have known what happened to her.

    If something like this is what really happened, it raises a question about the American public: why would this rising poltical star choose to present himself as an unbelievably callous coward rather than admit that he had left a girl who turned down his advances? Why would his political advisors agree on this story? Which bad behavior did they believe the American people would be more likely to forgive?

    All the figures in this book are principally human. Bobby is shown as politically driven, unhappily married, and suffering from both the loss of a deeply loved brother and the burden of his father's ambition.

    As for the book's depiction of Jackie, she is so multi-faceted that she remains a mystery, and therefore still fascinating. The author says she loved money more than
    anything else, but he never cracks her pristine public image--a devoted mother, a cultured intellectual, and a superb actress who gave herself to playing out her role for the nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    Avid Reader of anything Kennedy

    I found this book to be enlighting.But it seem to repeat everything most all other kenndy books talk about when it came to Bobby and Jackie and the affair they had.I came to the conculsion along time ago that if Bobby was anything like his brother Jack and Ted and his father Joe,,,then having an affair with sister in law is not tooo far fetch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1