Customer Reviews for

The Body Farm (Kay Scarpetta Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Summer Reading I actually enjoyed!

This summer I was assigned to read and do a report on my reading. I assumed that I would pick a girly book that I can relate to. Those books I usually read and go through them like there is no tomorrow. However, this year I went outside the box and chose something I usu...
This summer I was assigned to read and do a report on my reading. I assumed that I would pick a girly book that I can relate to. Those books I usually read and go through them like there is no tomorrow. However, this year I went outside the box and chose something I usually do not read...a horror. I always loved horror films and figured I would love a horror book. The Body Farm by Particia Cornwell is a fantastic read. Now the book I have was published in 1994 and I was worried it would be outdated; the minute I sat down to read, it jumps right into the plot. The plot is of an eleven year old girl named Emily Steiner who went missing in Black Mountain, North Carolina. Dr. Kay Scarpetta is assigned to this case through the FBI, where she finds herself doing more than examining for the cause of death. Everyone in the case thinks the famous serial killer Gault is the one responsible for the disappearance and murder of the little girl. As Dr. Scarpetta gets more into the case she realizes this is not the one who abolished the perfectly innocent eleven years old. This is when the novel takes a turn and gets very interesting. This book is not your ordinary novel for it has more than one plot in it including the one of Dr. Scarpetta's rebellious niece and she pulls you into the book even more. You cannot put this down until you figure out the evil behind everything. I highly would recommend this book even if it isn't your usual read. Enjoy!

posted by DonnaApple on September 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

waste of time!!!!!

I would like to give a zero stars, but it would not let me do that! The plot is awful, and looked to me, like she just wanted to add more pages to the book! Very poor narration, and style. She has 3 different stories running together, with no relationship what so ever. ...
I would like to give a zero stars, but it would not let me do that! The plot is awful, and looked to me, like she just wanted to add more pages to the book! Very poor narration, and style. She has 3 different stories running together, with no relationship what so ever. Will never buy her book again.

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    Summer Reading I actually enjoyed!

    This summer I was assigned to read and do a report on my reading. I assumed that I would pick a girly book that I can relate to. Those books I usually read and go through them like there is no tomorrow. However, this year I went outside the box and chose something I usually do not read...a horror. I always loved horror films and figured I would love a horror book. The Body Farm by Particia Cornwell is a fantastic read. Now the book I have was published in 1994 and I was worried it would be outdated; the minute I sat down to read, it jumps right into the plot. The plot is of an eleven year old girl named Emily Steiner who went missing in Black Mountain, North Carolina. Dr. Kay Scarpetta is assigned to this case through the FBI, where she finds herself doing more than examining for the cause of death. Everyone in the case thinks the famous serial killer Gault is the one responsible for the disappearance and murder of the little girl. As Dr. Scarpetta gets more into the case she realizes this is not the one who abolished the perfectly innocent eleven years old. This is when the novel takes a turn and gets very interesting. This book is not your ordinary novel for it has more than one plot in it including the one of Dr. Scarpetta's rebellious niece and she pulls you into the book even more. You cannot put this down until you figure out the evil behind everything. I highly would recommend this book even if it isn't your usual read. Enjoy!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kay Scarpetta Series

    I recommend reading the whole series starting with book #1 [postmortem] I loved all the characters the twist and turn of the plots and am know patiently waiting for the next book. enjoy!!! Here's the titles in order
    #2 Body of Evidence #3 All that remains #4 Cruel and unusual #5 The body farm #6 From potter's field #7 Cause of death #8 Unnatural exposure #9 Point of origin #10 Black notice #11 The last precinct #12 Blow fly #13 Trace #14 Predator #15 Scarpetta.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    waste of time!!!!!

    I would like to give a zero stars, but it would not let me do that! The plot is awful, and looked to me, like she just wanted to add more pages to the book! Very poor narration, and style. She has 3 different stories running together, with no relationship what so ever. Will never buy her book again.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    ** spoiler alert ** This was my second time reading The Body Farm. I read it several years ago on a whim without reading any of the prior books. This time I am reading the Scarpetta series in order. Although The Body Farm was excellent the first time around, it was even better after reading Cruel and Unusual. I highly recommend reading Cruel and Unusual first. I feel like you get more out of The Body Farm by doing so.

    A lot of unexpected things happened in this book that I would have not suspected. Kay Scarpetta has an affair with Benton Wesley. Pete Marino has an affair with the mother with the mother of the little girl who was murdered. I did not expect those things out of those characters.

    Gault is suspected in the crimes that occur in the little town of Black Mountain, North Carolina. All the pieces seem to fit the puzzle. Lucy is almost killed in Virginia. Without the excellent detective skills of Dr. Scarpetta, the real killer would have never been caught. Her excellent intuition is what solves the case, saves Marino's life, and possibly her own life.

    I read other reviews and someone mentioned that they were disappointed at the title of the book, The Body Farm, because the book was not about that. Actually, the experiment on The Body Farm is what gave the clue that sealed the deal in the end. In fact, without that piece of evidence, I don't know that Scarpetta could have proven who the killer was.

    The Body Farm is my favorite so far in The Scarpetta Series. I am excited to start reading From Potters Field.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVED this book!

