Customer Reviews for

Body Confidence: Venice Nutrition's 3-Step System That Unlocks Your Body's Full Potential

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    A must read!

    This is the real deal! No gimmicks and no diets,just permanent results. It so easy to follow and no deprivation! I love to eat and I can eat with this plan. Its awesome.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    A MUST read for EVERYONE....even if you think you already know!!

    As a medical student at Emory, and personal trainer I thought I knew everything there was to know about nutrition and excercise......but I was wrong. Mark MacDonald's program, Venice Nutrition completely changed the way I eat and live my day to day life. I didn't think it would be possible to be medical school student and still maintain a healthy lifestyle. I feel great!!!! Everyone always says how tiring medical school is, but I actually have more energy now than ever!! Living the Venice Nutrition lifestyle has changed everything about my body, mind, and confidence. I would recommend this book and the entire program to anyone and everyone. If you want to lose weight or just have more energy this is the way to go! I have learned as much if not more about the human body from this book as I have in my classes...the science cannot be beat and the results are real. The best money and time you will ever spend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Finally the answers I needed!!

    Having dieted most of my life, I was on a roller coaster and it was emotionally crippling. When I found out about Venice Nutrition and began implementing the 3-Step System, my life changed for the better - forever! I was able to understand how my body worked, how food and sleep and exercise affected my body and finally got the body I have always wanted! A must read for everyone - athletes, moms, dads, singles, teens, etc. Mark MacDonald's program is truly special and I highly recommend buying the book and changing your life for the better!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Recommend read for everyone!

    This program is amazing. It is nice to finally have something out there that is backed by science and physiology and works for all body types. If you want to lose, gain weight or just maintain and feel your very best this is for you. Have Body Confidence forever!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    Everybody should read

    Applicable to everyone whether you want to lose weight or just learn to eat healthy. Teach optimal eating habits that are practical.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    This is the answer!!

    Thank you Mark Macdonald for this wonderful information!!! After trying every diet and meal plan out there, I have finally found one that is actually possible to stick to for life! And to think - all it took was a little science lesson. I consider it a miracle that cravings can be eliminated by having stable blood sugar. Why did I not know this before??? I am so happy with my results (that I have been able to successfully maintain!) from doing the Venice Nutrition program.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    Highly Recommend this book!

    Life changing nutrition book....a must have!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended-you must check it out!!

    This book is so informative! I always thought I knew how to eat healthy. What I didn't know was how to eat correctly. Big difference and definitely life changing! A great read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Buy, Read and Share this book with everyone you love

    Finally there is a book out there that shows real people how to achieve real results that will last for a lifetime. Before I became a coach, I became a Venice Nutrition client. Many programs will teach nutrition and offer menu sugestions, but The VN system taught me about balancing my quadrant; the aspects of my life that affect the way that my body responds to food. As a fitness professional, author and coach, I find Mark's comprehensive, yet reader-friendly applications to be useful and powerful. Very Powerful.

    In addition to stabilizing blood-sugar levels throughout the day, this book will enlighten and elevate your thinking. You are not just what you eat, you are what you metabolize. I can honestly tell you that thanks to Mark, I can once again comfortably fit into my US Navy Dress Blues Uniform that fit perfectly at age 27 - now at age 45, that makes me happy.

    Just as I am now free from the shackles of aging, you too can find liberation and true joy "within your skin" once you learn how to get your levels under control...and you can enjoy your life in the process!
    This is body confidence. It's not vanity. It's not arrogance. It's confidence; and body confidence is a beautiful thing - you will be, too once you learn and live Mark's Venice Nutriton principles.

    Please, if you've tried and failed with fatloss pills, diets and info-mercial gimmicks, I beg you to get off life's treadmill and do the Venice Nutrition System. Don't try it; do it. You will win. Stop wasting your time and your hard earned dollars - It is time to step up to a new level of thinking. The search is over, and the solutions are here. Buy this book now to unlock your body's full potential!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    A Must Read! This book is a true life changer

    Well I'm happy to say that I will never buy another diet book again. After years of what seemed like starving myself (aka: dieting) to look a certain way I finally understand how it all works. I felt like I was reading my own life story as I read about MacDonald's struggles with dieting in the late 90's - the thing that stood out the most to me was how he said "when in life are creating deficits a good thing" OMG why did I think eating 500 calories a day was good for me! This book changed it all for me, I'm 2 weeks into the program and I can't remember ever feeling this good in my life. My energy is through the roof, I'm never starving like in the old days, and my skinny jeans are loose on me!!! Yay! Women know what it feels like to have jeans squeeze your fat (loved Chelsea's foreward on her muffin top). anyway get this book! thank you so much!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Body Confidence Works-It has changed my thoughts on food and exercise

    I first learned about Body Confidence from Venice Nutrition in August 2009. In 5 months my way of thinking about exercise and nutrition was transformed as I learned more about the fundamental principles of:

    a-protein, fat and carb balances in each meal
    b-calories/meal to eat
    c-frequency of meals

    The myths of the diet fad world were erased such as eliminate carbs, don't eat before bed, etc. My metabolism increased, my energy soared and my workouts were revised and in weeks I was seeing fitness improvements that I had failed to see on any other program. I dropped over 35 lbs and 16% body fat in 5 months and have maintained that level of fitness for over 18 months.

    I have watched family and friends benefit from this same program which is based on sound nutrition fundamentals. Purchasing this book will be the last book that you need to buy to reach your fitness and nutrition goals. Body Confidence is for you if you are ready to take your body and health to the next level!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    Lots of powerful information!!!

