Customer Reviews for

The Bodies Left Behind

Average Rating 3.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

superb cat and mouse thriller

April seventeenth is a day that will affect many lives in Kennnesha County, Wisconsin. It begins with Emma and Steven Feldman enjoying a drink in their mini-mansion vacation home on Lake Mondac. They hear noises outside followed by two gunmen barging into their home. ...
April seventeenth is a day that will affect many lives in Kennnesha County, Wisconsin. It begins with Emma and Steven Feldman enjoying a drink in their mini-mansion vacation home on Lake Mondac. They hear noises outside followed by two gunmen barging into their home. Before they shoot Steven, he connects to the Sheriff¿s Office for a brief moment. --- Sheriff Tom Dahl traces the 911 call and sends Deputy Brynn McKenzie to check it out. She finds the Feldman couple dead on their floor and the two killers Terry Hart and Compton Lewis eerily sitting casually nearby. She gets away running into the nearby woods where she meets Michelle, a friend of the Feldmans, who was visiting them. The two hit men chase after the women because they must have no witnesses to the murders. Brynn leads Michelle into a nearby state park while Hart and Lewis follow them. As they flee the thugs, they soon run into meth manufacturers in a place they thought they can call for help. Even if they somehow survive, Brynn¿s nightmare will not be over as the worst is yet to come. --- This is a superb cat and mouse thriller made even more exciting once the reader concludes that Hart and McKenzie are similar personalities in spite of being on opposite sides of the law. With actions scenes that will translate easily into a movie thriller starring females who prefer to live but will do what it takes to Die Hard if at all as they refuse to break. Fans will enjoy this exciting outdoor wintry thriller with two born killers chasing two strong women. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by Anonymous on September 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as other books

I typically enjoy a Jeff Deaver story - but I was not excited about this one. My husband and I listened to the unabriged audio version on a long trip and it was often dull. Several times it seemed unlikey the choices the characters made. For instance, it's hard to be...
I typically enjoy a Jeff Deaver story - but I was not excited about this one. My husband and I listened to the unabriged audio version on a long trip and it was often dull. Several times it seemed unlikey the choices the characters made. For instance, it's hard to believe a trained police officer would not follow protocol when making an arrest.

posted by sunnysis on January 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    superb cat and mouse thriller

    April seventeenth is a day that will affect many lives in Kennnesha County, Wisconsin. It begins with Emma and Steven Feldman enjoying a drink in their mini-mansion vacation home on Lake Mondac. They hear noises outside followed by two gunmen barging into their home. Before they shoot Steven, he connects to the Sheriff¿s Office for a brief moment. --- Sheriff Tom Dahl traces the 911 call and sends Deputy Brynn McKenzie to check it out. She finds the Feldman couple dead on their floor and the two killers Terry Hart and Compton Lewis eerily sitting casually nearby. She gets away running into the nearby woods where she meets Michelle, a friend of the Feldmans, who was visiting them. The two hit men chase after the women because they must have no witnesses to the murders. Brynn leads Michelle into a nearby state park while Hart and Lewis follow them. As they flee the thugs, they soon run into meth manufacturers in a place they thought they can call for help. Even if they somehow survive, Brynn¿s nightmare will not be over as the worst is yet to come. --- This is a superb cat and mouse thriller made even more exciting once the reader concludes that Hart and McKenzie are similar personalities in spite of being on opposite sides of the law. With actions scenes that will translate easily into a movie thriller starring females who prefer to live but will do what it takes to Die Hard if at all as they refuse to break. Fans will enjoy this exciting outdoor wintry thriller with two born killers chasing two strong women. --- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Could not wait to get back to it!!!!!

    I loved this book. It was suspenseful and never let my attention deviate when I was reading it. Usually fall asleep by 10 and had 3 12oclock nights in a row because I just could not put it down. Would recommend it to anyone who enjoys murder/mystery novels. Loved that the officer it is about was a woman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Great Book.

    Highly recommended. Full of twists and turns that are Deaver's style. The characters you thought you knew are not who they seem to be. Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good fast moving story

    I have read several Jeffery Deaver Books and find him am excellent story teller. The novel moves along at a good pace as do all his books. His charactyers build steadily if predictably in this case. The novel was a "page turner" for me but the fact that it takes place in all one day forces a great deal of action into a compressed time frame which can be a little frustarting since it seems difficult to accept that so much bad can happen to one person in so short a time. Very much like the Die Hard Movies after a while it becomes hard to swallow but worth a read as an escapist novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Decent Book

    Story line was good and interesting. My only complaint was is a little too verbose. Story tended to drag at times. I purchased as an audio book (I use for long drives).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    Preposterous

    I used to love Jeffrey Deaver's books, but they keep getting more and more ridiculous. This one started off pretty well, but then became painful to read in parts with the double-, no, triple-, no wait! quadruple-crosses. I was appalled that his editor would let him get away with such sloppy writing. There were way too many "I know that he knows that I know that he knows what I am going to do, so I will do this!" plus the numerous times the victims are "cornered with no escape, surely this must be the end of the road", ad nauseam. I was very disappointed with the book. I hesitate to purchase another of his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    Interesting Twist

    Leave it to Jeffrey Deaver to keep you guessing to the very end! A good thriller with strong character's that develop nicely. I liked it, this was different and had a real good twist toward the end. I highly recomnmend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My First Jeffery Deaver, and it's Made Me a Fan.

