Customer Reviews for

The Body Finder (Body Finder Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 531 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(345)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Me for TeensReadToo.com

Bear with me for a moment as I gush fanatically about how much I loved THE BODY FINDER like some crazed Twilighter who has just caught a glimpse of Robert Pattinson. I loved this book. Absolutely, totally, completely loved it. I want to, as I used to say when I was seve...
Bear with me for a moment as I gush fanatically about how much I loved THE BODY FINDER like some crazed Twilighter who has just caught a glimpse of Robert Pattinson. I loved this book. Absolutely, totally, completely loved it. I want to, as I used to say when I was seven, marry this book. If I could, I would erase it from my memory and go back and read it all over again, just to experience it anew. And, right this minute, I would gladly give up either of my children to have another book featuring Violet and Jay to read right...this...minute.

Okay, end of maniacal gushing about how awesome this book is.

THE BODY FINDER has to be one of the most unique YA books I've ever read. It deals with a serial killer, which I've never run across before in a book marketed to teens and young adults. Since reading about serial killers is one of my favorite pastimes (no cruel jokes about my tormented psyche here, please), I knew before I even began reading the story that it was probably going to be great.

It also deals with a teen who can sense death. A sound, a smell, a feeling, a presence - somehow, ever since she was little, Violet Ambrose could find things that had died. It started out as finding dead animals, but one particularly horrifying experience at age eight had Violet discovering the body of a young girl. So far, Violet has never been overly-traumatized by her special ability. She has the full support and understanding of both her parents and her best friend, Jay Heaton, so she's never had to deal with this talent all alone.

This year, though, things are about to change.

First, she's having some definitely non-friendly feelings towards Jay. Somehow, she's begun to notice not just how funny and smart he is, but also how hot and sexy he is. The more she tries to convince everyone around her that she doesn't have a thing for Jay, the harder it is to convince herself of the same thing.

Secondly, someone is abducting and killing young girls in the area around where Violet lives. With the ability to sense not only those that have recently died, but the lingering effects of death on those that have caused it, Violet is determined to figure out who is wreaking havoc on her town. With or without Jay's help, she plans to follow her senses wherever they take her, hoping that they'll lead her to the killer so that she can point him out to her uncle, who happens to be the sheriff.

But as almost always happens in cases like this, Violet and Jay find themselves up against something - or someone - a whole lot more crafty and cunning than they could have imagined. If they're not careful, they could end up being the next victims of this vicious killer.

Okay, just a little bit more gushing. Not only is the storyline of THE BODY FINDER amazing, so are the characters and the dialogue. I have to give Kimberly Derting the highest praise for writing a story that never, ever patronizes its intended readers. I have had problems in the past with a few YA titles, due only to the fact that certain authors feel the need to tone or water down their writing, since they're not writing for adults. Ms. Derting doesn't do that - her story is scary, sexy, emotional, and downright riveting at all times; she never "writes down" to the teen or young adult who will pick up the book.

Pre-order THE BODY FINDER now, today, right this second. And please, Ms. Derting, pretty please, I'm begging you here, write another story featuring Violet and Jay.

posted by TeensReadToo on September 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Descriptive, at best

The Body Finder is about a girl, Vi, who senses the essences of corpses in an attempt to resolve whatever conflicts they left behind. And that's hardly what its about. Little tidbits here and there, but for the first 5 chapters or so, you get to read detail after detail...
The Body Finder is about a girl, Vi, who senses the essences of corpses in an attempt to resolve whatever conflicts they left behind. And that's hardly what its about. Little tidbits here and there, but for the first 5 chapters or so, you get to read detail after detail of her best friend and obvious love interest, Jay. Problem is, the author spends too much time listing off what Jay is and less time letting Jay have a voice, be a character, someone we can relate to. I was sorely disappointed with this book just on that alone. I couldn't even finish it. Paint the story for us, don't write a bunch of phrases together and give us all the answers. Even Violet was a very structured character I had figured out in all of 5 seconds. This had potential but it fell short. Luckily it was only $2. I would only recommend it if you've just had a rough few weeks at school and want an easy read to give your brain a break.

