Customer Reviews for

Bogus to Bubbly: An Insider's Guide to the World of Uglies

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bogus to Bublly is pretty-making!

This was an awsome book! I enjoyed reading it and it has a lot of fun info from Uglies!

posted by JessicaDay on October 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

from missprint.wordpress.com

Sometimes, when a book series gets really popular, writers will try to cash in by writing unauthorized guides to the story or books about the "science" behind popular fantasy titles. Then, rarely, you get a book like Bogus to Bubbly: An Insider's Guide to the World of U...
Sometimes, when a book series gets really popular, writers will try to cash in by writing unauthorized guides to the story or books about the "science" behind popular fantasy titles. Then, rarely, you get a book like Bogus to Bubbly: An Insider's Guide to the World of Uglies (2008) that was actually written by the ultimate insider: Scott Westerfeld.

Uglies is a series of books (one trilogy and a companion book) about a world in the future where in order to prevent war and strife everyone gets plastic surgery to be beautiful and live long. Everyone else, by contrast, is ugly. That is the super, super short explanation of the series which is more complex. I don't recommending reading this guide before the series because it contains spoilers and, truth be told, unless you know you like the books this guide will not be that interesting.

Westerfeld explains a lot of things in this book. He discusses where the idea for the story came from, as well as how he thought of skintennas and the Rusties. Parts of the book also explain technology, history, and culture surrounding the worlds created in the Uglies series.

What I liked about the book was that it mentioned a lot about the writing process. While Westerfeld himself notes that it's hard to trace the origin of ideas, this book does try. It's interesting to read how a dentist visit inspired several aspects of the book while, thankfully, we are not the entire inspiration behind the Rusties. Explanations of names and slanguage were also very informative and interesting.

I was less enthralled by the technology information. It was fun to hear about the science of beauty, but the information about magnetic levitation, hoverboards and inventions got a bit, well, technical. Although I fully admit that could be me since Uglies is one of the few straight sci-fi series I read (I usually go in for fantasy which, having dragons and what not, is guaranteed to be less technical). There is also a bit of repetition with the books revealing much of what Westerfeld puts together in Bogus to Bubbly but that is probably inevitable with an insider's guide like this.

Aside from content, I liked the book's organization. It's written like a real guide with cross-referencing between sections and an index. The book also includes illustrations and maps which helped a lot to visualize the city as it was meant to be seen.

While the entire book might not be read-worthy for every fan, it's very likely at least one nagging question about the series will be answered in this book. Mine, for instance, being whether belly sensors were indeed belly button rings or not. Readers will also leave the guide with a new insight into how the writing process might work. On top of that, Bogus to Bubbly also includes a preview of Westerfeld's new series Leviathan.

My only serious regret is that the Awesome Librarian Clique only warranted passing mention (though since they didn't factor in the books at all, perhaps that is to be expected).

posted by MissPrint on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Bogus to Bublly is pretty-making!

    This was an awsome book! I enjoyed reading it and it has a lot of fun info from Uglies!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    A Must-Have!

    I can't wait to get my hands on this one! Scott Westerfeld is an amazing writer, and I totally recommend all of his titles! I have no idea how I'm gonna wait for October!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great way to end the series!

    I think that by making a guide, that is deffinitely a great way to end the series. This book shows you secrets from Tally's city to Japan in Aya's city. It has all the secrets of science and beauty and magnetism. It has all the cliques and a little surprise. (The first draft of Extras. INCLUDING HIRO NOT AYA!!) Read this book it you want more from Uglies and if you have ALOT of questions! They all get answered right in this 213 page Uglies guide.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    WOW

    I can't wait to get this book, Bogis to Bubbly. It's is a guide to the uglies world with drawings of the gadets and charaters! And all the information that you need. This is a book that i think everyone that is a fan to the uglies series should have!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Interesting

    This was interesting to read. It was nice to dive deeper into the world of pretties, uglies, and extras. What I found most interesting was the science behind being "pretty". You should definately check this out if you loved the Uglies series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Information on Uglies Series

    Everyone whoever read a good book always wannts more like it and this series was so great anyone who read it would be constantly trying to find a book half as good as the series. But Scott Westerfeld had to make it even more impossible to find a book even an eighth as good when adding Bugus to Bubbly to end the most fantastic series. This book was full of all the right information, just great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    We best watch ourselves

    In this guide by Scott Westerfeld, it explains how the Uglies world came to be and it made sense because if you think about it, it is where we are headed right now. But putting the depressing end of the world aside this small guide taught us a lot about the world in 300 years. It gave a short summary of what happened in the novels to refresh our memories along with some interesting facts that were not in the novels. It came with some extra stuff like Extras but from Hiro's point of view and how a hoverboard works and how some of their inventions are beginning to come to life in our actual time. It is a great read for the day when you want to snuggle up, having read the series before of course, and learn some interesting new things. The way he wrote was very witty and made engeneering and science sound exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Lolz

    Yeah and for the People who like Zane click yes. For thoughs who like David click No. ( I personally thing Zane's the cute one)



    ~Lil Mermaid~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Destinepotts@yahoo.com

    There cloud

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Zane or David?

    Sorry about my typo below. I keep thinking of Peeta in the Hunger Games.
    (I am on team Zane.)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Amazing

    This book helps you to answer your questions about the Uglies book. Scott is an awesome writer. I hope people get to read his amazing Uglies series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Recomended

    This book explains, reveals and answers many questions that any reader might have on the Uglies Trilogy. I highly recomend it to any reader of the Uglies Trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    wwoonndddeerrfulll

    i loved all the books, and this just really brought the series home for me. it was a nice rap up that really introduced you to the nitty grity details about tallys world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    perfect description

    this book made the uglies series come together. very interesting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thia is a great book!

    This book was amazing, it is full of things anyone who has read the Uglies books might want to know. I enjoyed every chapter, and am very glad I got it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! These books are amazing. I am totally hooked.

    I have read every book and I love the Uglies series. It's very intense and hard to put the book down. After I read Extras I was sad that the series was over. Almost every teen i know has read these books so far. I can't wait to look inside the book Bogus to Bubbly. This is definitely a series worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3