    It's very rare for me to find a "suspense" novel whose ending I can't predict. This one had me delightfully guessing until the very end, and threw me curveball after curveball. The action is very fast-paced, and just sucks you right in. The characters, though, are a little one-dimensional and hard to relate to. You know which ones are "the good guys" (or at least you think you do. . .) and root for them accordingly, but only because you want to see the bad guys defeated, not for any particular attachment to a character. If you're looking to get lost in a good book for a while, and being taken on a roller coaster ride to boot, this one fits the bill. I can't wait to read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Bodies Left Behind

    The plot is intriguing. The characters are flawed which adds realism.
    The story had some twists and turns that made it a good read. After the climax, the story lost momentum. The wrap up was drawn out and needed some spicing up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    another could of been better by deaver

    i usually love deavers books but both of the books for 2008 were disappointments. the bodies left behind was nice in the beginning because it was a stand alone book, all new characters, sometimes lincoln rhyme can get tiring, kathryn dance is still new. i have to say that the story i though was better then the broken window, which i thought was rushed and not throughly worked out. this book the story was interesting up until about 90 pages left when it seems like deaver got tired of writing and just quickly wrapped up the book, more like a inexperienced author would. please mr deaver if you ever see this dont put out 2 books a year again, i would gladly have one great book every year or so rather than 2 ok books every year. still worth a read though, just dont get your hopes up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    Not worth the time or money Pass on this one

    This book read like a very bad made for tv movie. Every move was predictable. Very slow and just plain boring in parts. I hope Mr deaver finds his way back to past success.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as other books

    I typically enjoy a Jeff Deaver story - but I was not excited about this one. My husband and I listened to the unabriged audio version on a long trip and it was often dull. Several times it seemed unlikey the choices the characters made. For instance, it's hard to believe a trained police officer would not follow protocol when making an arrest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    Perhaps I'm a bit biased, but...

    I thought this book was excellent. Sure, it wasn't as great as his Lincoln Rhyme series but it was still good. Full of great twists, like always. I never grew bored of the book or found it slow at all, like others have stated.<BR/><BR/>I really enjoyed the characters, as well. The plot was excellent and I loved the twists. 5 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Great thriller

    First book I've read in a while that i couldnt put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Discover the "Hart" answer and be pleased with yourself

    Deaver’s Deputy Sheriff has drive-to-excel, and an analytical mind. However, she is a day late in asking the question “What of the ‘other gun’ that shot the tires’”? The end question of Hart leaves several options and the reader is forced to either choose one or just smile…or frown because it was not written as to whom last saw him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    Don't waste the money

    This was my first book from Jeffery Deaver, and sadly it will be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Slow moving story

    I enjoy this author usually, but this book took forever to get going into something. I also had a hard time believing that in all that forest and in all the ways to go, the bad guys seemed to be able to know exactly which way to take. The woman could not have had that many crackers!
    The character development was even a bit sketchy at times, and I still don't know if I was sympathetic enough the heroin as she was written to be. I did not find myself rooting for her to be ok, so I think he missed the mark with her. Her husband, Graham on the other hand, I felt bad for. He just seemed like a nice guy, trying to live a nice, normal life with a woman he thought he knew. Was sad to learn that he did not really know her at all.
    The ending did turn out to be a small surprise, but in my opinion it just took too long to get there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    Absolutely LOVED this book!!!

    This was my first Jeffrey Deaver book and I couldn't put it down! I carried the book everywhere with me in case I got a free minute to read. There were so many twists that there was no way to figure it out on your own! I have read a ton of thrillers and this was by far one of the best. Right when I finished this book I quickly bought more books by Jeffrey Deaver!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like thrillers...

    Great quick read. I enjoy Jeffrey Deaver and other murder mystery type books. Fast paced twists and turns. Great area specific descriptions of terrain, flora and fauna. Pretty interesting characters and story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Couldn't wait to get to the conclusion.

    My first read of a Deaver book, I quickly purchased a second book(The Broken Window). The book had many twists in the plot, maybe too many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5