posted by DarkOnion on March 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    I really enjoyed this story. I've always been a fan of the mystery/thriller genre, and I think this falls into that category rather nicely. Since it's geared towards teens, a lot of the gruesome things that come with that genre in the adult books is way toned down. My mom would have given this two thumbs up when I was way beyond child books, but she was hesitate for me to read the likes of Stephen King, etc. And I would have devoured it then, just as I did now. There were even times this book sent tingles down my spine and I'm hard to scare. The romance element just makes the book feel extremely believable. It's just the right blend with the mystery. And, at no time does it feel over done. There's no love triangle, which is refreshing. It's the simpleness of a girl starting to like her best friend, which I'm sure many teens can identify with.
    Overall just a wonderful book. It was great chance of pace when you enjoy young adult, but occasionally get tired of the paranormal aspect or the never ending "can't live without you" love (lust) stories. I will be reading the next in this series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Awesome

    Great book. Loved the story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Good

    Quick, easy read. Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Great story!

    Over all, I thought it was great! Get ready for a surprise ending! My only complaint was all the teenage angst!! A little romantic subplot is okay, but it got to be too much at times. Other than that it was wonderful! I loved the change in perspective at certain times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!

    I thought The Body Finder was gripping and kept you guessing till the end. Normally I hate when you have multiple points of view because they seem to make me confused. But getting to see inside the mind of the serial killer preying on the girls in the community made me feel seriously creeped out.
    I love Violet so much!! She is confident and smart and I loved how she goes back and forth on her feelings for her best friend Jay.
    I cant wait to get the next in the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Amazing series!

    I absolutely loved this series!! I read all 3 books within a couple of weeks because I could not put them down, I love the main character Violet and her relationships with her friends and family, the plots great the way the stories are told is great, This is a great book beyond worth your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    Great series! :)

    I really liked this book :) its a really great murder mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Cmuller

    So captivating! I couldnt put it down-literally!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Not just a YA novel!!!

    This book was great. At first I was a little skeptical because it was a YA book and I was trying to get away from those, but then I read the first few pages and I was hooked. The writing is fantastic. I always base books off of their cover and their writing style. This book excelled in both. The characters were flushed out and you really cared about them. The mystery in the book was so good. You completely forgot that it was a YA book, the writing was so good. I don't want to give too much away because it will be pretty much ruined if I do. I would definitely recommend this if you like paranormal, mystery, and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First Love and echos of the dead, over all a fun book to read

    First Love and echos of the dead, over all a fun book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Great read

    Worth your time. Make sure you read the second book. Cant wait until the 3rd comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Finding love within the dead.

    As I read "The Body Finder" I had no clue or no thought to think this book could be so interesting. As a little girl, Violet could sense the death of animals. Growing up only, her bestfriend Jay knew and her family members. Violet never knew how to control her act of sensing the dead animals. Every time she had found a dead animal, her reaction never changed, she always felt sick to her stomach and didn’t feel good at all. Until one day she found a body instead of an animal, Violet's reaction changed a lot and she couldn’t sleep or eat. Violet, secretly has feelings for her best friend Jay, she thought to herself that things feelings are not normal and she should not have them. As many times as she told herself she was not into Jay like that, her heart told her different. Violet constantly tried to avoid the feelings she has for Jay, but she just couldn’t get Jay out of her head. Jay must have felt the same way as Violet because no matter what, he never left her side and was always there for her. Jay made sure she was safe, and in good hands. The type of relationship they had was unexplainable, they were best friends but they know they could be more, but just couldn’t. My point of view on this book was amazing. This book is something that I’m pretty sure best friends go through in reality. Were they having secrets no one else knows, and they have feelings for each other but they just don’t show. I thought that the fact it was a romantic, dramatic type of book, they knew each others secrets but always stayed to each other. I really liked the fact that, the relationship they had no one understood it more than them. Their best friend relationship stood strong and always was them against the world. To me, I feel as if Jay and Violet was meant to be, the way their relationship was, no one could come between them at all. They have always been there for each other and always will be, the love they had for each other was much more than "just friends”. I really did enjoy reading this book and I loved it so much, I related to this book in so many ways. So I say, if you have secrets that only you and your best friend know and you know that you have more than "friendly" feelings for this friend, this book is just for you. It can relate to so many situations as well as people. I hope you guys will enjoy this book because I sure did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Just don't rrad this before bed

    I loved this book a lot, even though I got it on the libraries website. There was nothing I hated. The only reason I gave it four stars is because you shouldn't read this before bed. It gives you nightmares.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good read!

