Customer Reviews for

Body Check

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    Body Check!

    What a great new author! This is the first Deidre Martin book I have read, and I was pleasantly surprised....actually thrilled! I love Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Rachel Gibson, Susan Donovan, Lisa Kleyas and many more. But, I've read everything they've written and was desperately searching for a new author, and I'm so glad I decided to try this author. The writing was smooth and polished, the characters fleshed out nicely and the plot believable. The thing I liked most about this book/author is the same thing I love about the above mentioned authors...the focus remained on the lead characters!!!!! I wasn't overwhelmed with drivel I couldn't care less about like thirty different second lead characters, endless description and history that takes the focus from the main plot, nor did Ms. Martin makes us wait through half the book before the action between the leads began. Bravo Deidre Martin! You've just won yourself a newly devoted reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book for hockey lovers!

    I am a hockey lover and I loved this book. I loved the characters and the plot. This is still a good book even if you don't know about hockey. Overall a very good book and I couldnt put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    amazin'!!!!!

    omg i LOVE D.M!<BR/>this is one of her best :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    Wow

    This was my first book by Martin, but it was certainly not my last! I'm so glad I randomly found this book, what a treat it was!! The two main characters are great and I loved it how they weren't perfect. Ty does not do romance during hockey season and said some hurtful things to Janna when they 'broke up,' and Janna had things she had to figure out about owning a PR company, but that made them human. And, Ty definitely encompasses many things that a hero is expected to have and Janna is no doubt a great heroine as well. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about their obstacles and while I felt Ty got off a little too easy with Janna at the end, I simply adored this book. Pick this book up, Janna and Ty are great together!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    5 Thumbs Up!

    I cannot say too many good things about this book. It was simply awsome! Loved the love/hate between the main characters! Superb! Wonderful! Amazing! Ms. Martin's best to date! A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Great Book

    All I have to say is LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2003

    Must read!

    This book was so addictive. Couldn't put it down once I started reading it. Ty is so charming. Janna is smart and witty. Love the two!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    This author has possibly tapped into a new gentre of romance.

    Janna MacNeil proved that she could pull off miracles as the publicist for a soap opera. Now, after a charity with family values buys a rowdy, skirt chasing, possibly illegal drug taking hockey team and wants to revamp their image, she has the challenge of a lifetime. The team captain, Ty Gallagher makes it no easier when he butts heads with her at every opportunity. He refuses to sign up for charity publicity ops, and just downright gets under her skin. When he does appear at a charity function, it is with a bimbo, who happens to be Janna's baby sister. ........... After this encounter, the two find that they value each other's opinion of them even more than they want to admit, and suddenly, the bridge between them is crossed. The inevitable happens, but that does not make life easier between them. It gets even worse when Janna's best friend is nearly raped by a teammate. Sides have to be drawn and chosen, and major life decisions have to be confronted. Love falls off the priority list. Or does it? .............. ***** When I told my best friend that there was a hockey romance coming out I wanted to review for her sake, her first response was "How can you have a hockey romance?" Maybe it was a challenge to write, but whatever, it was well done. The characters are all engaging, and the romance and humor make every page well worthwhile. However, don't make the mistake of thinking it's a lightweight humorous read; the laughter is well balanced by a serious story line and true to life characters. The only thing missing would be a wedding on ice. Ty alone is enough to convince even a non sports lover to go to a hockey game! With gratitude, the reader will find that this is only the beginning of a series, so there is more on the way! *****

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    Nice romance - we all change through life and make different choices as we grow. Great Sunday afternoon read. I would read more from Deirdre Martin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Turned me into a hockey fan!

    I usually stay away from contemp. novels but this one caught my attention. This was a fun read full of banter, sexual tension and great secondary characters. Careful, Martin will hook you into the whole hockey "family" and before you know it you will have read all her other works...like I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    WOW!

    Ty was HOT HOT HOT!!! lol I really enjoyed this book. It kept me captivated to the very end. I only wish it had been a little bit longer with more intimate moments between the two characters. But I will be reading more of her novels in the future. PLUS HOCKEY ROCKS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Great story

    I just loved this book couldnt put it down. Already purchased the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    best book ever!!!!!

    this was one of the best books I've ever read, it has so many twists in its plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Excellent

    Wow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Love this Series - Check it out!!!

    I had been reading a lot of serious romance novels and was looking to switch things up a little bit, this book was perfect! Since reading this book I have gone on to read 3 more books in the series. I found that there is just the right amount of comedy and romance in her books. Very enjoyable!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    Body Check This!

    This book was such a disappointment. I thought that it would be a nice and funny read but instead I was practically bored to tears with plot and characters. Save yourself a few dollars and buy another book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2004

    AWSOME BOOK

    This was such a great book!! I could not put it down. It was light and alot of fun to read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    Really Really Lame !!!

    I was not a fan of this book or this writer. This was the second and last book by this daffy writer that I will ever read! She has little or no talent for this genre. Think I'll go back to the pros like Philips, Ross, Collins and Babb, just to name a few.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    WOW!!!

    This is one of those books you read over and over and you always find something new!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    Soooooooooo Goood

    I Love This Book So Much!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5