BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Body Surfing: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable and easy read

Sydney is a kind, affectionate, beautiful, young lady whose first marriage ended in divorce and a seond marriage resulting in the untimely death of her husband. While trying to reestablish a new life, she starts by answering an ad from a wealthy family to become a tutor...
Sydney is a kind, affectionate, beautiful, young lady whose first marriage ended in divorce and a seond marriage resulting in the untimely death of her husband. While trying to reestablish a new life, she starts by answering an ad from a wealthy family to become a tutor for a mentally challenged teenage girl, Julie, who lives in a New Hampshire coastal home with her proud mother and gentle father. Two older brothers, Ben and Jeff, both with absolute different interests and careers, join their sister and parents for a weekend visit and meet Julie's tutor. Both brothers have an intense desire to develop a relationship with the live-in tutor but each for a different reason. Unexpected events, including Julie's sudden disappearance, exposes the tumultuous relationship between the two brothers and the previously undisclosed dislike they have for one another. This book is about love, competition, jealousy, insecurities, forgiveness and diversity. Other books I have enjoyed by this author include "The Weight of Water" and "Sea Glass".

posted by mj53 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have to say, I was a little disappointed with this book. After

I have to say, I was a little disappointed with this book. After reading Eden Close, I thought I would be in for another great read by Anita Shreve. The beginning was a little slow, but I kept reading to see if it would pick up and get more exciting. About halfway throu...
I have to say, I was a little disappointed with this book. After reading Eden Close, I thought I would be in for another great read by Anita Shreve. The beginning was a little slow, but I kept reading to see if it would pick up and get more exciting. About halfway through the book, there was a little more going on, and I started to really like it. But then it just went back to a slow story line. It just didn't keep me really entertained like I was hoping. However, on that note, I still really love Anita Shreve's writing style. She describes things so eloquently that I can picture everything. When I read her books, they almost have a calming feel to the writing and I really enjoy that aspect!

posted by PagesofComfort on March 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Not her best

    It was a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    It seems Anita Shreve cannot write a bad book At least that's m

    It seems Anita Shreve cannot write a bad book

    At least that's my take on her after reading so many of her novels, and Body Surfing is no exception. What I like best is that her characters are often flawed, always human. Hers are not action stories, but rather insightful journeys into the emotional wells of her protagonists. It was hard to put this book down. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Unexpectedly delightful

    Just when i thought i had this chicklit figured out.....something unexpected. I love the characters in this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Shreve never disappoints!

    I read this book in one day - just couldn't put it down. Anita Shreve never disappoints ... she writes in such a way that makes you feel like you are there, hovering above the scenes, watching them unfold. And just when you think things will coast along beautifully for a while, BAM!, she throws in a spin that you didn't see coming. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    Good read

    I really enjoyed reading this book and found I couldn't put it down because of the main character. It's a classic case of someone who can't catch a break. I liked the fact that the main character always chooses to leave her past behind her regardless of what has happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Can this girl catch a break?

    Losing three husbands just sounds careless, or is it a case of really bad luck? I always enjoy the subtlety of Anita Shreve's characters. I know them, I believe them and often I can feel myself in their shoes. Her plots are not full of fireworks or fantastic situations but rather intriguing dilemmas; sometimes heartwrenching but not beyond the realm of possibility. Our heroine has had extremely bad luck in her love life-can she ever find happiness, make the right choices? I was rooting for her, and yet glad that the answers were never superficial or obvious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Haw well a person can misread the other

    You got to read it to understand

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    good "read"

    I listened to this book on CD and really enjoyed it. Although I found it to be simplistic and perhaps sappy in some ways, I found myself emotionally involved in these characters, and was sad when it ended because I wanted to continue on their journey. I also read the Weight of Water, which I loved, and the Pilot's Wife, which was OK. This random selection from the library shelf was a pleasant surprise for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    Interesting...

    I just finished this book last night. I cried at the end. I related very much to the main character of the story and was very much astonished that devoted Anita Shreve fans found her character lacking and empty. I suppose if you can't relate to her the story will be quite boring. But if you can find a way to relate to Sydney, the main character in some way at all the story will be quite a pleasant read. It did seem to lack a certain something. There is a lot that is left to your imagination. Why certain characters do certain things and so on. But ultimately Anita Shreve is a magnificent and imaginative writer. I believe that if you are truly a fan of hers that you will NOT be disappointed. As I'm fairly new to Shreve's novels. I already know after reading about five that EVERY story she tells could have been written by someone else. I find that her novels are so fresh, her stories so alarmingly different from one another even though they are mostly about relationships, love, etc. that if you didn't know she was the author of each you would think you were reading a book by a completely different author each and every time. That to me is what makes her such a talented and intelligent writer. The one thing that is a 'tell' for me in her books is that she never 'dumbs' down her vocabulary no matter how simplistic the story. I always come away from her books feeling like I've learned something if not from the story itself, from the words she chose to use. She is the ONLY author I know that I can read several of her books back to back w/out becoming tired of her writing, her characters, or her stories. THAT is what makes this particular story so good TO ME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    My First Shreve

    For my first Shreve book I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    She's Back Her Finest!

    I just finished and felt that Ms. Shreve is back to her best work.I was disappointed in her previous two novels: ''Light On Snow' and 'A Wedding in December'' But 'Body Surfing' is up there with 'Eden Close', A Pilot's wife and 'Fortunes Rocks'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2007

    Nice, light summer read

    Not one of Shreve's best, but a nice beach read. I would highly recommend for a break from memoirs and suspense reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    a reviewer

    This was not Anita Shreve's best effort, but it was still good. She has a way of moving the reader as she writes. I would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2