Customer Reviews for

Boingo Wi-Finder

Average Rating 2.5
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(70)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

106 out of 134 people found this review helpful.

Great app

This app is great! There is no deception, it states clearly in the description that you will pay a monthly fee for service and to be honest, this is a fantastic way to get wifi. There are free wifi hotspots but many airports and the like charge by the hour for wifi o...
This app is great! There is no deception, it states clearly in the description that you will pay a monthly fee for service and to be honest, this is a fantastic way to get wifi. There are free wifi hotspots but many airports and the like charge by the hour for wifi or 7-8 bucks a day. This is only 8 bucks a month.

posted by Gwyndyr on April 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

109 out of 125 people found this review helpful.

Really?

I really wish people would read the description of apps before they install apps. If you read the description as well as these comments, you wouldn't have negative things to post as well as repeating comments. I'd recommend this as long as you'd be willing to pay the fe...
I really wish people would read the description of apps before they install apps. If you read the description as well as these comments, you wouldn't have negative things to post as well as repeating comments. I'd recommend this as long as you'd be willing to pay the fee. As many other people have said, the download is free. After that, pull out the cash.

posted by 9940888 on May 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Epic fail

    This app is one if the hundreds of apps on the nook that just waste your time. Seriously, just goto settings-> wifi-> connect to network-> Boingo hotspot.

    80 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Come on

    THE APP FREE I DONT HAVE IT BUT MY NOOK COLOR ALREADY HAS A WIFI FINDER AND SO DOES EVERY NOOK JUST A WASTE OF TIME AND SPACE

    35 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Nooooooooooool

    You have to pay monthly

    24 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    DON'T get it

    The nook already has this tech built into it. Plus, it makes annoying noises when it finds a wifi cinnection.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Not that useful

    I think I signed up for a pay as you go version. At least they didn't ask for a credit card number. Unless they are billing thru bn. All it does is tell me I am either already connected or nothing is available. The one time it found a free connection, it asked me to accept all boingo terms without a link to review them. Doesn't do anything you can't do with the built in settings. If i were
    constantly traveling with a pressing need for wireless access their pay version might make sense, but that is not my situation, so I will just uninstall.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Not good

    Says free but u still have to pay! upsetting. Wish it really worked. Ripp off only gave it a star because you have to to post

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    It free but terms say payment

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    wont even open

    I cant tell you if its cool or not. This ap times out after I tap "get started"

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    It sucks

    I have used the app for about 2 weeks and all it does is nothing. It doesn't do didily swat it claims it can do .

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    RIPOFF!!!!!!!

    Ok this thing clearly says free wifi hotspots it does not mention a thing about cost monthly!!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Forget about it. It's useless.

    It keeps nocking me off a great connection and putting me on a very POOR connection.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Suxxxxxxxxx

    Does nothing you cant already do i youre settings. Dont waste your time!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    TERRIBLE!!!!!!

    I hate this app! All it does is "find" you networks when your already conected! Its pathetic! DONT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Theres no point.

    If the nook funds wifi for you, why would you need an app for it? Its stupid. I dont have ut, but it seems like a total waste of space.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    I hear it sucks

    IT SUCKS

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Gee wiz

    Wow i cat believe they dont say you have to pay for it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Cheyenne

    Thisbstupid ol thang says its free they want u to buy it for wifi well guess wat on ,y nook i already have free wifi so why would i pay for wofo that costs money

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Have never used it

    Not sure if I am keeping this app thus far I have not used it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    THIS ONLY FINDS HOT SPOTS FOR A FEW WEEKS THEN DIES

    No so much...

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Very disappointing

    After trying it for one month I was extremly disappointed. Not one time did it find a wifi connection for me, even when I was in a free wifi area. I would have been happy to pay the monthly fee had it actually worked. I gave it one star for the concept and nothing else.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4