Customer Reviews for

Body for Life Success Journal

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    You don't have to believe me but you should if you're struggling to get in shape!

    In 1999 I was barely squeezing into sizes 14/16. At the end of 2000 I was wearing a 6. It's 2008 and I wear a size 4. I did the Body for Life program and I don't have to diet today. I've taken the things I learned from Bill's book that as another reviewer said 'I should have known' but didn't and still apply it daily. No gimmicks, just old determination and the commitment to work hard. Thanks, Bill!!! It's worth your time and every penny you pay for the book if you've tried everything else because gimmicks don't work. This program does work but only if you work it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    Worth a look.

    I suspect this is a much needed companion for those who bought the first book. I have found writing things down and keeping track of progress really helps. Be sure to check out "The Multifidus Back Pain Solution" if you have back trouble. Trying to exercise when you're in pain is no fun and you can really help your backpain by doing one exercise three times a weeek to strengthen you multifidus muscle (which doesn't increase your exercsies by very much if you're on the body for life plan).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    This was the best investment that I've ever made...

    I purchased this journal about 2 years ago. I lost nearly 20 lbs. while using the journal. I have lost a total of 35 lbs. 'it took me about 6 months' and have kept it off ever since 'about a 1 1/2 years now'. I'm purchasing a book for both my mother and father to kick off their new year's resolutions. This book got me on track and kept me motivated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2005

    Debunks Some Fitness Books.

    This is a fantastic book. It debunks a lot of fitness myths and is an excellent read for encouraging people to change their lifestyles. It is not a quick fix solution, yet, it shows the reader that we are likely spending too much time trying to be fit. It doesn't have to be hours in the gym. After reading this my workouts became more effecient. Less time in the gym, better results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    Buy both this journal and the BFL book

    I'm a female currently in week 8 of the 3rd BFL challenge that I've started. My result in this challenge have been much better (down nearly 3 sizes and 5% bodyfat) than in the previous 2 - neither of which I did after week six. The difference this time is this journal. This success journal motivates with stories, activates with the planning, and eases me into 12-weeks, one meal and one workout at a time. Additional advice - comes at very timely spots in the 12 weeks. Also, if you're really going to follow the BFL plan completely, you have to write everything down anyway. Trust me, this is a lot easier than copying the charts 90 times and trying to keep track of where you are in the challenge on your own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2003

    It can and does work. The only variable is YOU

    I have to disagree with one of the reviewers on here who said that you can't get results typical of the pictures in this book in only 12 weeks. I am a personal testament to what the Body for Life program can help you to achieve. Personally I have dropped over 40lbs of fat in a 12 week time period, dropping my body fat from double to single digits. The hardest time is the first two weeks. After that you will begin to see major results to get that 'instant gratification' that many of us need for increased motivation. This is one of the few diet plans out there that don't require an eating regiment that is impossible to maintain for a lifetime. After 12 weeks you'll find yourself wanting to make this a lifestyle change after you realize the benefits. One piece of advice though... Give it 110% of your effort or don't do it. A so-so effort will only frustrate you because that's exactly what your results will end up being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2003

    Current Army--YES you CAN!

    For 12 years I had attained low physical fitness averages around 210-220. After being on the Body for Life program for 12 weeks (four of which I slacked off) I lost 6% bodyfat and 20 pounds. I totally transformed my look with flat abs, firm butt and thighs, bicep and tricep definition, AND scored 288 on my physical fitness test. AWESOME program--and YES, my transformation was like those in the pictures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2003

    MAKES IT HAPPEN

    I have been reading Body for Life for several months, and had gradually been applying some of its principles in a half-baked way to my workouts and to my diet. I am in good shape already and work out regularly, but at 43 years old wanted to reach higher and be the best that I could be, and see if I could touch the shape I was in when in my 20's. Now, it looks as though I can! Getting old and out of shape is NOT inevitable, you just have to work twice as hard at it when you're over 40! I bought the Success Journal to nail the program down, and could not be more pleased. I just completed two weeks of it, and unlike when I was NOT keeping written track of what I was doing, I am now accountable and see what I have actually done. Finally I am truly beginning to hit "high points" in cardio and weights..... Already I am beginning to lose those last stubborn few pounds, and am really beginning to understand the enormous commitment that the workout and diet program requires. For the whole first week, I groaned about completing the mindset exercises....setting FIVE daily goals!....but now, I look forward to contemplating how to do it. Best of all, I feel good eating and working out the way Bill Phillips' program recommends, and I know that it is a very healthy program. Without purchasing this journal, I believe I would have continued in a half baked way, and seen just half-baked results. And now, I am seeing a strong midsection and increasing muscle definition everywhere - no small thing for someone over 40! But I plan to continue until I'm 90! I also enjoyed Bill's daily words of encouragement, and also the daily pictures and words of encouragement of those who have completed the program. Believe me, there are times you will say that completing all the paperwork in the journal is overwhelming. But part of the point is to BREAK THROUGH feeling overwhelmed, and to do it! This level of focus and dedication is carrying over into other aspects of my life, seeing that I can play at a much higher level and succeed at a much higher level.....with discipline, focus and vision. If there is any downside to the journal, it is that it is not in a practical size to take to the gym. So I download the forms from Bodyforlife.com, bring the individual forms to the gym, and transfer the info into the book when I get home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    Very useful

    I have seen this book make a big difference for those who want a good workout program that works. It also gives a lot of good information on good eating habits that helps getting in shape and staying in shape easier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    Be Accountable and find your power

    I read and took the Body for Life Challenge 1 year ago and went from 30%+ body fat and went down to 19% in 12 weeks and am now at 14% and still dropping. The Body for Life Success Journal has got me back on track and is a must. Seeing your goals, success and achievements in writing helps so much. I recommend it to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1