BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Body Work (V. I. Warshawski Series #14)

Average Rating 3.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

fans of the long running series will conclude V.I. Warshawski (and Sara Paretsky) still has it

At Chicago's in Club Gouge, private investigator V.I. Warshawski is watching her troublesome younger cousin Petra. On stage, trendy performance artist Karen "The Body Artist" Buckley encourages her audience to join her in order to use her naked body as a canvas to pain...
At Chicago's in Club Gouge, private investigator V.I. Warshawski is watching her troublesome younger cousin Petra. On stage, trendy performance artist Karen "The Body Artist" Buckley encourages her audience to join her in order to use her naked body as a canvas to paint on. One participant draws an elaborate design on the back of Karen; however, Iraqi War veteran Chad Vishneski is outraged with the picture and lets everyone knows as he shouts profanities.

Two nights later, the "Body Artist" whose body painting caused the outburst is shot dead near Club Gouge. The police name Chad a person of interest. His concerned estranged parents hire Warshawski to prove their troubled son did not kill the woman. Her inquiry drifts back and forth between the Chicago war zone and the Middle East theaters of operation, but each step the detective takes seems filled with IEDs.

The latest Warshawski Hardball noir is a strong entry as the kick butt sleuth takes no prisoners while working the mean streets of Chicago's North Side. Action packed and tough on the case yet sensitive in her personal relationships, fans of the long running series will conclude V.I. Warshawski (and Sara Paretsky) still has it.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not For Me

I didn't care for the characters, the writing, or the plot of this novel. I understand that women may find it more appealing as it involves a woman detective and several women victimized, but even so, women are entitled to a good story too. The lesbian underculture invo...
I didn't care for the characters, the writing, or the plot of this novel. I understand that women may find it more appealing as it involves a woman detective and several women victimized, but even so, women are entitled to a good story too. The lesbian underculture involving a body artist who paints gruesome things to degrade her body is not going to be universally appealing. In short, nothing worked for me here, and I regretted getting the book.

posted by KenCady on October 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fans of the long running series will conclude V.I. Warshawski (and Sara Paretsky) still has it

    At Chicago's in Club Gouge, private investigator V.I. Warshawski is watching her troublesome younger cousin Petra. On stage, trendy performance artist Karen "The Body Artist" Buckley encourages her audience to join her in order to use her naked body as a canvas to paint on. One participant draws an elaborate design on the back of Karen; however, Iraqi War veteran Chad Vishneski is outraged with the picture and lets everyone knows as he shouts profanities.

    Two nights later, the "Body Artist" whose body painting caused the outburst is shot dead near Club Gouge. The police name Chad a person of interest. His concerned estranged parents hire Warshawski to prove their troubled son did not kill the woman. Her inquiry drifts back and forth between the Chicago war zone and the Middle East theaters of operation, but each step the detective takes seems filled with IEDs.

    The latest Warshawski Hardball noir is a strong entry as the kick butt sleuth takes no prisoners while working the mean streets of Chicago's North Side. Action packed and tough on the case yet sensitive in her personal relationships, fans of the long running series will conclude V.I. Warshawski (and Sara Paretsky) still has it.

    Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not For Me

    I didn't care for the characters, the writing, or the plot of this novel. I understand that women may find it more appealing as it involves a woman detective and several women victimized, but even so, women are entitled to a good story too. The lesbian underculture involving a body artist who paints gruesome things to degrade her body is not going to be universally appealing. In short, nothing worked for me here, and I regretted getting the book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Worst book shes ever written

    She could have left out at least 100 pages of this book. It was difficult to follow, the plot rambled and don't get me started about the ending. Her first books were excellent, the last 2 are not worth wasting your time on.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    very disappointing

    I'm sorry I just found nothing likeable about the characters in this story, this after reading 100 pages of a 300+ book. I liked Warshawski, just not the cast of this story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    all over the place

    Trying a bit too hard to be something different and unique but doesn't put any thought into realy getting there, a bit disappointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Body Work

    V.I. Warshawski with her niece Petra. Petra is working in a club that features an artist known as the "the Body Artist" where patrons painting what they want on her nude body. Warshawski is asked to check out the club by her niece who thinks some strange things are going on. Soon, she is trying to save a woman who was just stabbed and eventually is hired to protect the name of an American soldier accused of the crime. This story has Vic getting beat up, not getting enough sleep and getting into too much trouble. Let's see what she does in her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Good but not Great

    This one was pretty good mainly due to an unusual plot. I felt that the book was a bit too lengthy for the story. It would have read better with a faster pace and a hundred or so pages less. The author seems to think she has to do 400 pages per book when 250-300 is still a good length for a novel. Also, I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who can' t deal with how Paretsky perodically tries to push the liberal agenda onto the reader. Otherwise, it is a good read but not fantastic. Stephanie Clanahan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    280 pages with nothing happening

    This was the most boring, boring book, over 280 pages and Vic did not know anthing. Plus a paragraph that is an exact duplicate of one in another book, starring Vic. And the same story line about a cousin, young getting into trouble, losing job and going to wirk for Viv. The exact same story line. Who needs it. I do not, last book of this authors I sm going to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Recommended

    I stopped reading these books some years ago because they were too depressing and violent. This book was interesting, not overly violent, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Vic is ageing well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Not so good

    Was really disappointed in this one. Not as good as many of her others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good!

    I am a huge fan of this series. Very good book. I'm looking forward to the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6