Customer Reviews for

The Body Farm (Kay Scarpetta Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Summer Reading I actually enjoyed!

This summer I was assigned to read and do a report on my reading. I assumed that I would pick a girly book that I can relate to. Those books I usually read and go through them like there is no tomorrow. However, this year I went outside the box and chose something I usu...
This summer I was assigned to read and do a report on my reading. I assumed that I would pick a girly book that I can relate to. Those books I usually read and go through them like there is no tomorrow. However, this year I went outside the box and chose something I usually do not read...a horror. I always loved horror films and figured I would love a horror book. The Body Farm by Particia Cornwell is a fantastic read. Now the book I have was published in 1994 and I was worried it would be outdated; the minute I sat down to read, it jumps right into the plot. The plot is of an eleven year old girl named Emily Steiner who went missing in Black Mountain, North Carolina. Dr. Kay Scarpetta is assigned to this case through the FBI, where she finds herself doing more than examining for the cause of death. Everyone in the case thinks the famous serial killer Gault is the one responsible for the disappearance and murder of the little girl. As Dr. Scarpetta gets more into the case she realizes this is not the one who abolished the perfectly innocent eleven years old. This is when the novel takes a turn and gets very interesting. This book is not your ordinary novel for it has more than one plot in it including the one of Dr. Scarpetta's rebellious niece and she pulls you into the book even more. You cannot put this down until you figure out the evil behind everything. I highly would recommend this book even if it isn't your usual read. Enjoy!

posted by DonnaApple on September 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

waste of time!!!!!

I would like to give a zero stars, but it would not let me do that! The plot is awful, and looked to me, like she just wanted to add more pages to the book! Very poor narration, and style. She has 3 different stories running together, with no relationship what so ever. ...
I would like to give a zero stars, but it would not let me do that! The plot is awful, and looked to me, like she just wanted to add more pages to the book! Very poor narration, and style. She has 3 different stories running together, with no relationship what so ever. Will never buy her book again.

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    Summer Reading I actually enjoyed!

    This summer I was assigned to read and do a report on my reading. I assumed that I would pick a girly book that I can relate to. Those books I usually read and go through them like there is no tomorrow. However, this year I went outside the box and chose something I usually do not read...a horror. I always loved horror films and figured I would love a horror book. The Body Farm by Particia Cornwell is a fantastic read. Now the book I have was published in 1994 and I was worried it would be outdated; the minute I sat down to read, it jumps right into the plot. The plot is of an eleven year old girl named Emily Steiner who went missing in Black Mountain, North Carolina. Dr. Kay Scarpetta is assigned to this case through the FBI, where she finds herself doing more than examining for the cause of death. Everyone in the case thinks the famous serial killer Gault is the one responsible for the disappearance and murder of the little girl. As Dr. Scarpetta gets more into the case she realizes this is not the one who abolished the perfectly innocent eleven years old. This is when the novel takes a turn and gets very interesting. This book is not your ordinary novel for it has more than one plot in it including the one of Dr. Scarpetta's rebellious niece and she pulls you into the book even more. You cannot put this down until you figure out the evil behind everything. I highly would recommend this book even if it isn't your usual read. Enjoy!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    An 11-year old girls body was discovered and found evidence rega

    An 11-year old girls body was discovered and found evidence regarding tracks of a known serial killer. Since Scarpetta is a forensic pathologist she examines the body and noticed some conditions on the body, that will lead her to the Body Farm. The Body Farm is a laboratory where some forensic scientists studies the body, as well as the stage of decomposition they are in, which help her to get more evidence. Scarpetta gets a little distracted from the case due to her niece getting dismissed from her FBI internship, because she intended to kill her aunt. Scarpetta gets so overwhelmed with stuff and knows she needs to get back to the case of the girl, yet with her niece getting dismissed from the FBI, it let other clues to the serial killer that also had worked for the FBI. She begins to understand the murders incentive and motivations. Being involved in this case, she gets down to business by interviewing and questioning witnesses and suspects, visiting sites, and she goes out of her way to understand and crack down on this case and this killer. With many others trying to help her, she wants to do this case all on her own. She begins to figure out the case and who the serial killer could be. Patricia Cornwell has a different, although amazing writing which can really pull the reader in. Since I first starting reading this I could tell I would not be able to put this book down. It came so much into my attention that everything I read was like a movie in my mind because her writing painted a picture in my head understanding all that is going on. The only thing was that the story was complicated if your attention was not fully focused on the text. Otherwise, this book was an amazing book. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone, though it’s a suspense/ crime book, I think it will grab anyone’s attention, no matter what type of reading your into. Though I have no read any other works by Patricia Cornwell, I have heard the whole series is amazing, yet I started reading the series by reading the middle book, starting from the top might be better so you can get the full affect. Overall, this book was one the best I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    good read recommend

    great book but isn't this the same book that was released in 2005 with a new cover?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    Good Book

    Not as 'on the edge of your seat' as her other Scarpetta novels, but certaintly a very good read. I really liked the story plot & the forensics in this book, but the book only took you into the 'Body Farm' for one chapter! I wish she could have taken us deeper into the science there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    Well done

    Certainly not on par with THE LAST PRECINCT or ALL THAT REMAINS, this novel still plants seeds of suspense as you inch page by page to the thrilling climax. The end leaves you breathless and wanting more. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    KelZ ReViEw

    This was a really good book it was well worth it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2002

    One of her Best

    I always enjoy a good Patricia Cornwell book, this one was even better than her previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2002

    Pretty Good

    This was a pretty good read, It was sad about the little girl. Alot of good twists in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2000

    review for Body Farm

    This was my first Patricia Cornwell novel to read. I enjoyed her discriptive writing and detail in each scene. This book will keep the reader reading through the night to discover how the twisted story will end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3