Customer Reviews for

The Body of Christopher Creed

Average Rating 4.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    Everyone knows someone like Christopher Creed. He is, after all, the kid you love to hate. He'll treat you like his best friend, hanging onto your every word, following you everywhere you go, even as you tell him to go away. He'll get up, smiling, after you've punched him in the mouth after saying something totally inappropriate. He's the kid we see at every high school--the one with no friends, who thinks he knows everything, loathed by all and yet oblivious to our hatred. <BR/><BR/>Except Christopher Creed wasn't totally oblivious, as shown by the email he sends to the school principal the day he ends up missing. No one seems to be sure whether Creed was contemplating running away or comitting suicide--all they know is that he's gone, disappeared as if he'd never lived in the town of Steepleton at all. <BR/><BR/>For Victor "Torey" Adams, the day Chris Creed drops off the face of the Earth is a defining, and life-altering, day for him. Suddenly confused by the way he's treated Creed in the past, ashamed by the pure glee that his fellow students seem to get out of speculating what happened to the missing teen, Torey is disillusioned with his life--and so sets out to discover what truly happened to Christopher Creed the day he went missing. <BR/><BR/>Along with two unlikely allies, a once popular girl now considered to be a slut and a "boon" boy from the wrong side of the tracks, Torey has become obsessed with unearthing clues to Creed's mysterious disappearance. As he learns more about the strange happenings in the Creed home, as he becomes convinced that his mother is hiding something, as he wanders the woods looking for a body, Torey learns something about the way the world works--and it isn't pretty. <BR/><BR/>THE BODY OF CHRISTOPHER CREED is an engaging mystery, but it's also a look into the life and times of every high school in the world. The cliques, the drama, the need to belong. The bullying, the hatred, the intense pressure to fit in. Ms. Plum-Ucci has penned a book that goes straight to the heart of the matter--when things are unbearable in your life, when fiction is preferable to fact, how far are you willing to go to change your destiny? <BR/><BR/>A real winner, this is definitely a recommended read!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT Read!

    I highly suggest reading this book! It was such a good story that really kept you guessing and interested up until the end - which by the way, I didn't want it to end! The characters were interesting and well written. The story paints a clear picture of teen angst and the bitterness and spitefulness of a town. Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    Teen Favorite

    This book kept my 16 year old interested! That earns big points in my book! He couldn't put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    awesome

    omg the book is realy good.. were actaully reading this book in our english class, and im really enjoy it they should have a movie

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2002

    Every Teen Should Read This!

    This is book is incredible. It has issues that every teen deals with eventually, and it has so many interpretations. It's for people who are stereotyped, people who are teased, people who are disliked by the 'popular' kids, people who have crazy parents. It doesn't matter if you are plagued by these issues or not, reading this book will open up your eyes and make you understand those kids who don't get along with others well. And if you so happen to be a person who causes these issues, if you read this, I swear you will at least stop and think about how you treat others will effect them. It doesn't matter who you are or your place in high school's society...YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    One for All

    I have to to a book report, and I choose this to read. Of course I read the reviews first because I was a bit skeptical, but it turned out I enjoyed it.

    Caution>> If you're young and reading this, this book requires maturity from you. You have to have an open mind.

    I have searched up the lexile level and its L720 and reccommended for kids 14+. I can see why now.

    This book has issues that cover from the past and now, splattered with lessons you wouldn't want to forget. I think you will enjoy it, but what can I say, opinions vary.

    Chris Creed is surrounded by his own reality- heck, everyone is. Only a few see the truth. Chris Creed suddenly disappears without a trace and the town starts shoving fingers at others because no one wants to point it at themselves.

    The journey of Torey Adams and his quest to find the truth about Creed envelopes his other goals. Torey starts to realize that everyone is not perfect as they appear to be.

    Adams tries to find the body of Creed. It is up to the reader to decide whether Creed killed himself or ran away.

    ---+ I think there is another book after this...