    Okay, so this is the first book in the YA books I've read that gets 4 out of 5.
    I really liked it, I thought It had a very good storyline. I gave it 4 out of 5 mainly because several times I felt like the story was taking longer than it should have. Some passages were long and boring, I like when the story gets to the point. Also, I found several repeats! I hated those...
    Anyways, I do recommend to read it as it has a beautiful story :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    Ive+only+read+the+sample+but+it+made+me+want+more.+It+ends+so+quickly+thats+why+i+only+gave+it+4+stars.+Im+sure+when+i+get+the+book+it+will+deserve+5+stars%2C+the+sample+was+that+good%21

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 13, 2011

    The Body Finder

    This is a young adult novel that, in my opinion, doesn't translate as well for adults to enjoy, too. But it is a novel that young adults would enjoy, which is what it was written for!

    The storyline seems to be a roller coaster, moving faster, then slower, then faster again. Violet's "power" is unique and interesting and it's easy to be drawn in when she's using it. When the story moves to school, friends and who likes who, it tends to drag and just isn't as interesting.

    The two main characters, Violet and Jay are written very well, but the secondary characters seem two dimensional. The "bad" guy is glossed over very quickly, it would have been much more interesting to read more about him.

    I think young adults probably would enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fast-paced thrilling page turner

    It starts with a glimpse into Violet's childhood, showing that she's never been an ordinary girl. Through what she describes as echos, Violet can sense dead animals and even bodies. She can also differentiate between something that has died naturally or been killed. Luckily for Violet, she has only come across a body once... until now.

    I love this book and don't know why I didn't read it sooner. It has some of my favourite genres (YA, paranormal, mystery/thriller, romance) all in one great read. I love the friendship between Violent and Jay as much as I envy it and how it started when they were kids with the possibility now to develop into something more. Jay is such a great guy and very protective of Violet. He is the only one who knows and keeps her gift a secret besides her family. Violet is very sweet and it was easy to feel a connection to her from the beginning. I can't imagine how hard it must be for them to make the transition from best friends to a romantic relationship. Kimberly Derting had fun making me wonder if it would ever become more by teasing me with their hand holding and affection towards each other.

    I've been on a mystery/thriller kick lately, but always thought YA books in the same genre might have too many restriction and wouldn't be as thrilling because it's aimed at a younger market. Maybe I was wrong or (and I'm leaning this way) Kimberly Derting writes fantastic plots that anyone can enjoy.

    It's a fast-paced thrilling page turner that I can't wait to continue in Desires of the Dead, where I think things are only going to get more complicated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    I enjoyed it!

    I finished it in a day, couldn't seem to put it down. The suspense of who done it kept me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Never Would Have Guesed

    I love Kimberly Derting. She is a great writter, which I just found out. All through this book she made you think one thing and then near the end find out it was wrong. I love being surpised only b/c usually i can never be, I always know the end of something at the beginning. But w/ Kimberly Derting I didn't know the end, it was a surpise, and i love that she could do that. In this book she had you at the edge of your seat almost the whole time, evn though some parts of The Body Finder were slow, to the piont that you would almost stop reading, Derting would pull you right back in.
    Read this book. You just might be surpised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    a great alt to the vamp craze

    I really liked this book! I love paranormal books and I would highly recommend it. While I liked the romance piece I was getting a little tired of the helpless girl role she got trapped in. Despite that I loved the book and was eager to read Desires of the Dead. I look forward to more books in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6