BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Body of Evidence (Kay Scarpetta Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Scarpetta Series a real hit

I started in the middle of this series before e-books. Now starting from the beginning. Like all of her books it's hard to put down.

posted by 7014366 on September 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Description inaccurate

The book I purchases was listed as "Very Good" - Tight and clean - complete - what I received is more what I would consider fair with water damage on the cover and no dust jacket. I am very disappointed in this order. I did not rate this seller as a one star though, a...
The book I purchases was listed as "Very Good" - Tight and clean - complete - what I received is more what I would consider fair with water damage on the cover and no dust jacket. I am very disappointed in this order. I did not rate this seller as a one star though, as I have purchased other items with very good success. I am not sure what happened here - but I am not pleased with this purchase.

posted by AvidReader82397 on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Scarpetta Series a real hit

    I started in the middle of this series before e-books. Now starting from the beginning. Like all of her books it's hard to put down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Great reads

    A great book. I've read every Kay Scarpetta book since May of 2010. Once I start them can't put them down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Great read!!!!

    Its a great book. I couldnt put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    excellent early Scarpetta thriller

    In Richmond, Virginia, someone brutally slashes to death historical romance writer Beryl Madison in the woman¿s home. The crime scene evidence points towards the victim knowing her killer as no forced entry appears. In fact she seems to have let the culprit into her home though she feared an unknown assailant threatened to kill her, which is why she cut short her Key West trip. --- State medical examiner Dr. Kay Scarpetta also investigates other seemingly related deaths that of writer Cary Harper and the suicide of his sister. Meanwhile, the FBI is looking into the activities of Madison's lawyer though Scarpetta cannot see the link to her case though she believes there must be one. As she follows the forensic clues in Virginia and Florida, someone threatens to kill Scarpetta. However, the courageous M.E. refuses to back down from uncovering the truth behind the Madison murder and the related deaths of the Harper siblings. --- This early Scarpetta thriller is one of the best forensic tales written in the past decade or two, as the heroine works a difficult case with intelligence and aplomb while the readers obtain deep insight into the working of a medical examiner. The action-packed story line grips the audience from the moment the culprit slices and dices the writer and never slows down as Scarpetta and her team seeks clues to identify the killer. Patricia Cornwell, who has written a myriad of terrific thrillers, may have written her best with the powerful entertaining BODY OF EVIDENCE that holds up as a top gun in spite a rash of imitators on TV and literatures. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Mouse

    Mouse nods and quietly follows the tom back towards the camp. (Sorry I'm in the mddle of cooking!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Mouse

    "Are you sure?" She asks regretfully, not wanting to make him think she didn't like him. She looks at Blackclaw with a careful gaze that was still slightly gaurded

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Blackclaw

    (Forgot about that..) Heads back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Rabbitwhisker

    She ran down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Lilywolf

    The light gray tabby shecat comes trotting in, worry for her sister spiking her pelt. "Oh Starclan let Rosie be alright!" Lilywolf is soon soaked by the storm that has now turned to a freezing sleet. But eventually she spots the badger den ahead and, claws unsheathed, she pokes her head inside. The shecat realizes with a jolt that Tunneldigger is there as well as several other cubs. His mother was nowhere to be seen but some blood can be seen that definately smells like Rosepetal. Growling, she follows it and finds the skid marks from her sister's flight down the hill. And another scent soon sends her charging down the hill. "Sky!" She snarls, dashing after the scents. "If she lays a paw on Rosepetal I'll kill her! I'll shred her spirit until there's nothing left and she disappears!" Soon Lilywolf has disappeared acroas the prairie, a thin streak of tabby sprinting desperately to find her sister. ~ Lilywolf &hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Mistpaw

    Runs into the night, almost slipping down the same hill as Rose. She sees the pool of blood and grins, then begins following the trail into the night. (So... is there like a spesific res you're at, cause Sky/Mistpaw's main goal is to make Lilywolf mad. Harming Rosie is a one-way ticket.) ((Sorry, you know I love you.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Deercloud

    She sees the skidmarks that Rosepetal made. She scampers down the hill and slides to a stop at the entrance of the badger den. She accidentally steps in the pool of blood, making a trail of bloody footprints. She sniffs along Mistpaw's scent train hurrily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Excellent book of crime and suspense

    I couldn't put this book down, as I was lead through the story of the death of Beryl Madison. I started in the middle of this series and went back to the beginning books to get the back story of the characters. Readers are given information to contemplate with Scarpetta's investigation. Really fascinating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Exceptional Story

    This was a very well written book. It was thrilling and very hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling!

    Poor ole Beryl Madison, she never knew what was coming. This was a very difficult case for Kay Scarpetta, but then none of them are easy I'm sure. Scarpetta is even threatened, but thank goodness everything comes together at the end. This is a mystery and you will enjoy trying to figure it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    If you like the series Bones...Try This!

    After I read the first in PC's series, I had to try the 2nd. I am soooo glad I did. Scarpetta's character was really well developed and expanded in this book. The author's descriptions of FL were really accurate as well. I am going to read all of the series as soon as I can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Excellent book... as they all are

    BODY OF EVIDENCE was the first PC novel I'd ever read, and I was hooked on the Scarpetta series from then on. I was disappointed that the character of Mark James, her college lover, could not be more fully explored, but the fact that he was a lawyer turned FBI agent who was killed in London explains his disappearance from the storyline. BODY OF EVIDENCE remains my favorite Scarpetta novel, and I have them all now, except her latest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    Classic Cornwell

    This is my favorite book by PC. All the loose ends are tied together at the end. This is the 2nd installment in the series. Don' miss this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    Stunning; one of the best books ever written

    Kay Scarpetta's debut novel 'Postmortem' was a stunning accomplishment from Patricia Cornwell, but the queen of crime fiction does it again with a novel that blows its predecessor out of the water. A murdered author, a missing manuscript, a trail of deceit that leads Kay Scarpetta to Key West in search of clues all come together in a tapestry to form a powerful and shocking second novel. Read this if you dare, but make sure to lock your doors first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    Fascinating...Couldn't put it down.

    I love psychology and studies into the violently fragmented psyches of criminals, so if you're anything like me, you'll find this book jolting. Kay Scarpetta is back in fine form, tackling any obstacle placed in her path. She is truly modern fiction's best heroine. Buy this amazing novel. It will creep you out and the best part is, you won't mind! You'll have a blast trying to figure out the mystery as you watch it unravel like a quilt around you. Impossible to put down! Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    LOVED This

    I read this book on the entire 13 hour flight to Japan. I am hooked on her series now. I have to buy all of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5