    So reader, if you are deciding to buy and read this, it is in your hands.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    BEST BOOK EVER

    The Body Of Christopher Creed was the best book i have ever read. I really got into this book and it was very hard to put it down. It was very supenseful and a great ending that will shock you when you read it. This is why i give it 5 stars! 13 yr old in mi.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Hdhhf

    Hfjdkfjhjdhd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Best book ever

    I really liked this book but i was sort of disappointed at the end because i wanted torey to find creed. I believe creed is alive though. Is there a second book? If so i would like to know

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Good book

    The best book by far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    I gave this book 5 stars because this was a simply a great book!

    I gave this book 5 stars because this was a simply a great book! It had me wanting more nearly every second i had it in my hands, and you never knew what would come next. In this story, A bullied boy named Christopher Creed suddenly disappears, with no evidence of where he went, or how he left, except for one mysterious email sent out 24 hours before his disappearance. Chris's absence tweaks the interest of Torey Adams, one of Chris's 'bullies', and as the story progresses, Torey becomes curious of where Creed went. Torey finds the saying ''Curiosity killed the cat'' can be taken literally, as his curiosity for Creed's disappearance simply drags him forth into a painful and twisted series of events. Will Torey turn back, or will he overcome his fears and curiosity? Find out in THE BODY OF CHRISTOPHER CREED!

    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a decently-quick moving plot, the book went from mysterious to thrilling and action packed in just a few chapters (mostly towards the ending). I would also recommend this book someone who doesn't mind a few cuss words, i found a handful in only the first few chapters, which i will not clearly state. In all, i thought this was a wonderful book, and I'd read it again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    good.

    I loved this book! C:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    My favorite book in 9th grade!!

    This book is suspensful and full of mystery. This is something everyone will enjoy reading. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    This book.

    This book was a little iffy in the beginning but once Torey started hanging with Ali and Bo it got really interesting. Now I'm going to read all the other books the author wrote.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Just amazing.

    This book was just sensational. I stumbled upon it in my school library one day and I grabbed it simply because it sounded interesting. It was so much more. It was fast-paced,wel-written, and just grand. Buy this book. You will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    My fav in middle school!!!!

    I absolutely loved this book as a kid. Now at 20, Im gonna read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Awsome

    This book is awsome except for the first chapters after that it was really interesting.... i didnt want to put the book down!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    so great

    The Body of Christopher Creed is a very good read. It is about a boy named Torey who is from a small town where a boy had wrote a letter and ran away. The whole story is about him trying to find out what happened like if he killed himself, if someone else kidnapped him, or he just simply ran away. No one really knew him, personally, but everyone knew him. His disappearance almost tears the town apart, revealing secrets that should of never been told and lies kept under wraps.

    This book was excellent. Once I picked it up, I couldn't put it down. the plot line was so captivating and it just touched your heart to where you where like, "I have to keep reading this!!!" This story is so vivid it makes you feel like you are really in Torey's shoes. I would recommend this book to any young adult, friend, or adult who is still a kid at heart and loves mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    book review

    Christopher Creed was the weird kid in his school. Everybody played around with him and they didn't care if he got hurt. One day an e-mail was sent from Creed from the library of his school to Mr. Ames, the principal. In that note Creed said that he was having problems getting along with his classmates and that he had decided to make them happy by disappearing. Christopher Creed made that note seen like it was a runaway note but it also seemed to be a suicidal note. That same day Christopher Creed disappeared and was never seemed again. Nobody knows if Creed is dead or if he is alive, they never found the body that proved that Creed had committed suicide or was murdered. Tory Adams was one of the kids that had treated Creed like he was an object and had no feelings. Tory has been looking for Creed since the day he disappeared and has not found anything that will lead him to Christopher Creed. But there are some mysteries that are not meant to be solved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    The Mysterious

    The Body of Christopher Creed is a great book to read. I think that teens that are in high school would enjoy the book because it deals with a boy name Torey who is a high school senior who decides to finish his high school education at a boarding school, rather than his high school In Steepleton. Later on in the book Torey and his friends and classmates lives change when they find about a classmates, Christopher Creed disappearance. Chris was weird, unpopular and a boy who was bullied almost all of his life. His parents made announcements on Sunday at church to see if anybody had information on Chris. People don¿t know whether Chris is alive or dead. The things I liked most about the book was it kept you wondering what would happen next and the least I liked about the book was the author would stall the characters when the book started to get really interesting. I would rate this book a ten it was great!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4