    What a fantastic book...couldn't put it down! Kudos for a great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Body Farm

    ¿There is no other in the world, mine was the only one¿ - Emily Dickinson Nothing ever happens in the small rural town of Black Mountain, nothing until the shocking murder of eleven-year-old Emily Steiner. Patricia Cornwell, a New York Times Best Seller, reintroduces Dr. Kay Scarpetta, a forensic scientist who plays the lead role in most of Cornwell¿s works, in the exhilarating novel, The Body Farm. The suspense o this novel will keep you on the edge of your seat and the mystery concealed within its pages will ensure that you stay hooked from the very beginning. Emily Steiner¿s case becomes increasingly difficult with the introduction of several peculiar pieces of evidence, such as: the mysterious mark found on Emily¿s body, the custom made fluorescent orange duct tape, the skin samples found in a dead sheriff¿s freezer and the unusual residue discovered lingering on the girls body. This evidence leads to several new suspects in the crime and makes the truth of the case more difficult to decipher. The hysterical, attention-seeking, mother of the victim is a major setback to the case, and ends up attracting the attention of the lead investigator in her daughter¿s murder. In attempting to find justice for Emily Steiner, Dr. Scarpetta finds her personal life growing in difficulty. While working on the case, she is introduced to many people who lead to several new interesting relationships, and a scandal at the high security facility where she works involving her niece, who later on nearly gets killed in a car crash, has her more than occupied. Yet Kay finds herself deeply embedded in this convoluted path of leads, dead ends, incriminating evidence, suspects, and criminals. Only one combination can be right, but the question is, can Kay figure it all out before time is up? There is only one way to tell. This story line¿s many twists and turns are sure to have your mind racing with questions and possible theories. It is guaranteed, however, that most of your theories will be wrong. This story will keep your nose in the book its several twists are intriguing, but the ending is the most shocking of all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2002

    Extremely Good!!!

    I read this book over vacation and I loved it. I couldn't put it down once I started! I usually don't read unless I have too! However, I picked this up and I just couldn't stop. I have never read anything from the author before but I would love to recommend her to others becuase it is so good and it stays interesting through the whole thing. I didn't expect it to end the way it did but with my understanding of Biology it helped me to grasp the book very well! I hope all future readers will enjoy I know that I sure did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 1999

    Kay scarpetta

    I have enjoyed all of Scapetta's books. This is one of my favorite so far. It's when Kay and Benton got to gather, I could not belive that in Point of Origin He dies I cried, and then in Black Notice, The letter that Benton wrote the a year after his death was so sad. I Can't wait to read The Last Precinct: I hope, Kay and Agent Talley get together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2015

    Dragon Scorch

    He smiled and snagged a mouse, biting it's ear off accidently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2015

    Eagletree (Formerly Known As Mooneye)

    Spots a squirrel in the distance. He gets into a crouching position and focuses on his prey. A few foxtail lengths away, he pounces on the furry animal. He gives a strong blow with a bite as the squirrel falls motionless. He proudly carries it in his teeth to Res 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Apprentices

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Dappletail

    Great job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Deerpaw

    Licked his chest fur, embarassed. "Thanks."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Cloverstar

    "Deerpaw where are you?"she flatted her ears and slunk down sadly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Another great mystery Read

    I really enjoy the Kay Scarpetta series and as soon as I read one in the series, I immediately go to the next one. Keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    An 11-year old girls body was discovered and found evidence rega

    An 11-year old girls body was discovered and found evidence regarding tracks of a known serial killer. Since Scarpetta is a forensic pathologist she examines the body and noticed some conditions on the body, that will lead her to the Body Farm. The Body Farm is a laboratory where some forensic scientists studies the body, as well as the stage of decomposition they are in, which help her to get more evidence. Scarpetta gets a little distracted from the case due to her niece getting dismissed from her FBI internship, because she intended to kill her aunt. Scarpetta gets so overwhelmed with stuff and knows she needs to get back to the case of the girl, yet with her niece getting dismissed from the FBI, it let other clues to the serial killer that also had worked for the FBI. She begins to understand the murders incentive and motivations. Being involved in this case, she gets down to business by interviewing and questioning witnesses and suspects, visiting sites, and she goes out of her way to understand and crack down on this case and this killer. With many others trying to help her, she wants to do this case all on her own. She begins to figure out the case and who the serial killer could be. Patricia Cornwell has a different, although amazing writing which can really pull the reader in. Since I first starting reading this I could tell I would not be able to put this book down. It came so much into my attention that everything I read was like a movie in my mind because her writing painted a picture in my head understanding all that is going on. The only thing was that the story was complicated if your attention was not fully focused on the text. Otherwise, this book was an amazing book. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone, though it’s a suspense/ crime book, I think it will grab anyone’s attention, no matter what type of reading your into. Though I have no read any other works by Patricia Cornwell, I have heard the whole series is amazing, yet I started reading the series by reading the middle book, starting from the top might be better so you can get the full affect. Overall, this book was one the best I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    Another great book in the Cornwell series. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND anyone who loves mysteries to read these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Wow...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    michigan

    great book! I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7