    This book is very well written, entertaining, and most importantly filled with information on attaining and maintaining better health, appropriate body weight and composition, and tools to keep on going even when life happens. This approach is not a diet! It is a lifestyle, a way of thinking about food and feeding the body, a way of working with the body to help the body reach its full potential for health. This information is what we have all wanted and have not gotten through all the diet fads that have come and gone. I am excited about the progress I have seen in my own body.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Easy to Follow Guide to Getting Permanent Results - Highly Recommend

    Mark MacDonald is a proven true pioneer in the field of nutrition. In his book, Body Confidence, he has put together the cutting edge science information of blood sugar stabilization into a simple to follow action plan that can work for absolutely any health and fitness goal. As a kinesiologist, strength and conditioning coach, and nutritionist I had been frustrated for years with all the myths and old information that didn't make any sense or had any real science to back it up. Mark uncovers all of these myths and lays out the facts. He gives clearly defined and realistic strategies to implement into your current lifestyle that create PERMANENT RESULTS. I've been turning my clients onto Venice Nutrition for many years and the results have been phenomenal. This book has the potential to make the biggest difference in our health as a nation because with blood sugar stabilization many of our current medical challenges could be averted. Of course we would all look and feel a lot better too!! Most importantly, this is not a diet. Diets fail! Venice Nutrition is an actual program for real life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    My Last-Ditch Effort...

    I lived a life of always seeking for the next 'Big Thing' the diet that I would really glean all that it said I would. I was caught up in a vicious cycle that always left me feel like a helpless failure. By the time I was in my early thirties I was depressed and ALMOST ready to resolve myself to a life of being overweight and feeling like CRAP. That's when I found Venice Nutrition. It was my one last-ditch effort. I really didn't expect anything-I thought I was broken and couldn't be fix..I thought I knew everything about dieting-after all I'd been on one since elementary school, and studied countless diets and weight loss theories- I drank the drinks, took the pills, I even purchased an appetite suppressing lip gloss once when I was 17.

    At last I NEVER have to DIET AGAIN!!! I won't tell you that there isn't a learning curve, but as I've heard Mark say over the years 'the juice IS worth the squeeze'!

    It is the best health insurance you will ever invest in!!!

    Wendy Martin... Conyers, GA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Excellent!

    It's about YOU. Great for individuals looking for a custom approach to personalized nutrition and healthcare. It fits into your life, not your life fitting into it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    FINALLY, a health plan that really works!

    This amazing body of work, BODY CONFIDENCE, has opened my eyes to what I always thought I knew, but really didn't. Venice Nutrition, and specifically Mark MacDonald, has been instrumental in "educating" me on how my body works. With his program and close personal attention I lost a total of 89 lbs. I now truly look at the concept of blood-sugar stabilization as an ongoing "lifestyle" that I can wholeheartedly embrace...and can work into my world! Who knew that my chocolate cravings could ever subside? Yet, they have! I know Venice Nutrition works, as it has played a major role in my life these last two years. BODY CONFIDENCE has inspired me to make my own well-being a priority.and now with my renewed focus on my personal health and my body, I know I have successfully taken things to a new level. A WORTHWHILE INVESTMENT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Losing weight with the program...looking forward to the book

    I've been on the Venice Nutrition program for a few weeks (was introduced to it by my girlfriend). Being a guy who knows nothing about healthy food and likes to drink beer, I wasn't sure I could do it. But I have been and it's working. My energy is better, my clothes are fitting better and I'm already down a notch in my belt. I'm looking forward to the book and have heard great things. I feel confident that I'll be able to reach my goals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    CANT WAIT!!!!!!!

    Im familiar with this program and am reaaaallly looking foward to this book coming out. This book is literally going to be life changing!

    Thank You Venice Nutrition!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Lifestyle Change not a diet!!!

    I am not sure how to even begin telling you how amazing this book is. I was one of those kids that was over weight my entire child hood. I continued to gain more and more through high school. I was on diets all through high school and through out my early 20's. Me and the yo-yo diets were pretty much attached at the hips! Feb. 2009 was when I met Mark MacDonald and changed my life as i knew it. I walked into an office expecting to see some sleezy car salesman that was going to tell me about this wonderful new diet. That it was the best thing ever and i would lose all this weight and life would just be wonderful! To my suprise it wasn't though, it was a man that wanted to understand who i was and why i wanted to become healthy! He educated me on understanding my body and how different foods would effect me. The biggest thing i remember about my first meeting is that not one time did Mark mention dieting. That's the cool thing about Body Confidence its not a diet. It is a complete lifestyle change. It's not just your food or your working out patterns it is so much more. This book helps you get to the point where you can walk around with your shoulders back chest out a big smile on your face and be happy with yourself inside and out. You will find yourself saying i Can a lot more. I can't tell you how many times I have said: "Oh i will never be able to do that", prior to Body Confidence. From almost a 300 pound guy that struggled with weight his whole life, to a guy that started body confidence and incorporated it into his life changes answers from I can't to I will! I dropped over 100 pounds and went from not being able to run around a track to doing a half marathon. People say miracles are not possible but Body Confidence was a mircale in my eyes! I personally can tell you with out a doubt in my mind; If you stick to what this book tells you there is not one person that can fail at becoming a healthy person inside and out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Highly recommended - learn to work with your body for great results!

    This program teaches you to stabilize your blood sugar to maximize your energy level and health. It changed my life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3