Customer Reviews for

The Body Book

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I'm looking for the series

My daughter is ten, and loves to read, I was looking for something new for her to read and just happen to purchase this book along with the beauty book, and she LOVES them, every time her friends come over these are two of the first books they always pick up to read. It...
My daughter is ten, and loves to read, I was looking for something new for her to read and just happen to purchase this book along with the beauty book, and she LOVES them, every time her friends come over these are two of the first books they always pick up to read. It's easy for them understand and speaks their language, if it's something my daughter doesn't understand we talk about it. I was really impressed with how it broke down the different types of pads and tampons and puts everything in question - answer format. After she read about the pads and tampons we had our own little hands on session at home and I showed her all the different kinds of pads the book refers too and how to put them on and let her walk around to see how they actually felt. I want her to be prepared in case 'it happens' and mommy is not around. The book even gives scriptual references, checklist and other activities for the girls to feel more at ease and comfortable about growing up. It's also a good tool for parents that are afraid to approach the subject with their children. I wish I had this book when I was growing up.

posted by Anonymous on June 21, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Makes me feel weird

I am 11 and my mom got me this book a couple of summers ago and it ruined my whole summer. I would give this book no stars if I could,but I can't. So l wouldn't recommend this book to anyone under 9.

posted by 13567013 on December 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    I'm looking for the series

    My daughter is ten, and loves to read, I was looking for something new for her to read and just happen to purchase this book along with the beauty book, and she LOVES them, every time her friends come over these are two of the first books they always pick up to read. It's easy for them understand and speaks their language, if it's something my daughter doesn't understand we talk about it. I was really impressed with how it broke down the different types of pads and tampons and puts everything in question - answer format. After she read about the pads and tampons we had our own little hands on session at home and I showed her all the different kinds of pads the book refers too and how to put them on and let her walk around to see how they actually felt. I want her to be prepared in case 'it happens' and mommy is not around. The book even gives scriptual references, checklist and other activities for the girls to feel more at ease and comfortable about growing up. It's also a good tool for parents that are afraid to approach the subject with their children. I wish I had this book when I was growing up.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2003

    AWESOME!!!! I love it sooo much i can't say enough!

    OK so yeah, i've read some other books on the subject of pre-adolescents and adolescents(for ex. The American Girl Library Book: The Care and Keeping of you) and that book was pretty interesting but it really was kind of boring because all it did was give you a bunch of boring facts. Unlike this book that gives you fun activities to celebrate 'girl-hood' and does more diagrams of tampons and pads etc. Hope this was helpful.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2004

    The Best I Have Read In A While!

    This book is really good for girls ages 11-15 it really gives you a feel for the big changes ahead!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2001

    Huge help for my pre-adolescent daughter

    This book is highly recommended for girls going through pre-adolescence. It has greatly helped my daughter and some of her friends with their inward struggles. It is written in a very fun and interactive way that engages the girls.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Awesome Book

    My mom bought me this book a few years ago. She tried to read it to me but all I did was cry becuase I did not wan't to grow up. And last year in the second semester everything changed. I started my piriod so I needed info so I started reading this book and it was very helpful. And this year I needed different bras so my mom and I went to the mall and bought some. This book helped me not to be afraid to talk to it with my mom. So, thank you Nancy Rue

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Press here and read please

    I really enjoyed it but was alittle dissopointed because it had writing parts and you cant write in a nook.Its anice book of body care.I already have the hardcover AG one but that only gives you the faccts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Makes me feel weird

    I am 11 and my mom got me this book a couple of summers ago and it ruined my whole summer. I would give this book no stars if I could,but I can't. So l wouldn't recommend this book to anyone under 9.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Very thorough and age appropriate!

    I read this book before giving it to my 9 year-old to read. I thought the language was age appropriate and explained what she needed to know for right now. The book also referred her back to me if she has questions which reiterates what I've already told her. In addition, the book links everything back to God, an important factor for us. I would encourage any mother/caregiver of a preteen to use this book to have that oh so hard, yet very important, talk about body changes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I just finished this book fifteen minutes ago. It was .....................
    Supercoolathrillalisticawesomeniceadocous (aka)
    Supercalafragalisticxpaladocous. In other words
    it was super cool thrilling awesome and nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    The Body Book

    This is a great book for girls who have quesrions about maturing. It also connects it to GOD, which is also very good. I enjoyed filling out the questions because it helped me learn more about myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    ( 38&74gkfkfjfj

    Kdkejfjvvdkdkdkf

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Several years ago I was talking to a friend about not having a c

    Several years ago I was talking to a friend about not having a clue what to say to my daughter when she came to ‘that’ age and my friend said — I got a book. Well, when I grabbed this book from Netgalley I was thinking it would be a cute read but I didn’t even get through two chapters before I realized that it was definitely the book for my house.
    This book walked us through all of the changes going on and explained to her in a factual but fun way why and how. It made the whole maturing process less fearsome and more awesome.
    The Body Book walks you through each of the steps of change and helps you to see where you are in the process and lets you know the things your going to need to deal with in the near future. It also helps to know when you’re going to need the help of an adult and when you can handle it on your own.
    This book is great for the girls to read by themselves, though, we really did enjoy reading a chapter a week and discussing it fully before moving on to the next section.
    Thank you so much, Nancy Rue!!

    More…
    Author: Nancy Rue
    Source: Tommy Nelson via Netgalley
    Grade: A+
    Ages: 7-15

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Awesome Book Nancy Rue

    Okay, I gotta say, this is a great book. From everything about your growing body to health. GET THIS BOOK!! Pictures are awesome and the companion book, Lily Robbins MD. I love u Nancy Rue....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1